We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It gets an extra star for the décor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana 50's Diner

Americana 50's Diner
Ranked #23 of 37 Restaurants in Holiday
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: phone: 727-9427880
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“It gets an extra star for the décor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Looks like an old-fashioned diner, inside and out. Aluminum exterior, checkered white and red floor tiles, red formica tables and red and white booths make this place iconic. And don't forget the statue of Elvis that says, "Thank you very much" in his memorable voice.

We were greeted by a very pleasant and capable waitress, who seated us and also served our meals. Food was served quickly, but not rushed. My partner and I both started with avgolemano soup, which was thick, creamy and lemony, and then moved on to the salad bar. I would have preferred a choice other than iceberg lettuce, but the tomatoes and other vegetables were all fresh and cold. The bar also offerred potato and pasta salads and cottage cheese. The pot roast chef's special was delicious, although it was advertised with potato pancakes, but served with mashed potatoes and gravy. They were out of stuffed peppers, so I ordered stuffed cabbage. It was more rice than meat, and somewhat dry. It could have used more than the dollop of tomato sauce that was spooned over the top. The mashed potatoes, however, were freshly made and quite good. Butterscotch pudding finished our meal.

While not exceptional, the food was certainly good and filling. And, considering the prices, quite a bargain.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    10
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, FL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nostalgic 50's decor, oldies music, good food, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you are a fan of the 50's and 60's you will enjoy visiting this place. Elvis talks to you in the vestible, the Blues Brothers greet you and the oldies are playing in a comfortable volume level. The service is good, food quality is good, prices are below average for this area, and breakfast is especially tasty and there is plenty on the plate. Other than that, it is a typical New Jersey/Greek owned diner, so if you are from that area of the country it will remind you of home. Cleanliness is only fair in my experience here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 0906ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Offers fast, delicious, and reasonably priced food. We eat here often and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Olden time food, prices and hospitality!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This diner has the jukebox, the ambiance and the prices of another era...... and huge portions. I feel like I'm home when I come here. Great (HUGE!!) sandwiches, soups, omelettes, desserts..... I esp. love their Manhattan Clam chowder. Down home friendly service and I always leave feeling like I get a great deal!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Msdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Your basic diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We instantly presumed this is a family-run place because the host who greeted and seated us was about nine years old. This is your basic diner, a bit on the shabby side with many booths in need of repair and what you might call an eclectic decor. Our server was friendly, service was quick, and breakfast was decent. We probably wouldn't go there for diner but as a breakfast spot it was adequate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americana 50's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing