We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Experience”

Great Outdoors Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in High Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to the award winning Great Outdoors Restaurant! We hope you enjoy your dining experience here. Our menu is carefully planned and lovingly prepared. Our Executive Chef is on the premises at all times carefully overseeing every detail of food preparation to personally ensure that everything is prepared fresh in the kitchen. Our steaks are hand cut and our sauces and desserts are homemade. Enjoy our fresh entree salads, homemade soups and a variety of delicious appetizers. We want you to have the perfect guest experience! Our services staff are professionally trained to ensure that every guest has the best dining experience possible.
Perry, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect Experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great food, wonderful service, friendly staff. Best beer on draft! Patio is perfection. We love to visit every time we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    162
    56
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful landmark in High Springs and the food is excellent”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The restored brick-walled dining room is decorated with photographs of the springs and rivers of the area, and there are beautiful wooden kayaks and paddles hanging about

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank landlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place has nice patio and great food.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love going here for happy hour specials and the patio is wonderful! The food is great and the live music is fun on the weekends.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hitchsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, Public Relations Manager at Great Outdoors Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive review of the Great Outdoors. We work hard to make our guests dining experience delicious and fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort White, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and exceptional service”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 21st year since our "I do's" last night at the Great Outdoors Restaurant. They had half-priced burgers last night which certainly drew a crowd! I ordered the asparagus chicken dish which was cooked perfectly. The penne pasta was not over cooked, and the asparagus was cooked without losing the texture. The sauce was light and the ingredients were fresh. My husband ordered the Captain's Platter which was equally perfectly done. Scallops are easily mishandled, but these were tender without being overcooked. The wait staff were friendly and although the dining room was very crowded, I did not feel at all neglected by our server. The only drawback may have been the crowd noise from the adjoining tavern, but it was certainly not enough to disrupt a lovely dinner. This was my first trip to this restaurant, but it will not be my last! I can see why they earned their Golden Spoon Award.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, Public Relations Manager at Great Outdoors Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Congratulations Barbara on 21 years of marriage with your husband! We are honored that you chose the Great Outdoors as your special place to celebrate! Here's to your next 21 years together!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Great Outdoors”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have been tothe Great Outdoors restaurant a few times and some of their dishes are to die for. They also have music if you want to sit outside.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Outdoors Restaurant also viewed

High Springs, FL
High Springs, FL
 

Been to Great Outdoors Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing