We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ginnie Springs is Wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginnie Springs

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in High Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ginnie Springs
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in High Springs
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ginnie Springs is Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

I can understand why some people have given this place a bad review. Ginnie Springs is not for the people who are used to a quite campsite in a state park. There is drinking and there is partying. From my experience though the best way to avoid this is to reserve one of the electric sites, even if your just camping. This area mainly has RV's and Travel Campers. It might be more expensive but it also seems to be a lot quieter and you get a larger site that you can hook up a fan or your radio to the electricity hookup. The campground though is wonderful, the people that work there are kind and knowledgable, and the facilities are well maintained. The spring and river are beautiful but very busy during the weekend and remember to bring your snorkeling gear and tube. For those that haven't gone before, beware, this place is huge! There are tons of wilderness campsites and it's a hike to get from one end to the other.

  • Liked — The Springs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UWFGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    15
    19
    29
See reviews for
47
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

The place has nice water and scenery but the people in it make it very bad. Mostly young 20's or less drinking away from early day to the next morning. A lot of yelling on the water and off the water. A big fight broke out in front of us with one guys nose getting broken. The very young adults ride on the back of pickup trucks standing up screaming as they go through the campsites from 8pm-2am looking for partiers which of course you hear sreams back from the campsites that are drinking away. You will not get sleep if you camp here. The morning was disgusting with the aftermath shown at each campsite with people passed out everywhere and anywhere with bottles and junk littered all over. If you want to get plastered and party away this is your place. If you want a nice quiet get away stay far far away.

  • Liked — nice water
  • Disliked — drunk, dirty, loud
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank adopt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

A lot of people will have a problem with Ginnie Springs because it's a destination for college-aged people looking to party. This is no lie. However, most of the issues with the park stem from all age groups. The camp next to me had some very rowdy middle-aged people who really liked loud seventies music and screaming "BOAT DOCK!" at 2am. I disgress, I just wanted to say that the problem isn't always the younger campers.
I love Ginnie Springs. Some of the best campsites are right on the gorgeous Santa Fe river or on one of seven springs. There's usually already a fire pit at the site and there are several bathrooms with showers around the site. There are also several Porta-Potties, which tend to be a mixed bag.
If you tend to be low-maintenance, and probably without younger children, I recommend it to you. I get together with a bunch of my old high school friends to spend a few nights around the campfire making smores and floating down the Santa Fe, and checking out the springs with my googles. Sweet! If you're looking for a good time, round up a bunch of your friends, pack a few coolers, and a couple of pairs of ear plugs, and set out to Ginnie Springs! It's true, on the weekend there's screaming, drunkeness and profanity. And Beer Pong challenges, turns out...If you're young and not easily bothered, it's a fun time!

  • Liked — Amazing Scenery
  • Disliked — Drunks!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarisTampa_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

Ginnie Springs is very pretty. Truly a Florida treasure. If you're a scuba diver, this place certainly needs to be visited at least once in your diving adventures.

Spending the night, however, is a different story. Like the previous poster's account immediately below, we too were kept up half the night from a campsite that had 12 tents and probably 2 dozen rowdy college age partiers. The resort claims to have zero tolerance for noise past midnight, profanity and loud music, but my experience reveals otherwise.

At first, we didn't mind the loud talking and loud music. We not at all prudes. But at 1:30 in the morning we had had enough! We had gone for a walk to the front of the park to check out the stars (very little light pollution and an excellent view of the Milky Way -- at least by Florida standards) and came back about 1:00 am to find a guy hiding underneath a picnic table in the unoccupied campsite behind us. When he realized that we were observing him, he yelled "Whatcha be lookin' at" and took off. Moments later, a fist fght broke out behind our campsite and one of the drunks yelled that he was going to shoot the other with his gun!

Thankfully, some of the other less drunk revelers pulled the two apart and broke up the fight. The rest of the night, we heard people in the bushes all around us puking! The FHP does patrol the park on the weekend. For whatever reason, he must have been on the other side of the park most of the night, and rarely came over.

My wife was obviously upset about all of this rubish. We complained to the front desk the next day. To their credit, they did refund us our nights stay. They promised that this would not happen again. I don't know what the resort said to the party group, but the next night they were angels. Oh, probably the fact that TWO FHP troopers came by every half hour probably helped a lot too.

We were in the back, campsite #87 (in the electrical and water hookup section) near the bath house. I suspect Ginnie Springs stuck the large group way back there away from most of the other folks. Maybe the college kids picked it themselves. I would suggest to others consideirng this resort to inquire at the front desk about any large groups of young people that may be nearby when selecting a campsite.

I should also mention that the folks in the primitive camping area were much quieter and well behaved -- in spite of the fact that it was more densely packed. Basically 30 and 40 something in primitive area, and punks and partiers in the back and by the Ginnie Springs swimming area.

Would I go back? Yes, but not on the weekend! Big, big difference between weekday and weekend.

  • Liked — Great location of the Santa Fe river. Seven cool springs to explore. If you want to see Florida similar to the way it was, this is a must visit.
  • Disliked — Rowdiness and drunkeness on the weekends.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go Sunday through Thursday night. Friday night seems to be the worst. I can only imagine that Spring Break must be hell here. If you're a diver, this is a must visit -- at least for a day trip. If it's just you and your dive buddy, bring ear plugs and you'll probably be alright.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jreuscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

My husband, 12 year old son, myself, and a friend camped at Ginnie based on their internet information including the rules & regulations (No foul or abusive language, No excessive alcohol use, No excessive noise at any time, Observe quiet hours from Midnight -8AM ). We wanted a peaceful camping trip in a nice setting, and this looked like the place. Not so!! We paid $16.00 each for adults and $6.00 for our son, per night. Friday night a large group of intoxicated young people screamed, yelled, and walked around the camp area, effectively preventing any form of sleep. At 4:30 am the hired security stopped the party, but only after we finally called the Sheriff's Office. Saturday we did some diving and snorkeling. Beer cans were all over the river bottom, young people were tubing by and passing 1/2 gallon liquor bottles around, and there was a lot of yelling and general drunkeness. All day we observed things like young people throwing up at the roadside, yelling, walking around with beer cans, drink cups, and liquor bottles. They left around items used during sexual play (yes, right on the rocks at the main spring), and even two young women engaged in sexual play much more than just kissing - right in the main building at the check in counter!!! And no one escorted them out. In fact, the persons behind the counter basically shrugged their shoulders and acted as if it were no big deal. We were shocked, and this was right in front of our son as well as other families shopping in the store. Saturday night the partying was worse. It went on all night, and there were several groups spread around the campground. (We were near the tube entrance.) Even after driving to the guard gate to complain, it went on. We were told on Sunday that the security (local state highway troopers) could not keep it stopped because there were too many of them. We were also told this was typical on weekends, and that it was quieter on the weekdays. Personally, we would not take the chance, EVER. What a shame as it is otherwise a pretty setting and the campsites are nice. We will never go back to Ginnie Springs.

  • Liked — Campsites and scenery were pretty
  • Disliked — Lack of enforcement of rules and regualtions; sleepless nights due to noise
  • Tips/Secrets — If you must go, call first and make sure there are no college students headed for Ginnie on your visit dates.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2006

Just returned from a week camping trip; 2 of the nights were spent at Ginnie Springs.
The Springs were nice of course, but we found the park to be rather rowdy. Lots of loud music played by other campers, which is very inconsiderate to neighbors.

A lot of drinking going on. Many of the tubers were drinking while they were tubing, and marijuana was used by the campers next to us, a group tubing down the spring, and I overheard an employee on her walkie talkie communicating to another employee about complaints from campers of others smoking marijuana. We would usually overlook this, but we had our 5 & 7 year old with us & don't care for this atmosphere. Firewood was $6 a bunch as opposed to a few dollars down the road. The total for our family was about $42 a night to camp, and that included a 10 percent discount.

After leaving this campground, we checked out the nearby O'Leno State Park. Much more serene & camping is $15 a night, with canoe rentals less than $5 an hour. Next time we will stay here & visit Poe Springs & Blue Springs instead. If you do go to Ginnie Springs, I advise not to go on a weekend or Spring Break.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kareny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2004

We went in 2003. We camped out and the prices are very reasonable. Its a great family vacation if you are tight on money or even if you are not. They have several beautiful springs. My son at the time hated the water, but we still had fun. they had a playground and then of course all the fun of camping. My sister and other friends had their daughters with them and they loved the water. It was beautiful and they were able to see different fish. Make sure you bring your goggles and snorkels. We are planning another trip there this year. One piece of advice, bring firewood. We relied on getting it from the woods, but it had rained the day before so it was all wet but we got lucky b/c some other campers gave us a lot of firewood. If you are not into cooking your food over an open fire, don't worry they have BBQ pits and running water. They also have bathrooms with showers (no need to totally rought it). Ginnie Springs also has a store at the campground that carries everything, so if you forget something don't worry, they will probably have it and at a decent price! My son is looking forward to going and this year my daughter will be old enough (1 1/2 years old) to go with us. We are all looking forward to a family vacation that won't break the bank and is fun! Just think out there in the woods together, you are sure to have lots of time to bond!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Springs
11.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Alachua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
18.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
BEST WESTERN Gateway Grand
#4 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
24.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Super 8 Lake City
Super 8 Lake City
#9 of 24 in Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
6.2 mi away
High Springs Country Inn
High Springs Country Inn
#2 of 3 in High Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginnie Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnie Springs

Property: Ginnie Springs
Address: 7300 NE Ginnie Springs Rd, High Springs, FL 32643-9102
Location: United States > Florida > High Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in High Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our seven crystal-clear, freshwater springs nestled in over 200 wooded acres along the banks of the Santa Fe River in Florida. In business since 1976, Ginnie Springs Outdoors is a world-renowned dive destination and campground located just outside of High Springs, FL. We are a PADI 5-Star facility, and offer PADI certification at all levels for scuba diving enthusiasts. Ginnie Springs Outdoors offers tent and RV camping, as well as an overnight cottage available for rent which includes all the comforts of home.Come and enjoy kayaking, diving, swimming, beach volleyball, river tubing, canoeing, and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ginnie Springs Hotel High Springs
Ginnie Springs High

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing