We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So exciting to see the manatees” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Springs Park

Blue Springs Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore 250 acres of the "Real Florida" and stroll along our 1/4 mile boardwalk as it follows the springs run to the Santa Fe River. Gaze into the crystal blue depths from the dock overlooking the spring's boil. Whether it's swimming, picnicking, tubing, canoeing, camping, hiking or just plain relaxing...make Blue Springs your adventure destination!
Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“So exciting to see the manatees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I have always wanted to see the manatees and have lived in Florida but had never been to see them. We crossed our fingers hoping there would be at least one visible when we went to Blue Springs Park. Little did we know that the springs area is very short and there were over 60 manatees there on the day we we there. They are such wonderful gentle giants. A few were
Frolicking doing rolls in the water. There is a gift shop and snack area in the park also in case the kids want a stuffed manatee. Prices seemed pretty reasonable. The same shop has snacks available and bathrooms. So glad we
went.

Helpful?
Thank sheriLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    43
    13
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for kayaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We're just back from a lovely morning spent in Blue Springs Park. We went to the Patio Grill for some coffee and Jimmy's BLT, it was so good that we got Jimmy to make us another to bring along in the kayak.
We spent two and a half hours paddling up and back down the river. We saw, manatees, turtles, gators and turkeys, not to mention the numerous birds, woodpeckers, ibis, hawks, kingfisher etc.
A lovely day out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SueSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. White
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice family park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Blue springs is a nice family park. A place to get away from the fast pace of the city. It is well maintained and the staff was very helpful. My grand children enjoyed jumping off the dock and swimming in the crystal clear water. The bathrooms were the cleanest public facilities I've ever seen! I'm looking forward to our next visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Recommended....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The staff is the only reason not to go to what could be a great place to spend time. The prices for what is offered are way out of reach. We wanted to rent a canoe for the standard 2 hour rate. It was 2PM and we were told we could not rent the canoe becuase there wasn't enough time left before they closed for the day? Ok thank you for turning away business. I will be happy to take my group of friends and family and go to Ginnie Springs down the street where they welcome our business and appreciate it. The lady that runs the place like a military camp started out with our whole group on the wrong foot when we arrived Friday morning. It only went on and got worse as we go to Sunday. The lady that runs the place is very rude and not a pleasant person to put it nicely. I will never give a dime to this family of weirdos that run this place. We thought we would try something new and go here instead of our stand by Ginnie Springs. Can't wait to see Ginnie in the spring :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We went there on Sunday September 7 around 4pm. There was a little rain right before so visitors were having a picnics in a pavilion. Park looks like any other in Florida. 6$ for a car, tables, amenities, wooden walkways through forest. Water in a springs looks awesome. We brought snorkeling gear and that was a good decision. Different kinds of fish looked beautiful. Visitors told us about manatees but we haven't saw them. We saw an older couple in a scuba gear coming back from springs. Park looks same as Wekiwa springs but with manatees and less people. Definitely recommend if you in area

Helpful?
2 Thank Lezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Springs Park also viewed

 
High Springs, FL
 

Been to Blue Springs Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing