We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finger Licking Good”
Review of La Carreta

La Carreta
Ranked #25 of 344 Restaurants in Hialeah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Finger Licking Good”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place was THE BEST Cuban food I have ever had. We stopped in on the way to the keys because we read many good reviews on Tripadvisor. They didn't let us down. We all had some type of pork, along with yucca fries, plantains, rice, black beans.....oh so good. We ate until we couldn't eat another bite! We also had the flan which was outstanding.
Will certainly go back, even if it's out of the way!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cinnamongirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“great Cuban fare”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We always go to La Carreta to eat Cuban food. Order the roast pork, yuca, rice and beans, and plantains with your sangria--just great. You will not leave hungry.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food and excellent coffee.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Went with a large group, really enjoyed the meal. Very friendly staff made us feel at home. Coffee was excellent, so the "alfajores"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rpineiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, ambience”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had lunch there during a recent trip (April, 2012). I happened to be in the neighborhood and met someone since the place was convenient. Cannot believe that in all my trips to Mia/Hialeah had not tried this place, thinking that it was higher than average..well, it is in quality and service, not your Mom and Pop restaurant and the prices are not much higher. Twists on Cuban cuisines that other restaurants may not be willing to try since it is always safer to stay with the familiar. Leisuredly lunch, attentive service. Had the sopa de platanos followed by stuffed plantain wiht cheese. No room for desert, although the selection of flans was tempting. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pasepartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Good Cuban food with a flair”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Delicious Cuban specialties with authentic flavor. Reasonable prices and attentive service make this a very desirable stop. Located behind a large mall.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing