We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good $39 hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn Hallandale
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A good $39 hotel...”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Let me start by saying this is a good 39 dollar hotel. Oh wait, they actually charge over 100 dollars a night!

This place is a combination hotel and condo "resort". It might be a resort in a Third World country but certainly not here. As others have reported, there are residents here. Mostly European and Canadian as best I can determine. There are also some transients who wander about from time to time. I booked this hotel as the least expensive option while attending a conference at the beach. The location is convenient to the beach conference center and local eateries.

Arrived at 3:30pm (check in is 3) only to be told my room was not ready. Come back in 30 minutes. So I walked across the street to Starbucks to while away my time.

On my return three police cars were in the lot. Seemed there was some sort of disturbance. Oh great. In addition, at the counter a European vacationer wanted her money back as the lobby ice cream machine ate her dollar without delivering. The clerk told her to call the 800 number on the vending machine. When she persisted the clerk sent his associate to "shake" the machine.

Finally got checked in only to be told the AC was working all that well. Whatever. Found my room on the second floor overlooking the pool.

The room photographs well but in reality it is simple, spartan and cheap. You get a bed, table and 2 chairs, another chair, old style cable TV, and kitchenette. Interestingly, the need to walk through a huge closet to access the bathroom. A midsized fridge is in that space. Bathroom is bright and industrial. You get 2 thin bath towels, 1 each hand towel and washcloth. 1 bar of soap and shampoo. In the cupboards are a mishmash of plates and utensils. No dish detergent is provided. Despite that the room was clean - old and worn but clean.

For those who might need to touch up their clothes, there is no iron or ironing board either.

The advertised continental breakfast consists of packaged bagels, bread for toast, hard boiled eggs, little weinies (!?), Little Debbie Cake-type donuts, cookies, Fruit Loops and some other colorful cereal. And powdered creamer for coffee.

By day 2 the air conditioning was working up to speed and cooled things well. The bed was clean and comfortable. Shower offered hot water and decent pressure.

Check-out was awkward as the early morning clerk could not print a receipt. She said only the “boss” can do that. Instead she provided a copy of my signed check-in statement.

Bottom line: Looking for a convenient place with no amenities this might be satisfactory. In my case due to my schedule there, I left before 7am and returned after dark so basically I only slept and showered in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Langley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    15
    24
    31
See reviews for
31
17
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Last week our family rented a room at the Knights Inn in Hallandale, Florida. The first this we noticed when we walked was that the sheets were not changed. My mothers called the front desk and ask if she could get more sheets since the ones on the bed were dirty. The guy at the front started yelling at her saying that he is not give a any new sheets and the she would have to wait in the morning for housekeeping to give one. In addition , he said that if she didn’t like here that she leave but he is not refunding her the money. My mother was very upset and we had to go to Wal-Mart and buy new sheet for the bed because it was dirty and full of semen stains. In addition I found pubic hair in the beds and in the bathroom. There was not enough parking and the internet did not work. This is one dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. I will never rent another room from them ever again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Staff is nice and try to accommodate you.First room smelled bad, looked like it had seen better days, it lacked individual air conditioning and no TV service.A new room was provide without any problem the next morning that was an improvement.Major issue was nonworking central air conditioning for two days and it took two days to have TV operational
Forget the "free breakfast"it is kind to call it cheesy and cheap.Coffee was good.This is a residential place where rooms are rented out something that they don't say in the ads and parking can be a problem, Location is good.Pool was not one you wanted to lounge at.Major draw back was no WIFi in the rooms,You had to sit in the lobby which was gloomy and dark.If you are on a budget it is about $132 a night in season...as I said you get what you pay for and $132 is on the high side for what you get. . .
.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is not at all what I expected. This place is also a residence. People live here. We had to put up with a stereo playing through the walls and people lounging outside talking loudly. The rooms seem to be efficiency apartments. Outdated, and with open access panels in the ceiling of the room and bathroom. Just a little creepy and unsafe if you ask me. I guess if you like to do things "out of the box" it's ok, but I expected a more typical hotel. And internet is only available in the lobby, and only by request. Also, our room was right off the busy street with cars whizzing by all night. Be sure to get a room off the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmelendezt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed 12/29/2012 When checking in, the clerk was fast and polite.The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the refrigerator was large with a separete freezer.The price 119. plus tax(132.) The next closes price at a nearby hotel was 199. plus tax. It's a short drive to Haulover beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a great place to stay for not a lot of money. Close to shopping, across the street from a great Italian restaurant, short walk over the bridge to the beach and walking distance to Gulfstream racetrack. The room and breakfast are very basic, not for everyone. Staff very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smdnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for a few days conference on the beach next door in Hollywood. The room was very large and clean, on the ground floor with a canal view. Great location - I was able to walk to the conference in Hollywood no problem. Walking distance to Walmart, fast food (Burger King), Starbucks etc. Don't coming here for a romantic weekend, and don't expect your kids to love the pool. For basic accommodation, in a good location, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the back, away from Hallandale Blvd (quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckynumber6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallandale Beach
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hollywood/Aventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
#32 of 66 in Hollywood
1,053 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachwalk Resort
Beachwalk Resort
#3 of 5 in Hallandale Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Hallandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Hallandale

Property: Knights Inn Hallandale
Address: 26 Diplomat Pkwy, Hallandale Beach, FL 33009-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hallandale Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hallandale Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Hallandale 1.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mar Bay Hotel, offering ecomony rates, is centrally located near the beach, the two casinos, and all the conveniences in and around Hallandale Beach and Hollywood, FL for the budget minded traveler. Within walking distance are a large selection of restaurants and stores. We are a short 5 blocks distance along Hallandale Beach Boulevard to the expansive, free beach and the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Hallandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing