We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A horselovers' paradise with racino,restaurants, & shops”
Review of Gulfstream Park

Gulfstream Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.99*
and up
Taste of Miami Helicopter Tour
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Private Plane Tour over White Sandy Beaches
More Info
$194.99*
and up
The Grand Miami Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Tamarac, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A horselovers' paradise with racino,restaurants, & shops”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was my first trip to Gulfstream Park with a busload of adults from my snowbird club. The trip by expressway is fast but you bog down on Stirling Road East in bumper to bumper traffic approaching Hallendale Beach Blvd. The park is beautiful with newly added shops and restaurants housed in a village of Romanesque stucco Spanish Revival buildings. We ate in the Italian Restaurant "American Pie" which serves a large salad ($11.95) my wifa and I could not finish, and a cheese Calzone ($8.95) that was also shared. Service was very good. You can dine inside or alfresco. You will not leave hungry. Half the shops are still unoccupied but the village is self contained and nice to walk through. The "racino" is the smallest I've seen. It's on 2 floors and has slots and a few card tables. If you want serious slots go to Hard Rock, Pompano Park, or Coconut Creek Seminole. The main attraction is the racetrack. Plenty of history here with plaques of famous past winners. The paddock area has tiered seating and is the best I've seen. The track is gorgeous. Understand I am not a horse handicapper so I have very little to compare it to. There are screens galore with racing in real time from tracks nationwide. This is not a "family attraction. There is nothing here to interest children.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    352
    81
    12
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,138 reviews
653 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“good restaurants!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

good place to try new restaurants and bars. I was not impress with the Casino but had a good walk around the area, end up in the container store which sell good containers for the house.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pros and cons for horse racing fans”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Warning: This review is only for the horse racing, not the casino or shops. I am a huge horse racing fan and have been to many tracks across the United States and was excited to visit the new Gulfstream. I unfortunately was not able to visit the old track. As for the current facility: the walking ring is one of the best in the country, with five rows of stadium seating surrounding the ring amid a background of spectacular architecture. Truly a gem. But the track apron? Ugh. The apron is only half as wide as it should be, considering how crowded Gulfstream can become. Especially since it offers a superior racing product. VERY limited amount of seating, which must be paid for. The new Gulfstream has so much potential, but it's severely limited with the configuration of the trackside facilities. Huge disappointment for racing fans. Have no idea what Frank Stronach was thinking when designing this part of the track. But at least he got the paddock right, so it can't be considered a dud. I did enjoy the casual feel of the crowd. Far different (and more lively) compared to the scores of degenerate gamblers that can be found at Calder, Hialeah, and most other American racetracks. But I can't help but wonder what the old Gulfstream was like......

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Blecktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The restaurants are great; the racetrack viewing used to be better”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

While Gulfstream has greatly expanded its complex to include Shops and several good restaurants, the racetrack viewing is greatly diminished, and the casino is just OK. Great surroundings, good food, popular shopping, but the fundamentals of horseracing are no longer really there, and the gambling is just so-so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Town Center-Style Shopping, Dining, and Racing”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Gulfstream Park resurrected the old track, adding a sprawling, Mediterranean-style shopping village in front. There are plenty of options here: Crate & Barrel, Pottery Barn, West Elm. Several merchants moved from nearby Aventura Mall to be at Gulfstream. This is a total entertainment experience, superior in many ways to the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino. For one, it's closer to the water and in a much nicer part of town. There is the casino, of course, but it seems less a focus. You could easily while away a day and evening here. Parking is quite easy, even close to the anchor stores. There's also garage parking and valet as well. The Achille's Heel of all these open-air centers is rain...although it is certainly a more attractive setting than an enclosed shopping center, the rain kills everything. Gulfstream Park and its kind rarely have adequate protection from the elements. Initially I thought Gulfstream Park would be a bit of a dud, but it has proven to be very popular and is a great alternative to the behemoth and crowded Aventura Mall.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mibenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulfstream Park also viewed

Hallandale Beach, Broward County
Hallandale Beach, Broward County
 
Hallandale Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Gulfstream Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing