We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent course”

Southern Dunes Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Haines City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18-hole golf course features large, undulating greens, elevation changes of 100 feet, and wide fairways flanked by more than 170 bunkers.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Played this in the summer and it was in fantastic condition. The course is amazing and a real challenge for all levels of golfers. Can't wait to play it again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ianbb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    86
    24
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our family stayed in a 4bedroom/2bathroom villa with pool at Southern Dunes for 2 weeks in October 2013.This was our second visit to this resort and once again we were very,very happy.Southern Dunes is a gated complex with 24hr security.very clean and quiet.Only a 20 min drive to Disney and 30 min to Universal.The villa was spotlessly clean with all you need for a family on holiday.Fully equipped kitchen,washing maching and dryer in the garage.Cable tv and free wifi are a must for teenagers.Free phone calls to the UK.Great pool and plenty of sun loungers and chairs.Our villa backed onto the golf course.Just outside Southern Dunes is Walmart,Legoland is 30 mins away and Busch Gardens about 1 hour drive to Tampa but well worth it if you like thrill rides.We were on our 4th visit to Orlando and still found plenty to do.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jpc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Annual Trip to Southern Dunes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have been staying and playing at SD for five years. The course is one of the better ones we play annually. We play Orange County, both. Shingle Creek, some of the Disney courses, Grand Pines, Champions Gate among others. Course is well maintained, sand like every Florida course, nice greens, can play it long, 6600 yds. or short 6200. Fair layout, not real tight, greens can be very fast depending on when your there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Prop staff not friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Most pro staff I meet are happy you are spending your money at their course...not here! it's like they are doing you a favor to let you play! (just short of rude)

Before you know it, there are three carts ahead of you (6 players) holding up play.

There is NO nine hole play!!!, pay for 18 in the winter afternoons and be lucky to get in 12 holes before you can't see anything.

Still a beautiful course...just needs new pro staff. and play policies (9hole play late afternoon)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Challenging Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have played Southern Dunes every time we have been in Florida this year, May, July and September. It is very beautifully landscaped. It is not too challenging if you stay out of the sand traps. But there are lots of them and they are huge. The only problem we had was that it rained every day mid afternoon. Very well appointed clubhouse with good food at reasonable prices. Staff very friendly and helpful, too. The course is not crowded at all during the week so it is easy to get a tee time. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Almontonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Dunes Golf Club also viewed

Haines City, Central Florida
Haines City, Central Florida
 
Haines City, Central Florida
Haines City, Central Florida
 

Been to Southern Dunes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing