We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice dining experience”

La Cote Basque Winehouse
Ranked #20 of 40 Restaurants in Gulfport
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very nice dining experience”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

knowong it was a french/europram restaurant we still got more thsn we exprctrd..the great selection of wine, the food, the unique decor if you want a nice dining experience away from the beach barsgo here for a bit of elegance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnandlinda1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    55
    28
    24
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Massively Disappointing”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

For years, I have heard much about LCB, and finally got to try it. I wish I had put it off for a few more years. The ambience is that of a funeral parlor, the service was unspeakably bad (rude, brusque, unskilled, inattentive, arrogant), and the food bore little resemblance to "cuisine". Maybe the place has good days and bad, but I will never know. Don't waste your time or money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaiPeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A restaurant that has been family run for 3 generations and maintains a high quality of food & service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“old school”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

this place has been here about 50 years. It's dark, romantic, old school French food. You expect to hear Sinatra from the muzack systym and you do. The wine collection is a sophisticated as any more snooty restaurant in a bigger city. Good date place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mickeybirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ahhh Mazing”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a great restaurant. Went there with a Restaurant.com voucher and glad I did otherwise I would never have found this little Gem. The décor is Victorian with tables situated in little niches throughout the restaurant. It is very romantic. I had the flounder Florentine with a lemon caper sauce served with rice and mixed vegatables and it was one of the best meals I have ever had. My date had the Calves Liver and it was so tender it would melt in your mouth. Their bread is to die for and the house salad had the most tasty citrus vinaigrette Service was impeccable. Attentive but not bothersome. I highly recommend reservations as it is very popular.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PollyP563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cote Basque Winehouse also viewed

 

Been to La Cote Basque Winehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing