We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crabcakes to Die For”
Review of Backfin Blue Cafe

Backfin Blue Cafe
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Toward the end of January was taken here by friends who promised, "If you like crab cakes you can't find better." They weren't lying! While the décor and service was basic the food was the star, making this, in Michelin terminology "worth a trip." Being familiar with crab cakes from years of visiting the Eastern Shore, these were among the best ever.
We snowbirds were staying about an hour away and tried to return two weeks later with a friend for lunch only to find they opened at 4 pm. We did return a week later with other friends and all agreed the crab cakes were the best ever. The cafe boasts a reasonably priced wine/beer list and dependable, but overworked staff.
The place was quite full that evening and a bit chilly on the porch despite gas heaters. I don't believe they take reservations so best to come early or late to get the seats you want. Suggestion: Start with corn & crab chowder; take the garden salad rather than artichoke & tomato. We'll definitely be back next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank STEPHEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, Owner at Backfin Blue Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

A lot of good advice in your review! I'm with you on choosing the spring mix salad over the artichoke and tomatoes, but some folks really like it (not me, lol). We do have a hard working staff which is what it takes to run a restaurant out of house. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope you get to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 285 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Located in an old Florida cottage. Has outside sitting and limited inside sitting. We had the Romantic Dinner for Two which includes a bottle of champagne and a five course surf and turf meal. Everything was very well prepared and the service was great.

Thank debkay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, Owner at Backfin Blue Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for spending your special occasion with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and prepare our surf and turf package for you. Hope you get to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Seen from the outside, the Backfin Blue Cafe does not look very promising - just an ordinary house transformed into a somewhat plain restaurant. Inside it's rather cozy and comfy. But it's the food that makes it outstanding. We went there (2 couples) on the evening of Feb. 7, 2014. It was our last night in Florida and we wanted our vacation to end in style. And it did. It was a rainy evening and a bit chilly. They seated us in their outdoor patio. Shades had been pulled down to protect us from the evening breeze and two gas heaters kept all customers warm. Our waitress was very pleasant (I believe Ashley is her name) and gave us good advice on what to order. All 4 of us chose seafood - 2 crab cakes orders and 2 catch of the day orders. Plus a bottle of white wine, of course. Everything was top notch and cooked to perfection. And, in my opinion, reasonably priced. We will certainly visit again when we return next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, Owner at Backfin Blue Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Well thank you for giving us a try! We are always happy to have folks from Maryland, since so many place's claims to have Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes are without merit. Like June Squibb in the movie "Nebraska", who is the same age as our little old gal (building), you can't always judge a book by it's cover. I'm glad we helped ad a happy finish to your trip and hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The food was fairly good, but no better than at many other restaurants that charge far less. The menu options were rather limited. The restaurant is a chopped-up house, and your dining experience can vary a lot depending on where you are seated.

2  Thank dalton2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, Owner at Backfin Blue Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thanks for visiting us. I'm sorry that we could not charge less but because we deal with fresh seafood and premium crab products our food cost runs at 43% which is high in our industry. We try to balance our menu by having sandwich platters available starting at $9.50 for folks who aren't out for a big ticket dinner, and we keep moderately priced wines on our wine list. We can't do much to change our little 1920's Florida syle bungalow. Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Everything was excellent...excellent service, excellent food, and excellent ambiance. If you are hungry and find yourself anywhere near Gulfport, do yourself a favor and eat at Backfin Blue. You will not be disappointed. The owner/chef is very friendly and knowledgeable. To be in business so long, he must be good. He proves it every night!! Prices are reasonable too, which is nice for a large family. I will be going back soon, that's for sure

Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold R, Owner at Backfin Blue Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Backfin Blue.We are getting a lot of positive feedback on our recent updates to the dining room which I think really brightens up the place. I will share your review with my staff especially the part that says good things about me! lol Hope you get to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backfin Blue Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Backfin Blue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing