We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Quaint! Great service always!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“Cozy and Quaint! Great service always!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I am new to the area and Isabelle's at the Peninsula Inn has become a weekly visit for me and my husband. We love the staff who are always friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere is cozy with the fire table out back on the beautiful deck. Not to mention the food is delicious!! I have never had a bad experience there and have been there upwards of 10 times. As a matter of fact, I was also there the night of the drunk and disrespectful guys who clearly thought the world revolved around them. The staff handled it wonderfully that it only took mere seconds for the fun and relaxed vibe to come back after they left. This is a great place for visitors but so great that locals frequent often which I think says a lot! Do yourself a favor and try it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    61
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
50
126
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had the wonderful delight of dining at Isabelle's at the Pennisula Hotel on March 20th with my partner. We could not have asked for a better culinary experience. The ONLY downside to our evening was the behavior and attitude of two highly inebriated men who interrupted the entire establishment with unsubstantiated complaints of food and service from the bar staff, Sam, was his name. Curious to know what the particular complaint was, we made inquiry to our waiter who explained the customer was finding fault in everything delivered to their table. Well, having ordered the mussels and salmon ourselves, we were leery and expressed as much. The waiter told us to hang on, and proceeded to allow us to sample the untouched portions of the complainers mussels and salmon. They were DELICIOUS in a unique Andouille sausage and sage broth and the grilled salmon, of course it had char grilled marking on it were delicious and succulent! We also enjoyed the ruby red trout topped with crab and drizzled with a delightful citrus butter sauce, followed by an incredible chocolate lava tort finished with a warming Gran Marnier and coffee.

Our experience with this establishment was wonderful and we resolved NOT to allow the drunken and unsubstantiated claims of two unworthy patrons, who rightfully should have been arrested and removed from the premises, deter us from dining here again throughout the year. Everyone must try this delightful place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNelson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Jan 3013, very nice staff, I have nothing but great memories of our stay there last year. Excellent food and service. Loved the evening entertainment. When the end of our stay was near we extended it by two more days, we just did not want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmittyKJSmith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Historic Peninsula Inn for our five year anniversary. The inn was very charming. We stayed in the Katmandu which was such a nice room. We had such a nice experience with the owners of the inn. definitelyGoing to be coming back to this place but making it a longer stay.

The town it also very charming. This if a small town with a lot of history. It seemed that everyone knew every one and they were very nice to visitors.

If you have a dog and love to take it along with you on vacations this town is all about dogs. We were there during a dog festival and all the shops had dog treats and bowls of Water for your fury friend. The restaurants had out door seeing and your fury friend was more then welcome to join your for a bite to eat. The best part was Salty's this is such a great hang out. They had game's that you would play when you were younger. The atmosphere was so relaxed andfun.

I would say that this town us a gem inside the rough. We are making this a part of are travels from now on.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newington, ct
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

we had reservations for outside - too cold to eat out, so we requested to eat inside - the person at the podium told us they were full - no room at the inn - could have cared less - not nice at all! a real jerk!
luckily, the owner was near by, and made suure we were seated - and thanks to him that we were -
we have been there many times - the food is wonderful, as well as the atmosphere - i can't rave about the food enough - our meal was awesome - all 4 of us had different selections - all 5 star

also, on saturday nights, there is music to dance to - a lovely side patio for dancing is there with chairs and tables

the owners work hard to make this an awesome experience - also, sara was our waitress - she was great

you won't be sorry

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paris87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful historic building to have dinner in. The food and service were very good and the atmosphere great! We loved the scallops and salmon special. It was odd that they didn't serve bread. Particularly since we had salads. I guess we could have asked for it. Otherwise it was great and we will be coming back soon! Great bar too

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua,N.H.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My friend and I returned to this wonderful historic hotel for a two night stay just after Christmas 2013. We had only intended to stay one night, but we were given a special package for two nights AND a charming two bedroom suite --we couldn't resist. Beautiful and tasteful Christmas decorations were still up and a warm fire in the lobby made for a cozy place to relax and stay warm. The owners were so gracious and we were satisfied on every count. On Sat. night friends joined us at the Inn for a wonderful salmon dinner cooked by most accommodating chefs. We were so comfortable here that we scraped our traveling plans and just relaxed at the Inn and traveled only the 3 square miles that comprise Gulfport's wonderful art community. Both the Inn and the community were a great way to relax after the hectic holiday season. We loved it!!!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the suite--one bedroom with twin beds and the other with a queen-or larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priscilla_56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,597 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
510 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,133 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing