We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See you soon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Peninsula Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“See you soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed for a nice here and it was great. From our beautifully furnished suite all the way down to the friendly and helpful staff, and Lulu. They made us feel right at home. We are already trying to plan our next stay. Gulfport Beach is a nice friendly place and this B & B was right in the middle of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    55
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
47
117
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Had a wonderful experience here. The Inn is a historic property that has been beautifully renovated. The room was unique and perfectly appointed. The owners/operators Alex and Jim were are extremely engaging could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The little town of Gulfport was a great destination and has many shops and waterfront all within easy walking distance of the Inn. This reminded me of a mini Key West with its character and architecture. Highly recommend this for a weekend or a delightful romantic get a way. We will be returning there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaJwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My girlfriend & I stayed at The Peninsula Inn.Charming historical Inn in the heart of Gulfport.Very friendly & accommodating staff! Shops & restaurants all within walking distance.Gulfport is a quiet,clean & friendly laid back community.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was my second week long stay at this lovely, relaxing inn. I plan to stay there again. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioners and ceiling fans were very nice. Aromatic, handmade soap provided a very friendly touch to go along with the cordial and welcoming individuals who greeted me. The inn is steps away from interesting, eclectic, and delicious dining. Gulfport is a great walking town, so close to the bay and short driving distance to the Gulf.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank art2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Accept for the gracious inn keeper, we had a nightmare experience at this inn! The linens and towels were older than I am, and we were bitten terribly during the night all over our legs, probably by fleas, while in bed. The breakfast, if you can call it that, consisted of several types of bread, pop tarts, cups of yogurt and applesauce. More like childrens snack foods than a hearty B&B breakfast. We were completely disappointed and left early, being reimbursed for the 2nd night which we did not stay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarjak, Manager at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I am sorry for you bad experience. We pride ourselves on insuring that everyone leaves with a smile on their face. I offered you the refund you requested and had hoped that would have ended it there. We take all responses on TA very serviously as our business is dependent on it. As you can see from other reviews that yours is far from the norm, as the majority of our guests are pleased with theri experience. We take every review personally.

I did ask our pest control officer to inspect your room and treat it if necessary, but he found nothing. Again, my sincerest apologies for your inconveniece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed there last night and the night before amazed by the unbelievably friendly staff and the amazing service .getting a tour of the place was really interesting the old stills the 6 table restaurant that the guy who started the restaurant was a houlecoust survive etc etc I can go on and on just the home feeling was worth it all

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Peninsula Inn for over a week. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was great in hot, steamy August. We love sitting out on the beautiful porch in the mornings and evenings. We will definitely stay there again. We ate at many different restaurants along Beach Blvd, all within walking distance of the inn and all wonderful. Who knew Gulfport was such a gem??

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
2.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing