We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Love it!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Peninsula Inn for over a week. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was great in hot, steamy August. We love sitting out on the beautiful porch in the mornings and evenings. We will definitely stay there again. We ate at many different restaurants along Beach Blvd, all within walking distance of the inn and all wonderful. Who knew Gulfport was such a gem??

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    58
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
48
123
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one evening while visiting Gulfport. And we found the hotel to be quaint, comfortable and charming! I just can't say enough about the staff, all of whom were incredibly helpful, hospitable, and accommodating. The room was small, but clean, attractive and well kept. The location of the hotel was perfect, right in the middle of things.

Besides the staff and the location, I really enjoyed the front porch, the old-fashioned elevator, and the continental breakfast. What a gem of a find this inn proved to be!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reagan534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We made a reservation that morning and there was no problem finding a room on a hot August Saturday. Our room was typical in an historic inn, small but cozy. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The people were nice, although I'm not sure who was who as I only got one person's name. The elevator is so cool--one of those old ones with the sliding gate I loved it! Nice, central location and plenty of parking. I got a massage and it was great! I think her name is Lo Lo for short, but very knowledgeable about her profession and a great massage. Big complaint--should have been told the restaurants and bar were closed for renovations before I booked. Website needs updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronjoduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Older, charming, quaint...my hubby stays here on business. I went last week and relaxed, shopped, ate...had a very nice stay. The owners are extremely nice, helpful and very accommodating. We took our small dog, Dobey Man, he had a great time also...nice to be able to take your pet, it's quiet for them and they can also relax without all the exterior noise that goes with most places. We like the ample room size, ours had a separate bedroom that you could shut off from the bathroom and living room area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Historic, very well kept, clean, comfortable and very cozy!! If you are looking for a traditional 5 star hotel, go to Marriott or similar. This is a small, cozy, interesting, very well kept historic hotel. There are only a few rooms, but pretty and maintaining the cozy atmosphere of the early 1900's. Jim, the owner, is a sweetheart who goes out of his way to make guests feel completely at home. What more can I say? I loved this place and FOR SURE will come back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LygiaLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We met friends here for a great dinner & drinks at Isabelle's. It's very charming and the patio was just beautiful. Dale was entertaining in his Sinatra style --- we really enjoyed the music and dancing. We spent the night in one of the two bedroom suites and our friends stayed in a one bedroom suite. The rooms were beautifully furnished. Beds were extremely comfortable. There's a lovely sitting area on the 2nd floor where we were. Wished we could have stayed the weekend! Owners, Jim & Alex, we very accomodating. It was a great experience and we'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShieliaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent the Memorial Day weekend. What a quaint hotel and friendly people. The rooms were plenty big enough for my husband and I. There's a very long verandah which houses the restaurant Isabelle's. We had dinner there one night. What a pleasant experience just watching the scenery and relaxing. Unfortunately, we never made it to the piano/guitar area. I would definitely stay there again. I did miss having a swimming pool, but it is within walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deabic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,518 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
358 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,021 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing