We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stopped for a drink here on Saturday night and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the live music. The hotel is just beautiful and the bar makes a mean chocolate martini! Will be stopping back for dinner on my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustLale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    61
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
50
126
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our fly-drive trip around Florida, having read about it in the Lonely Planet. It was lovely. Check-in was really personal and friendly. Our room was nice - perhaps small by American standards but that is part of the charm of the historic building. We ate at Isabelle's in the evening (the hotel restaurant) - the service and food were really amazing. The gentleman who served us looked after us impeccably, and we loved the homemade bread and butter pudding! We sat out on the fantastic old style verandah and just watched the world go by. The next morning the lady who runs breakfast got up early to provide us with a light breakfast and coffee before our early morning birdwatching trip to Fort de Soto park - this was much appreciated!

Gulfport itself is a great little place well worth stopping at - we wish we'd had more time to explore the restaurants, cafes and shops, and to wander along the pier / waterfront - it's a nice change to be able to get around on foot rather than by car in the USA. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymoon_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our Condominium celebrated it's yearly Christmas dinner at "The Peninsula Inn and Spa" in the private diningroom of "Six Tables", we also occupied the back deck as well (37 people). The meal and service far supassed our expectations. Alex and Jim were extreamly attentive host and hotess along with their well trained staff.
I will rate this experience on a scale of one to ten, a fifteen !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWC34272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I love to visit Gulfport. We come at least twice weekly. We have eaten at most of the places and decided we would try the Peninsula Inn. The hide n seek came about looking for a waitress. There was only one on duty Tuesday about 1:30 PM. I think she was hanging out in the kitchen because we waited around to the point that we were about to leave when{ the owner?} Tracked her down.
Lunch was very good and the prices were reasonable. My wife had Caesar chicken wrap and I had a crab and shrimp tart. I enjoyed sitting on the veranda while eating. It was very pleasant. I would and will return to try some of the other offerings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I can't rate the hotel portion of this wonderful property, but I have dined at both of their restaurants, Isabelle's and Six Tables. Last night we had a home-cooked group holiday meal at Six Tables. Everything here is made from scratch and the whole roasted turkey, rich cornbread stuffing, green bean and onion casserole, mashed potatoes, macaroni and cheese, fresh cranberry sauce, and homemade pumpkin pie with ginger snap crust had all of us planning for our next visit. If you're in the St. Pete/Gulfport, Fla. area, don't miss it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The peninsula Inn and Spa in Gulfport (near St. Petersburg) Florida is THE place to go if you are looking for rest and relaxation. If you normally need a vacation from your vacation and do not want to do so again, come to the Peninsula Inn and Spa where the rooms are charming, clean pleasant and the mattresses are great !

THERE IS PLENTY TO DO IN AND AROUND GULFPORT AND YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF TO PLAN A STAY AT THE PENISNULA INN!

Room Tip: Ask Alexandra or Jim, the hosts what they recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just went to The Peninsula Inn and Spa at the last minute for a well deserved night away. We had an awesome time. Alexandra and her staff are friendly, helpful and just great people. They made us feel at home and made sure we were taken care off. You can tell that Alexandra and her team have a passion for welcoming people into their place. We stayed in the Nile suite and let me tell you that was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. We also had the homemade dessert and it was excellent. Everyone in Gulfport is so friendly and pleasant. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,577 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,116 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
2.4 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing