We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Played a little hide n seek before lunch.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Peninsula Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Played a little hide n seek before lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I love to visit Gulfport. We come at least twice weekly. We have eaten at most of the places and decided we would try the Peninsula Inn. The hide n seek came about looking for a waitress. There was only one on duty Tuesday about 1:30 PM. I think she was hanging out in the kitchen because we waited around to the point that we were about to leave when{ the owner?} Tracked her down.
Lunch was very good and the prices were reasonable. My wife had Caesar chicken wrap and I had a crab and shrimp tart. I enjoyed sitting on the veranda while eating. It was very pleasant. I would and will return to try some of the other offerings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    46
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
100
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I can't rate the hotel portion of this wonderful property, but I have dined at both of their restaurants, Isabelle's and Six Tables. Last night we had a home-cooked group holiday meal at Six Tables. Everything here is made from scratch and the whole roasted turkey, rich cornbread stuffing, green bean and onion casserole, mashed potatoes, macaroni and cheese, fresh cranberry sauce, and homemade pumpkin pie with ginger snap crust had all of us planning for our next visit. If you're in the St. Pete/Gulfport, Fla. area, don't miss it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The peninsula Inn and Spa in Gulfport (near St. Petersburg) Florida is THE place to go if you are looking for rest and relaxation. If you normally need a vacation from your vacation and do not want to do so again, come to the Peninsula Inn and Spa where the rooms are charming, clean pleasant and the mattresses are great !

THERE IS PLENTY TO DO IN AND AROUND GULFPORT AND YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF TO PLAN A STAY AT THE PENISNULA INN!

Room Tip: Ask Alexandra or Jim, the hosts what they recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just went to The Peninsula Inn and Spa at the last minute for a well deserved night away. We had an awesome time. Alexandra and her staff are friendly, helpful and just great people. They made us feel at home and made sure we were taken care off. You can tell that Alexandra and her team have a passion for welcoming people into their place. We stayed in the Nile suite and let me tell you that was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. We also had the homemade dessert and it was excellent. Everyone in Gulfport is so friendly and pleasant. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent the weekend and celebrated my daughter's wedding at the Peninsula. Alex and the staff were great; the food was great and it was all affordable. They were flexible with us and very accommodating. The location is great, a short drive from Tampa. The Peninsula is very quaint and every room/suite is different, not the traditional commercial hotel. The wedding was a success and I would certainly recommend it to anyone having a significant celebration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were lucky to find a nice person that escorted us to this great hotel. The owners were very accommodating. We went for the art walk and found ourselves right in the middle of it and of some great music. Had a great evening. Wonderful place to stay - very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a wonderful find in a small, but beautiful little town in Florida. The rooms are comfy, clean and well decorated. It has its own restaurant and the food is great. It is a little pricey,, but great for a special occasion celebration.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pruddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.8 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,997 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#20 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,846 reviews
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Inn on the Beach
Inn on the Beach
#1 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing