We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Gulfport and Gecko Fest from the Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Peninsula Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed Gulfport and Gecko Fest from the Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Jim and Alex were very welcoming ! The Inn's excellent location allowed us to enjoy the Gecko fest in style and comfort. We stayed in the Nile Suite situated in the back of the Inn which was nice and quiet We enjoyed the little TV sitting room separate from the bedroom. One of the highlights of our weekend was taking in the festivities from the Inn's veranda under the cooling fans. Great Southern hospitality - cornbread and all. Our stay, the food, drinks and service were all superb !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    56
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
48
118
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I spent the weekend of July 27th at the Peninsula Inn and Spa and could not be happier with the experience. Alex, the owner, went out of her way to make sure that the entire experience was perfect for us. The room was great, as was the entire property. We also ate at Six Tables on Saturday night and it was the best dining experience that I have ever had! The food was fabulous, as was the service. Great wine menu too.

The above-stated, Gulfport is a wonderful area, with much to offer tourists and locals alike. Although, I only traveled from Tampa, it felt like I had traveled to a wonderfully exotic location (although it is a very chill area). So charming!

What a fabulous town and an even more fabulous inn. Everything is within walking distance from the Peninsula Inn. Don't miss the Peninsula Inn. It is perfect! Astrid G.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Level Contributor
233 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I worked on the renovation of this Inn, and have stayed here after the historical renovation was complete. I could not get over how beautiful they had made this place, and how comfortable the rooms were. This place is a must stay if you are in this area, and want a relaxing room in a beautiful, historical inn !!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, quaint, with their own characteristics. Any room you choose will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dd65stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had the most enjoyable stay at the Inn last week. The staff was great and the food outstanding. New Flat screen tv in the bedroom and I felt like I was in the lap of luxury. I would recommend this place to anyone. Try the Scallops and definitely the cornbread.

Room Tip: Katmandu has a King bed but the Queen sleigh beds are huge and very comfortable too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Was there for only 1 night and fell in love with the owners and the surroundings. Had so much fun in this little town just prior to the husle and bustle of the 4th of July. It's a great place to check out for a couple of nights, and is centrally located. Everyone was so nice to us.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Very laid back and accomodating.... The owners are always on premises and Terri's Banana Bread i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancindan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked a room for the night of 4th of July. We were upgraded upon checkin. Owners made us feel totally welcome and special. Our suite was cozy. We had dinner at Isabelle's, their restaurant in the Governor's room. Very good price/value. Garlic mashed potatoes were a disappointment. Service was excellent. Sorry we just missed happy hour. Jazz music in the courtyard added to the experience. Lunch at Pia Trattoria was also a delight. We walked to wonderful fireworks that evening. Gulfport is a unique old Florida experience with nary a Starbucks in sight. We live in north Pinellas County and found this overnight getaway from our pristine suburbs to be a cultural, small town, satisfying event. Consider spending your next holiday getaway in this unique location with walking distance to Boca Ciega bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Loved it. Great place to stay for a great vacation. The little town is great. There r wonerful restsurants in the area. The location is minutes away from the beach. Staff was very friendly n helpful. There is also a small beach within walkin distance n a pier. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiffineeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
2.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing