We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple, clean, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Peninsula Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
1 review
“simple, clean, great food”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Needed a place to stay a couple days in advance of a cruise out of tampa. Really not a spa, but if you want to settle in at a place and not have to travel for great food, this does the trick. We just wanted a place to relax and unwind before a cruise and this was perfect. Inside and outside dining both provided for great atmosphere and a well prepared menu. Although the breakfast were closer to continental breakfast, there were several great breakfast places a short walk away as was the beach with a boardwalk pier.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCofthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    61
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
53
127
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I recently had my wedding reception here and I am so happy I did! Frank and Alex were SO helpful with the planning. They made sure everything was perfect. It turned out to be a beautiful reception, everyone was amazed.
Whenever my mom comes to visit she stays here and just loves it. Everyone is so friendly. They are like family to us. I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This place is nice and quaint...rooms/baths are updated and clean and it is in a great location. Their website indicates that they have Spa on site with the healing and yada, yada water of the bay. We..two of us separately...tried to reach the "spa" to book appointments ahead of our visit. One of us was told that most people waited until arriving to book the appointments...one of us was told that they would have the spa "person" ...just one ???... call us to book appointments...one of us was told that they could probably...probably ??... do two facials and two massages at the same time...after all of this we told them that we would wait to book appointments. The first clue to us should have been that there are no pictures of the spa on their website but who knew...

When we arrived the owner told us that she had made arrangements for the two facials and two massages with her "on call people" for the next day when we told her that we made it clear that we would make the appointments after we arrived and now those appointments were not needed

We saw the spa...it is on the 3rd floor...two little dingy rooms stuffed with some equipment but no way that I could see these wonderful waters being a part of any spa service.

my point is that the word "spa" should be removed from their name and any advertisement of such....in addition, the word breakfast complimentary or otherwise should be removed from the website...it and the presentation was pathetic...now, we were told that they were not a B & B...but that is what they are listed as on the Gulfport website...again, who knew...but there are other places to get breakfast...just sayin' ...they should forget the breakfast...take that time to finish cleaning up from the night before.

there are no blow dryers in the rooms and no one at the desk at night to ask to borrow one of theirs...and no one before 8-8:15 to ask in the morning. We have no clue who wonderful Frank is but they need to get him back because he probably knew how to run this place...owners act like it is a bother that you are staying there as we were told that they take pride in their restaurants..then why bother with "the Inn"....at most Inns or hotels there is someone on duty in case of any emergency such as a blow dryer..

on second night, we were asked by someone from the wait staff to LOCK UP when we left....left???...leave????,...we're staying here buddy...like they let just anyone sit in their living room after the employees leave ????? wow...great security measures..

nuf said...the porch/veranda is great, patio/deck is great, food is probably good as they were busy for dinner...bar keep is very nice...owners need a wake up call...not trying to ruin anyone's reputation but buyers beware...go there but ask lots of questions first...this could be a little gold mine if it was run right..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarjak, Owner at The Historic Peninsula Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
We are sorry you had a bad time here. We are trying our best to please everyone with a limited budget and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My son and his wife held their wedding at The Penninsula Inn in mid April. It was a wonderful affair and everyone raved at the atmosphere and accomodations at this gorgeous and unique Florida inn. The manager, Frank, could not have been more helpful. The food was excellent and all the details that make a wedding a joyous celebration, were in place. It's not always easy to find a venue that's perfect along with folks that "get" the vision of the wedding that a couple desires. Frank and his staff really listened and helped make sure that evry, little detail was taken care of. My husband and I often head to the beach (not very far away from Gulfport) for short getaways but after staying at the Penninsula Inn for the wedding have decided that we will return next time we are wanting a fun mini holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Several girlfriends and I booked this place primarily because it was advertised as a inn and SPA which, combined with the good reviews on TA, made it seem like our perfect location for a spa getaway. What we found was that it's a shame there aren't stricter rules on what you advertise.

First of all, a week or so before our arrival, we contacted the hotel to arrange for spa packages, since there were several of us, and we knew this would require advance staffing. No one answered the spa phone. Several days and two phone calls later, we finanlly spoke to someone who turned out to be one of the owners, who said that they could do 2 massages and 2 facials at a time. This, especially combined with the fact that we'd had difficulty even connecting with the spa staff in the first place, sounded dubious. We elected to wait until arrival to check out the facilities in person and book from there.

On our arrival, we were told that they had spa personnel on call to work with us. When we were shown the "spa," however, we were disappointed. It was clear that, far from a purpose-built spa with wet services, the inn had converted one or two former bedrooms to "spa" rooms. Yes, they could do two massages at the same time...but in the same room. This is fine if you're looking for a couples massage, but not what we were seeking. Further, the facial "room" was an area separated from two pedi chairs and a nail station by a folding screen. There are no wet services (hydrotherapy, hot tub, steam shower, etc.). When a place is advertised as a SPA, I would expect all of these. We chose not to have our spa experience in the hotel.

Second area of inaccurate advertising was the continental breakfast. I had gathered, from other reviewers, that this was somewhat limited and that it wasn't possible to even get a cup of coffee before 8 AM, but the reality was much more disappointing. Please note, this is an inn with not one, but two full restaurants plus a lively bar, so it's not like they don't have kitchen facilities. We were the first guests of the hotel down at breakfast time on our first morning, and the "continental breakfast" consisted of three types of cold cereals--the large catering spoon meant to scoop these out was dirty--a couple of bagels and English muffins and bananas, all cut in half (the implication being that you weren't allowed to have a whole one to yourself). There were 4 or 5 no-name yogurts, a carafe of juice, and plastic cups. This was served on one corner table of the larger of the two restaurants and, when my friend and I took our breakfast to one of the tables, we saw that it had not been wiped down from the previous night's dinner...it was full of crumbs. Most astounding to me though, was that the coffee set up was just the restaurant's waiter station, complete with the bus tubs so that you could bus your own dishes to it following your meal. There was a pot of regular and decaf coffee, and perhaps a dozen coffee mugs, none of which matched, as if they had been picked up at a thrift shop.

For this reason, even though the menus of both restaurants (one of which is an expensive chef's tasting type with only six tables and a set menu) looked delicious, we decided not to dine on the property. It just seemed like they didn't care, and that doesn't spell a hygenic kitchen to me.

The rooms, however, were very clean, and the housekeeping staff kept them immaculate during my stay. The pillows were horrible, however -- all old, flat and hard, even the two extras that were supplied in the closet. The shower was very good and large, but the vanity was very small and there was no space anywhere to put your toothbrush or your toiletries, unless you were supposed to park them all under the sink. There are few amenities in the room save a flat screen TV...you must ask at the front desk to borrow a hair dryer. There is an ice bucket in the room (with plastic-covered plastic glasses a la a Motel 6) but no ice machine. Presumably you would take your ice bucket all the way down to the bar to get ice.

The best part of the inn was the lovely common areas -- the wide, wraparound porch and back patio. It is obvious that the Peninsula Inn does a lot of local bar custom, and perhaps restaurant custom as well. There are people who play the piano in the bar, and it is a warm, friendly atmosphere.

After checking us in, we had no contact with the owners or managers who, even if they spied us in passing, never checked in or asked how we were enjoying our stay. On the last night of the stay, we asked who "Frank" was, whose name appears repeatedly in the reviews, and were told he no longer worked there. Huh.

The town of Gulfport, in which this inn is centrally located, is small and quaint and (thankfully) has many dining options, which we enjoyed during our stay. We took our spa business elsewhere.

Room Tip: Katmandu was a nicely laid out room with a quiet "split miini" a/c rather than the noiser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbrwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I visited The Historic Peninsula Inn for our anniversary. He arranged it all himself and was very happy with the help he received over the phone. Frank, the manger of the Inn was very attentive and accommodating. We were staying for only one night and my husband asked for suggestions for a restaurant in the area. Their restaurant, Six Tables, was not scheduled to be open on the night we were staying, but after Frank spoke to the owners, they were able to open it up for us. Talk about going out of their way! The owners, Alexandra and Jim, make you feel at home and are proud to share the history of their Inn. We had the privilege of viewing their personal photo album with pictures of the Inn before and after their renovation 10 years ago.

The inn itself has such old Florida charm. The area is a sleepy coast town with cute shops and plenty of restaurants. My favorite addition during their renovation was the antique style elevator with the accordion metal gate. The large porch wraps around the front and side of the building, and is a great place to have breakfast, or sit with a drink from the fully equipped bar. You can enjoy the Florida weather while listening to woodpeckers in the surrounding trees. The bedrooms are nicely sized and clean.

Their Six Tables restaurant is a fine dining experience! The dinner is six courses of delicious gourmet dishes, perfectly prepared by their chef. Alexandra herself was our server. She added information about our dishes and how they were prepared, along with small talk that added, but did not intrude on our dinner. Her wine suggestion made a perfect pairing with our many courses. We left with our taste buds and stomach fully satisfied.

We had a great time at the Historic Peninsula Inn. Alexandra, Jim and Frank made us feel at home and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Katmandu room is the only one with a King size bed and has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMeand3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in the Katmandu room. It was lovely with a king size bed and 2 large comfortable chairs for seating. The room and bathroom were very clean and nicely decorated. It is right in the center of all shops and restaurants in this charming little town.
The staff here is very friendly. A small continental breakfast is included and has the basics like, cereal, yogurt, bagels, english muffins and some fruit and juice. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Katmandu room and loved it. There are 3 floors and there is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.8 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
362 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,194 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Peninsula Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Peninsula Inn

Property: The Historic Peninsula Inn
Address: 2937 Beach Blvd S, Gulfport, FL 33707-5547
Location: United States > Florida > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Peninsula Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Inn, built in 1905 in the heart of the historic waterfront district of Gulfport, is one of the oldest hotels on the west coast of Florida. Featuring 12 unique guestrooms and suites, the Inn is also home to Isabelle's, the award winning restaurant specializing in Southern Cuisine with a modern twist. The Inn also has a full service bar and live entertainment on most nights. There is Free parking and Free WiFi and the Inn is a short walk from the Gulfport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Inn And Spa
Peninsula Hotel Gulfport
Peninsula Gulfport
Gulfport Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing