We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Snorkeling Cruise

Dolphin Snorkeling Cruise
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day trip to Egmont Key, off St. Petersburg, Florida. Watch dolphins jump and play in the surf behind our mono-hull boat. They jump, twist, & spin so close you can almost touch them! Our boat stays with you the entire 2 1/2 hour stay on the island. Explore this tropical island with its abundant wildlife and ruins of a Spanish-American War fort. Snorkel gear is provided for those wishing to snorkel the sunken ruins. Reservations recommended by calling.
Stephenson, Virginia
1 review
“Great Family experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a great time on our boat trip. The weather wasn't the most cooperative but it didn't affect our fun. Next time I think I would try the 9:00a.m. Trip in hopes to get better shells, but that was my choice to go in the afternoon. Captain Randy was funny and really did his best to ensure everyone enjoyed themselves. On the way back we hadn't seen any dolphins, so he went a different route and before we knew it the dolphins were right behind and next to our boat! It was amazing! Some others posted bad reviews about Captain Randy.....IGNORE THEM.... Thanks for a great time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lpadget1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    28
    17
    11
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience! Have been twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have taken the dolphin/snorkel cruise with Captain Randy twice and it was a great experience both times. We went in May and also in September. We took our kids when they were 10 and 12 and again at 12 and 14. The guys spotted dolphins for us and gave us tips about the island. Shelling was great! Snorkeling was great! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone!!!!!
Wende in Wichita, KS

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wende D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun boat ride, terrific island stroll, but the snorkeling wasn’t very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked this trip because it pretty much hit on everything we were looking to do excursion-wise: boating, dolphin watching, island wandering, and snorkeling and overall we had a great time. The crew was great at spotting dolphins and getting a good wake going for them to play in. It was really amazing to watch them sliding through the wave and then leaping through it. We picked up 5 different dolphin pods each with a handful of members and were even able to see a mom and her tiny baby.

We enjoyed the time on the key much more than we thought we would. The beaches and water were immaculate, there were hundreds of interesting shells to find and the forts were really interesting to explore. Additionally, we were able to see a few of the turtles who call the island home out and about, grazing on the undergrowth. They warn you that there are no facilities on the island and that truly is the case, there are a few buildings but they are closed to tourists. Part of the island is also a bird sanctuary so there are some bits that you can’t explore. I noticed in some of the reviews that people were complaining about this like it was the tour company’s fault. I don’t quite understand that but wanted to make a note in case someone out there was dead set on seeing it all!

Boating around the ruined fort was fun and interesting but the snorkeling was definitely the lowlight of the trip for us. The water was fairly cloudy so you couldn’t see more than a few feet in front of you and what you could see were mostly huge schools of tiny fish with the occasional slightly larger fish. It wasn’t clear enough to really make anything out distinctly. It’s a fairly popular spot so in addition to the folks on your tour you’ll also be competing with a goodly number of locals if you go on a weekend. It might work out better if you went during the week.

In spite of the snorkeling, we really enjoyed ourselves on the trip. The crew was great; having coolers of ice available for us to store our food / drinks in was fantastic. Before we booked we heard some horror stories from folks on other tours who were charged extra for the snorkeling gear or beverages, but here the price really did include everything.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanHanLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deceiving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

the crew was good was led to believe we where snorkeling at the egmont key Ruins and did not.totaly disappointed. ....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mdmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Manager at Dolphin Snorkeling Cruise, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are sorry that snorkeling was not an option on your trip. Snorkeling is determined by the tides and weather as stated in our brochures. We cannot put our passengers in jeopardy. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the island, it's wonderful white sand beaches, abundant wildlife, and historic lighthouse and fort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing dolphin show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

we had a wonderful time. our first trip to florida we picked up a flyer for this trip at our hotel. We are very glad we did. If you only do one thing on vacation do this,Its is soooo worth it. The crew was great , they told us just how to get the dolphins to put on a show . told us what to see on the island . a def. must do while in the area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Snorkeling Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Snorkeling Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing