We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Breeze Manor Inn
Nearby Hotels
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alden Suites(St. Pete Beach)
$189
Alden Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirata Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
$157
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
54
26
10
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
26
10
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboca ciega bayquaint little townplace to stayceiling fanbars and restaurantswalking distancecontinental breakfastmattresssuitekeywaterviewaccommodationsproscons
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 100 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We're sorry to give this bed and breakfast only 3 stars, we always hesitate to give less than glowing reviews, but honest evaluations are the whole point of these reviews, aren't they? We depend on others to do the same. As we travel frequently and usually stay at bed and breakfasts, we have much with which to compare. Yes, the Sea Breeze Manor was quiet, comfortable and, well, I guess OK. Here's what didn't meet our expectations:

We were asked ahead what time we expected to arrive and we arrived exactly when we said we would, at 4:00 p.m. Lori let us in, showed us to our room, and then hastily excused herself, saying she needed to get some dinner. We did not see her again until we returned from our own dinner around 7:00 p.m. or so. She walked out of a back room to see who had come in, I guess. I said "hello" and she promptly turned around without saying a word and walked back into the back. The most shocking thing about this behavior is that we happen to know that she is the President of the Gulfport Chamber of Commerce. Maybe she was having a bad day, but we couldn't understand this cold reception and couldn't help but feel like she just didn't like us.

As someone else mentioned, breakfast was a disappointment, too. "How would you like your eggs?" was about all the attention it was given. Most bed and breakfasts attempt something a litle more special than eggs and toast.

Our room was large and the bed comfortable, but the furnishings beginning to show wear. The plantation shutters were broken in places and would not shut all the way. From the website we expected a view of a garden, but there's little actual garden, more concrete patio and view of a cottage. We can't imagine someone would choose this for a wedding or party as suggested. Finally, about the room, my husband spilled a little champagne (which we brought with us) on the tile floor near the bed. When I wiped it up with a couple of Kleenex, the tissues came up absolutely black. Not a pleasant sight; not a clean floor.

Parking was easy and downtown Gulfport is walking distance from here. Yes, there are some shops, bars, and restaurants, but it looked a little sad and worn, too. I think both the bed and breakfast and the town are being oversold. We wish some other reviewers had pointed out some of these features before we stayed here. Our last comment is simple: For the area, the condition of the room, and the lackluster breakfast, we felt the price was not justified. Sorry, but this was our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AllReadyTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Breeze for only one night, but it was bliss! A place of great character, and such a nice change from the standard corporate offerings. We had contacted Lori in advance to check that she was happy to accommodate our 11 yo son, and she suggested the Aruba Suite on the ground floor looking out towards the sea. The room suited us perfectly, with a bed put up for our son in the lounge area and us in the bedroom proper. It was great having the separate loo as well as the bathroom too. We had everything we needed on hand, and the big communal lounge was a great space (no-one else was in the main house when we stayed so it felt like we had the whole thing to ourselves). Some really nice touches, like the complimentary beverages, port (good quality) and sherry. It was one of those places where nothing seemed too much trouble.

Gulfport was quite a revelation, a real community tucked away from the usual modern sprawl that is Florida. Restaurants etc all walkable, some nice quaint shops (though the woman at the post office was the most miserable person we met all trip). Breakfast next day was really nice, Lori seems happy to whizz up whatever anyone wants. It was great chatting to her. Wish we could have stayed longer - highly recommended for anyone who wants to experience the old Florida.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here on our 3-week-roundtrip through Florida for 3 nights (Aruba Suite). Our host Lori was very nice and helpful in everything. She made a great breakfast! Absolutely clean rooms are directely facing a street and the "beach" (a bit loud). Bed are good, nice bathroom and separate toilett. We thought that the price is too high for the area. Lori puts a lot of love in the furnishing of her apartments - typical American - for a three nights stay I missed space to "pack out" my suitcase. Parking is or in front of the house or behind (in the shadow!)

We started our daily trips from there which was great. Staying only in Gulfport - well, a bit boring maybe. We had the chance to see "Friday Art Walk" - but that was nothing for us. In the area worth to see: Dunedin, Safety Harbor and of course St. Petersburg with Pier, Dali Museum, go to a show in the Ruth Eckard hall - it is fun!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Sea Breeze Manor. The food was yummy and the rooms were very comfortable, clean and relaxing. We particularly liked sitting on the front porch and enjoying the sea breezes. Easy walking distance from restaurants and shops. We were there for a family event and took 4 of the 6 rooms. Lori was a very nice host and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Barbados room which is in the main house. Very nice. Other members of our group stayed in the Key West Guest cottage and the Jamaica guest cottage. These had separate entrances so you did not have to go into the main house to get to your room... a little more private.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Sea Breeze Manor is charming, both inside and out. Situated directed across the street from Boca Ciega Bay, it is located right in the heart of Gulfport...mere steps from the town's restaurants, shops and galleries.

We stayed in the Aruba suite and I couldn't believe how spacious it was! In addition to our bedroom, there was an adjacent sitting room featuring a wall of windows overlooking the water and a separate door leading to the outdoor covered porch. The suite also featured a half bath in addition to its full bath...which is a godsend for spouses of bathroom hogs like me. Everything was clean and beautiful and we received a very warm welcome from our hostess.

The only thing preventing me from giving five stars to this B&B was the breakfast, which I thought fell a bit short compared to other small inns of its ilk. It was basically on par with a Hampton Inn free breakfast. Nothing special...no fresh baked goods...and the bacon was almost certainly of the pre-cooked variety. I expected a little more.

Otherwise, everything was top-notch. Recommended...especially for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Aruba Suite has a half-bath in addition to its full bath.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpolly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews