We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Q”

Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Really Good Q”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Smokin' J's has great BBQ! Friendly and helpful staff, large portions and good sides. We'd been at the beach all week and wanted something other than seafood and just happened to find Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ. Located in an old house that still has the bathtub in the restroom there is inside and outside seating and plenty of off street parking. We had the Brisket dinner and the pulled pork sandwich along with mac & cheese along with the baked beans. J also has a large selection of beer and the usual soft drinks and ice tea. Well worth a visit if you're in the mood for some really good BBQ.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatbobOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    48
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mahlerific
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Huge Portions in a Tiny Place”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Smokin' J's has some of the best barbecue I've had. It's a great little gem in the greater St Pete area. One my wife's suggestion - she spent four years in Texas - we tried both the brisket and babyback ribs and weren't disappointed. Portions are ample and the meat is perfectly cooked. Unlike many chain restaurants, you only have two sauce options: hot and mild. Both are great. Get there a little early, as the line for food can stretch out the door. It might be a good idea to order takeout through the side window, as seating is extremely limited inside. We'll return when we're back in town!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mahlerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place is a gem. We were tired of eating fish/seafood and wanted something different. Some of the best barbecue we have ever had! They even helped us pack it to take home to Ohio for our family. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mambosauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Ribs Anywhere!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I'll admit, I'm a regular...but only because the ribs are the best I've eaten! Meaty, no fat and smoked to perfection. You may pass this place by thinking it's a 'hole in the wall' - it's in an old house in Gulfport - but stop in! The dining area is nice and clean, or, just order take-out through the side window. Staff is friendly and there is a discount for cash. Pulled pork sandwiches are two meals - and great sides!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
596 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Best BBQ since arriving in Florida”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

'Happened' on this place as we drove through Gulfport. Having lived in Texas, this LOOKED like the genuine article and we were not disappointed. We shared the Sampler platter which included two sides. With a beer, each, our total was just over $19.00 There was so much meat we took home a rib, enough brisket for a dinner salad, and a roll (rolls seem to be 'home made' ... haven't had THAT in a while)! Everything was tender with just enough sauce. Prices and quantities made up for ma and pa 'atmosphere' inside, it's how tasty and good that would have you stopping back in here again or getting take-out if you were going through this part of town. The fellows working in the kitchen (who offered to wipe our table when we sat in the small dining room) worked hard and spoke highly of this operation which also says a lot about a place. I wish this couple continued success.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing