We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews can be deceiving”

Little Bar Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Goodland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open Friday October 7 2016 for our 38th Season! Located right on the water in the quaint fishing village of Goodland, Florida on Marco Island. Little Bar, a local tradition for over 35 years, continues to serve consistently good seafood and steaks in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Varied menu. Fresh Seafood including Grouper, Soft Shell Crab, Steaks, and Prime Rib, luncheon and dinner specialties, as well as traditional waterfront fare, available daily. Open seven days at 11:30, dinner service begins at 5. Attitude Adjustment 3-6 in the full service bar. Eat indoors, on the screened lanai or in the casual, leafy surroundings of the waterside patios. The Best Live Entertainment.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reviews can be deceiving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Tonight we visited The Little Bar Restaurant, in Goodland, FL for dinner. Meals run in the 17-25 dollar range. We were greeted by a hostess and the wife asked for a harbor view table. We were lead to a minimal size table in the interior next to roof support stanchion. The hostess was reluctant to give us a table as requested. We were seated by a window with a view of the parking lot. The table setting contained paper napkins and paper place mats. Our meals came with small salads consisting of a small handful of spring mix salad greens on a flat saucer like plate and a small container of salad dressing. The dressings were good, but my wife had to request an additional dollop of dressing, where as I ate mine 1/2 dry. My wife ordered some kind of a shrimp dejoung, which she said was delicious. It was served in a small pasta baking dish with shrimp, garlic butter, breadcrumbs, and herbs. I ordered swordfish and a baked sweet potato. The swordfish was dry and absolutely flavorless and approximately 6 ounces in size. The sweet potato was well over cooked and mushy. No seasoning had been applied to the fish during the grilling process. When departing the hostess asked how it was. I told her it was flavorless and over cooked. She indicated that they do not season fish when cooked. The server was excellent and very attentive. No complaints at all with the server. Of course she just delivers what the chef prepares. The bill and tip came to about $60.00. I was amazed that in a town funded by tourist dollars that AMERICAN EXPRESS cards were not honored by this restaurant. Take plenty of cash if you eat here. My wife was happy with her meal, and I was grossly disappointed with mine. So it is a 50-50 odds if you go there that you might get a good meal. With those odds for a nice meal, I will not return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BUBBLEHEAD635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    294
    89
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food, incredible prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

this is a 'dive' on the outside but comfortable inside, great food, fresh seafood, good beer on tap (sierra Nevada), 'special bourbon' blantons being offered that evening, great homemade desserts.
we were not rushed out at all, even though we were late and the place had cleared out by the time we were finished. Service was terrific, whole evening was entertaining.
A local at our hotel told us about this place.
If you are in Marco Island you have got to eat here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian1667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleray2, Chief Cook and Bottle Washer at Little Bar Restaurant, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. You made my day...........and to every one with comments, good or bad, we appreciate your reviews and will continue to do our best and try to exceed your expectations. Starting with the best seafood delivered daily, is most important. served by our fresh staff. oops
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
163 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food, location reasonable prices, 6*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Go! Enjoy! Be surprised, especially for Marco Island. We returned to Naples for the winter & made this our first restaurant stop. My mahi-mahi was delicious. My wife had the seafood salad...wow! Fresh, tasty, and very reasonable for Marco Island (but in Goodland, call for directions if you are on Marco). Lunch on the patio is not to be missed. I had the key lime pie: light and tasty. My wife had the chocolate mousse cake...yes, take half home or share while there. Don't let the location or building appearance bother you....this is just a local place that will make your day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mich-weedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

From the outside it looks like a dive. Came highly recommended so the wife and I drove there while on vacation. Very unassuming from the outside. We entered and walked through the restaurant to the outside seating to a nice marina view. Loved the sandwich board menus. Food was excellent as well as the experience. Will definitely come back when in the area again.

Helpful?
Thank M_Smith17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and Great View!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had lunch at Little Bar this past Saturday. It was a great day to sit outside over the water and enjoy the view. Don't miss having the Seafood Salad Royale!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedfishGirl3115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Bar Restaurant also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Little Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing