We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not likely to go back”

Old Marco Lodge Crab House
Ranked #5 of 5 Restaurants in Goodland
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not likely to go back”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I wanted to like this place. It's off the beaten path in Goodland, it has a comfortable, "old shoe" sort of feel, and it's right on the water. But the service was average at best, and the food was really below par. There were three of us in the party--two of the entrees were bad enough that we just couldn't eat them--and no one could call us overly picky.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wj50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    88
    61
    25
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Beloit, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Such a great location...able to sit outside and watch the sunset.. The food, however, was a different story. The salad bar is mediocre. The blackened fish entree was over priced and not really edible. Even when I scraped the "blackened" concoction off the fish, it was still so salty that I left over half uneaten. I have ordered fish blackened in a variety of restaurants and never found it to taste like a half shaker of seasoned salt. My friend had a grilled seafood platter that was in excess of $30 that she described as excellent although the crabcake was mostly filler. The restaurant wasn't crowded, the service was good and I found the servers to be friendly. There was also live music while we ate. This place has great ambience but needs to work on the food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
1 review
“wonderful experiance. good food service and what a view”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

don't miss the the great food and view. not to mention the friendly service

  • Visited April 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgschnor826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Dreadful!”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Very poor service, the hostess seemed confused by the very simple task of providing two tables for our party. Despite the entire restaurant being completely empty, she insisted that we take a table that was blatantly too small for a party of thirteen. To add insult to injury they decided that we were unable to order a blooming onion, as they stopped serving them at 4pm - we arrived at ten past four, but couldn't make a small concession! We left before we ordered any food, basic tasks for a restauranteur had been completely failed. You would be better off travelling a little further to Marco Island where there are much better restaurants that aren't run by borderline despots with appalling permed hair!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheikh_mahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
1 review
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Ordered the coconut shrimp appetizer for $9.99. Got four shrimp.
$5.00 cup of vegetable crab soup was awful.
Salad bar was sad.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PebblesnBamBam2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Marco Lodge Crab House also viewed

Goodland, Marco Island
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Goodland, Marco Island
 

Been to Old Marco Lodge Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing