We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Golden Gate
Shy Wolf Sanctuary Education & Experience Center
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome experience!!!

My family and I had a wonderful experience. So many beautiful wolves and wolf dogs, we were able... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
653tonyal
Worth it!

I highly recommend a visit to Shy Wolf Sanctuary. I learned a great deal about these beautiful... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Relax580954
via mobile
Read all 208 reviews
  
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
196
8
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
196
8
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wolf dogs beautiful animals florida panther animal lovers love animals an amazing experience dedicated volunteers our tour guide once in a lifetime labor of love rescued animals educational experience their lives wonderful tour naples area two hours hour tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For people who love animals and enjoy seeing an animal sanctuary which is well managed and humane. The animals are not able to be released as they have been rescued or adopted from homes/facilities that could not care for them or have permanent disabilities. The visitor guide was knowledgeable and the care was apparent. Book way ahead - up to a year as groups are small and only 1 per day.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Nothgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is an amazing sanctuary. Please book far enough in advance so you do not miss out. It is a private and by appointment only. This is what makes it special. Only a few people get this opportunity. They do wonderful work for these precious animals.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 43jessicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

The Shy Wolf Sanctuary is one of the most impressive operations for animal rescue ever! Our very wonderful guide, Judy, told us story after story of how these beautiful (and large) wolves and wolf dogs were rescued and brought to Shy Wolf to live in safety and harmony. The passion and dedication of the many volunteers working during our visit was evident everywhere. Many animals make their home here, including a Florida panther. Judy took us into an enclosure with 2 wolves where we could interact with them--a priceless experience. It was wonderful news to hear that in the near future, Shy Wolf will have a new and much larger sanctuary, and we will support their efforts! It's all a private operations, so rescuing these beautiful animals has been a "labor of love" for the founders and volunteers. Congratulations to people like this who take courageous and heartfelt action to save so many animals!

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

My family and I absolutely loved Shy Wolf. The volunteers and staff are so dedicated and knowledgable about the animals. Getting to pet wolf dogs in their enclosure and a wolf through a fence was one of the most awesome things I've ever done. it does take a year to get in, so be mindful of that, but highly highly recommend it.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank 887hilaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Shy Wolf Sanctuary is in Golden Gate Estates and is one of the best educational tours in Naples. Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This week we saw rescued wolves, wolf dogs, a Florida panther, a New Guinea singing dog, foxes, raccoons, prairie dogs. It is wonderful to see these animals restored to health. We were able to pet two wolves and a prairie dog, but the best thing was learning about the histories of these animals and seeing their different personalities. The tours are two hours and limited to 12 people. You must make reservations months in advance, so go on line now!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank B1554WGdianet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews