We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northwest Grille

Northwest Grille
Ranked #20 of 566 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Ocala,Florida, U.s.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place with our friends who live nearby. The menu is extensive, with fish, seafood, meat, pasta, included, along with an extensive appetizer menu. The seafood chowder was excellent, loaded with fish and clams. My husband had the stuffed mushrooms, they were large, and yummy. For our entrees, I tried the drunken grouper, delicious and huge, my husband had shrimp and pasta, our friends had the fried catfish plate and mussels with pasta. All the choices were very tasty, with large portions. Our server was friendly and efficient. Would recommend this establishment to anyone seeking a great restaurant in Gainesville.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynneOcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    62
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Underrated gem in Gainesville.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

A local work colleague recommended this restaurant and told me it was an under appreciated and uncrowded place for a meal. He was right. I was greeted warmly and my waitress returned at appropriate times to make sure my drink was full and to make sure my meal was to my liking.

I ordered the local Florida grouper on the advice of my server Jess, and also on her recommendation I had it prepared lightly blackened. I had a glass of the house red wine which was a Beringer product and which was half price on the Wednesday evening that I visited.

The restaurant filled up as the evening progressed but there were always one or two tables open so I'd say my friend was right about it being uncrowded.

The food was excellent and the fish was prepared perfectly. My food also arrived within about 15 minutes of my placing my order. My only complaint would be the broccoli. It was a little overcooked but not extremely so.

I stayed and got some work done, and also had a dessert. It also arrived promptly and was terrific. My final total with tip was just under $35.

The next time I'm in the Gainesville area I'll very likely drop by the Northwest Grille once again, and I hope to get Jess for a server again as she really went out of her way to make me feel comfortable and her only guest.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank copperdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

13 of us went here for lunch, the menu was loaded with all kinds of good stuff. The food was delicious and the amount was not your average lunch amount, this was a diner and a darn good one at that. I had the fried oyster lunch and got 12 very large oysters that were so fresh and lightly breaded, a large bowl of cold slaw that was good and a lot of lightly fried french fries. Service was perfect too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drummerbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and Poor Food Quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Over the past years we have gone to this restaurant for dinner. Many years ago, under its original ownership, it was a place that we frequented. Once it was sold we continued to go there but stopped as the quality of the food worsened. Due to its location, close to our home, we decided to try it again and we were pleased with the meal. But unfortunately we went again this week and found the service to be terrible and the food was close to inedible. We have crossed it off our list. If you are going out to dinner in Gainesville, find somewhere else to go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jacruizen4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fish sandwich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great server and fast kitchen service. Food was good but not great. the restaurant and windows need cleaning. Prices are good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwest Grille also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Northwest Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing