We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Mellow Walking.......

The Morningside Nature Center is a wonderful property on which to take a hike. There are great... read more

Reviewed January 29, 2018
Rebecca C
,
Madison, Wisconsin
Fall Foliage and Beautiful Wildflowers

Enjoyed a pleasant walk around the park on a warm, sunny Sunday afternoon. Although the Nature... read more

Reviewed November 9, 2017
Maelgori
,
Gainesville, Florida
Read all 10 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Gainesville
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
4
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
4
5
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2018

We love Gainesville Parks but the signage for this one was pretty sparse. I'm not an experienced orienteerer so part of my problem is that when you look at the map, North is facing down. We wandered around trying to find a trailhead and eventually walked past the farmhouse and picked up a trail, but we would have appreciated a few signs saying "Boardwalk this way" or "Cedar Dome" that way. There wasn't a single staff person - or other car! - there on a Sunday afternoon.

It was a lovely walk, but mitigated by never being quite sure where we were!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank KDluvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018

The Morningside Nature Center is a wonderful property on which to take a hike. There are great trails in the park, and you have the opportunity to take a boardwalk across a swampy area. The birding is fantastic, and the trails were not at all crowded when we went. We didn't spend a lot of time in the nature center itself but it was staffed and the person was happy to answer questions, give directions, etc.

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

Enjoyed a pleasant walk around the park on a warm, sunny Sunday afternoon. Although the Nature Center was closed when we were there last, it is great when it is open. It duplicates an 1800s farmstead and offers tours. We just had a nice time at a safe and pretty place to walk.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Maelgori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Go on the days where they have the living history days, and get to sample free maple syrup. See characters dressed up as well.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank sewveryblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016

The fall flowers are just gorgeous and attract a great number and selection of butterflies. However, the nature center and education space appear fairly run down and aren't open on the weekends (the property is, just not the small nature center). But, if you want to see native flowers and butterflies, this may be the best place in the Gainesville area

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank bj2kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews