We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$112
$99
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$84
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn University(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$105
$98
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$93
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
162
122
93
37
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
122
93
37
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolfree shuttle serviceroom was cleanperfect locationwalking distancehotel is greatthird floorhotel is locatedfootball gamefront desk staffvisiting ufupon checkyogurtuniversitygramlobbystadium
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 443 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

During hurricane Irma I flew from Indiana to evacuate mamma from the risk of being in mobile home in Ocala. We landed here and was very pleased with how great the staff did during the tough times. We were safe .... Returned mamma home to Ocala and I flew back to Hoosier Land and all went well!!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Mike,

I'm happy to hear that you and your mom are safe. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for being our guests.

Regards,

Gene K
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

The HOLIDAY INN UNIVERSITY TEAM, led by their General Manager, MR. GENE KLIMOVSKY went above and beyond to take care of their guest, during Hurricane Irma.

Our first night as evacuees, all the guests were invited to a complimentary hot meal in the conference room. It was a clean and inviting atmosphere as the STAFF served us with warm smiles. That same night, the entire hotel lost power, a couple of times, before final and total darkness, due to Irma…The MAINTENANCE DEPARTMENT acted quickly each and every time, turning off the onset of alarms created by the power outages.

…The next day -- still without power, the STAFF MEMBERS knocked on every quest’s door announcing complimentary lunch will be served.

Later on that day, the hotel‘s power eventually returned except for the elevators were down. Small acts of kindness towards the quest were continued by the HOTEL SECURITY PERSONNEL opening the entrance door to the stairwell and offering additional help if needed.

The next two mornings, the hotel had a complimentary breakfast [normally $10] in the café. My family and I witnessed the CAFÉ STAFF taking guest well past closing time, making sure all the guests were fed. The food was made to order, on a limited menu, due to post-Irma. The presentation and quality of the food was superb!

The gracious HOUSEKEEPING STAFF on their daily rounds made sure our supplies were abundant. Clean towels, shampoo/conditioner, extra K-cups, and paper products you name it.

The hurricane preparedness at the HOLIDAY INN UNIVERSITY was exceptional and seamless, a real guest-centered experience during a catastrophic event.

MY HAT GOES OFF -- to the most EXEMPLARY HOTEL TEAM, in service [seen and unseen] to others.

There is no place our family would rather be!

THANK YOU. Sincerely.

Room Tip: Second floor--Breakfast cafe; Third floor--Pool deck & workout room
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear BobbiA,

Your feedback will be shared with our entire team during our next all-staff meeting. I personally would like to thank you for writing such detailed review and for describing your experience with passion. I'm very proud of our team members, many of whom had to move-in to the hotel with their families, in order to provide service to our guests. Noticing and praising our dedication is the ultimate price we can ask for. Thank you for being our guest. Please come back to see us again.

Sincerely,

Gene K
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We needed a place to stay on our way back to our home after we evacuated because of Irma! This hotel staff was extremely gracious and caring and even allowed our little Shih tzu to stay!! Couldn't be nicer!!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank emjohnson5110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear Emjohnson5110,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I'm happy to hear that our staff was "gracious and caring", and that we were able to accommodate your entire family.

Regards,

Gene K
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

This hotel was an absolute delight, with staff that are so eager to accommodate each request. This Holiday Inn was our home away from home while being without power during hurricane Irma. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was hot, and the 3rd floor pool was refreshing. I've worked in hospitality and customer service for 15+ years and can tell when you're in an establishment that is run properly due to the management. Thank you Holiday Inn for your accommodation and for making our stay memorable!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Ruffd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear DilleyE,

I'm very appreciative that you found time to share your feedback during this difficult time. It is great to hear that you considered us "home away from home". Thank you for being our guest.

Sincerely,

Gene K
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We fled to the hurricane Irma.
We found an excelent shelter ,were very nice with us;also they accepted us whit Our Pets in a very warm way; they made feel like home.
We will never forget that.
Thnks a lot
Sonia Molano.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank smolano48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Ms. Molano,

Thank you very much for finding time under these difficult circumstances to share your feedback. We were very fortunate that we had an opportunity to help so many people who were evacuating due to hurricane Irma. Please come back and see us again, but under different circumstances...

Regards,

Gene K
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews