We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location you can walk to the nightlife.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location you can walk to the nightlife.”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Housekeeping was in a hurry to get me out and if I left my room after they did my floor they were not coming back. I complained twice and on the second time the manager gave me a free night out of 7. The 5th floor rooms were redone and nice enough. If it wasn't for the location I doubt I'd stay there they are a` little pricey. The restaurant was ok but there are better ones if your into the college crowd. It is a very friendly town and I enjoyed the walk to dinner. I'll stay there again but the should give a better hospital rate. The price I really could stay at a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    82
    75
    35
    28
See reviews for
111
28
32
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Friendly staff and good rooms. Multi million dollar renovation could have been directed a little more to improving the condition of the bathrooms as it really loks antiquated. Good location but again it is Gainesville! The whole place is barely 5-10 miles! They have a friendly pick up service from the airport and to the hospital. May return if price I got on hotwire was more like $39 instead of the $54.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringfieldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for one night prior to surgery at UF/Shands hospital, then my mother and friend stayed for a full week after my surgery until I was released from the hospital. We chose the hotel mainly due to their shuttle service to the hospital, and their closeness to the hospital. They couldn't have been better hosts to all of us. I received a discount as a UF/Shands patient, and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. They provided dependable shuttle service with an extra personal touch. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the beds were VERY comfortable. Kudos to the staff for being so pleasant and accommodating!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank lkmowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Mid way to Sanibel from Atlanta stop. Last minute Hotwire on the fly. Lobby & front desk staff were great, over the top nice, even with most of my family wearing UGA clothes!!
Room was dated and Holiday Inn's attempt with nice pillows and bedding falls flat compared to Starwood's.
Price was right and a good night sleep was had.

The campus of UF was very pretty.

  • Liked — Front desk staff
  • Disliked — dated room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I wouldn't listen to the negative comments. My daughter and I stay every year for 4-5 nights and was never let down. Yes there was a time when they did not have their flag, but that was due to not having a restaurant in the hotel. The breakfast was complimentary and they had a decent selection. They offered hot biscuits, gravy and sausage as well as cold items. The staff is always friendly and they do thier utmost to help solve issues. We are going back the hotel this weekend and can't wait to see the new restaurant that is now opened.

  • Liked — The location and service
  • Disliked — Not one thing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank g8rfanFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Family of four stayed at this hotel. Not all that bad and dirty as other reviews may have you think. Staff was friendly and room was modest but clean. Would stay here again; very close to the University.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

This hotel was a disappointment to me. I booked it because they told me that they were the closest hotel to UF and I guess they are since the UF sign is across the street. However, when I booked my stay I asked about it being close to the O'Connell Center (the O-Dome). They told me it was like a 8 minute walk and about 5 blocks. I thought no problem. I got there about an hour or so before the game and took my things upstairs. I came back down and the girl at the front desk told me it was straight ahead on the left. Well it's about a 15 minute walk for an out of shape person and way more than 5 blocks. I wish I just would have driven. Anyway, after the game I came back to the room and it was one of the smallest bathroom's I've been in. The door almost hits the toilet. However the shower does have some pressure. I didn't have any internet problems so that may have been fixed. The pillows were ok and the bed was very firm. I don't think I would stay here again and not sure I could recommend it to anyone. It's just not worth the price.

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — Beds and price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sam4413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
431 reviews
3.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Property: Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Address: 1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing