We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 27, 2014

From the moment we checked in with Jason and Jakob, excellent customer service. Both guys were helpful and very pleasant. The lobby was bright and super clean. Lights in the bathrooms were dim. Beds were super comfortable and room spacious.
Had a problem with the A/C unit during the night but Ryan (Front Desk Supervisor) went above and beyond to make me feel like my opinion mattered.
Would change the packaged cakes for maybe 'croissants and muffins'. something a little healthier. All in all, a wonderful first time and will be returning in August.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and spacious on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 120ROSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Good afternoon and greetings from the beautiful Holiday Inn University Hotel! Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. We couldn't have asked for more as you summarized your visit as "outstanding" which is the end result we strive for on a daily basis. We truly pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding expectations, thus never taking anything for granted. It's an ongoing focus, moment by moment, and detail by detail. My entire team truly takes it to heart, including the wonderful gentlemen you mentioned - Ryan, Jason, and Jacob.

Also, thank you for the tip of providing healthier options on the breakfast such as croissants and muffins. We have a couple of hard core cyclists/fitness addicts, including myself, that truly appreciate when we receive health conscious suggestions/ideas from our guests. I will indeed share your feedback with them as well as the rest of my team.

Thank you again for your patronage and feedback. We look forward to your next visit and best wishes to you and yours for a wonderful and exciting Independence Day weekend!

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 392 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

The lobby was updated and lovely. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant. The room was small, the water in the shower could not be regulated, it went from hot to cold and back again. The room needed repairs, the lights were dim, and the bathroom desperately needs updating. The good part was the location, right across the street from campus. They had no suites, which would have been great for a large group.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacycaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Good afternoon from the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville. Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. The hotel is "right across from the campus, great for large groups" as mentioned, as well as our lobby recently modernized. We also have a very exciting new Italian themed restaurant coming on board soon.

Our team (staff) is helpful and pleasant, which sometimes can make all the difference in one's visit. A well maintained hotel is the result of ongoing focus and attention to detail, so we apologize that we missed the areas of opportunity you encountered. Indeed the property has been a pillar in the community for many years. Unfortunately the size of the bathrooms cannot be altered however, cleanliness and a well maintained environment will always be top priority. Sometimes it's simply a matter of personal preference and taste, so we don't expect to nor pretend to completely satisfy all. Thank you again for your feedback and patronage. All the very best to you and yours...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Man, been in many, many hotels with Holiday Inn. The Holiday Inn at Gainesville, Florida was of the utmost enjoyable stay of all Holiday Inn's I have been to. The Staff was exceptional and very courteous throughout my stay. They were always checking to see if everything was up to par and if I needed anything. Linda was my absolute favorite. She went out of her way to help me and my family in a time of need. Have a problem or question? Ask Linda. End of story.

Room Tip: See Linda if you need help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

"Awesome peeps" - definitely very hard to follow! Greetings from the beautiful Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville. Thank you so very much for your recent feedback regarding your visit, our team, and particularly Linda! She truly prides herself in meeting and exceeding the expectations of all our guests as do each one of my team members. Linda has recently assumed more of a leadership role and her evolution is very similar to the analogy of watching a beautiful flower blossom. I will share your feedback with Linda and the entire team as "awesome peeps" are truly what makes the difference in providing excellent service. Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again in the relatively near future...

Best regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay again at the Holiday Inn University Center!!! The entire front desk staff where helpful, accommodating and so pleasant. From the numerous phone calls we made to finalize our trip to the clean guest rooms our family group had for a graduation and the 3rd floor pool deck was a great way to keep cool and the kids occupied between family events. Thank you so much Joe, Ryan, Dana and all the housekeeping staff for making our trip so enjoyable!!! We are really looking forward to our next venture to Gainesville, especially for the new pizza restaurant that will be opening soon!!!

Room Tip: We personally enjoy the 3rd floor because of the gym and pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoleyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Good day! Thank you so very much for your recent visit and for your posting on Trip Advisor. Your feedback regarding our service and location are certainly appreciated and contribute to our efforts to continuously improve, meet, and exceed expectations. We look forward to hosting you again in the relatively near future. All the very best to you and yours...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn on 5 different occasions.

Pro's

1) Service: The service is great. Whether it is a early check-in/late checkout or even a ride to downtown or to the airport, they are happy to help.

2) Location: Their location is as advertised as it is basically on the campus of University of Florida. It is 10 minute walk to the football stadium and is literally across the street from UF's Business School.

Con

The hotel is a little on the older side. You can tell that they do a good job of keeping it maintained, but it could use a remodel.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool deck, so if you need a very quiet room ask for one on the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodie4life84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Good afternoon from the Holiday Inn University Hotel! We trust that you are having a wonderful Memorial Day weekend as our nation celebrates and pay tribute to our heroes.

Thank you so very much for your feedback acknowledging our "great service and location." Absolutely, the "hotel is a little on the older side" however, we truly appreciate your commentary regarding the high level of cleanliness and maintenance. A former leader of mine, many years ago, would comment that "it can be _ _ _ _ ugly but it can always be clean and well maintained!" We truly pride ourselves in delivering outstanding service on a daily basis, with an unwavering commitment to cleanliness and maintenance.

As you highlighted, the property is "basically on the campus of the University of Florida" and across the street from its world renowned business school. Not only do we house numerous leisure guests, we accommodate many professionals who visit or lecture at the school. Thank you so very much again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit and continuous patronage. All the very best...

Respectfully,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We traveled to Gainesville for our son's graduation two weeks ago. The hotel's rooms are definitely dated and the cleanliness of the room was disappointing this time but the staff was always friendly and helpful and the location simply cannot be beat!!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Good day and greetings from the team at the Holiday Inn University Hotel in Gainesville! Thank you so very much for your recent patronage as well as your very candid feedback. Indeed, it is a "perfect location with a very friendly staff" and many others concur with your comment that the "location simply cannot be beat!"

We take great pride in meeting and exceeding the expectations of all our guests, so we're disappointed that the cleanliness lacked a little on this visit. Please rest assured that my team and I will ensure that all details are addressed going forward. We hope that we have an opportunity to host you again in the relatively near future. Thank you again for your feedback and we wish all the very best to you and yours...

Warmest regards,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is walking distance from campus, bars and restaurants. Good service, quiet, clean rooms and helpful personnel . I have to say average because the water in our shower keeps changing from very cold to very hot in seconds, no constant temperature. Besides from that the this is a nice hotel. In have to check out in two hours, update coming soon..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChinoJouvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you so very much for your recent feedback. Indeed, the hotel is a very "good place to stay on a road trip!" We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding expectations of all our guests, whether just passing through, here for business or pleasure, or visiting for an extended period. Our guests have a plethora of reasons why they lodge with us and the most common feedback we hear is that our service and commitment to excellence are evident throughout at an exceptional value.

As you mentioned, we are within walking distance to the main campus, numerous restaurants and lounges, with easy access to major interstates. We do hope to accommodate you on your next road trip and commit to resolving that water temperature concern. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your "update coming soon..." All the very best...

Respectfully,

Odyssey Leach
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
2.4 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#10 of 47 in Gainesville
675 reviews
3.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $121 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing