We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 8, 2013

With 2 children at UF, my wife and I have stayed at this property often. I travel extensively with my work and have stayed at many fine properties across the US. The Holiday Inn Gainesville has the best customer service and friendliest staff of any hotel at which I have stayed (including many 4 and 5 star properties). My hat's off to the management at this property. You must be doing something right to have such a consistently friendly and attentive staff. The location is great (right across the street from UF), and the accommodations are a great value for the price. I would highly recommend this property, especially if you are in Gainesville for business or an event at the university.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank sgilbert38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback on the hotel. Thank you for your wonderful compliment regarding the staff. I do push guest service and see the value in pay off from guests such as yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back during your children's college years at UF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 419 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center during a recent visit to UF for an interview.

Pros: Overall the accommodations are clean and comfortable. My king bed had new-feeling, clean white linens and the room also had a large flat-screen television. All of the employees that I interacted with were friendly and helpful. The free shuttle service is very convenient - I used the shuttle to get to the hotel from the airport, to get to Shands Hospital in the morning, and to get back to the airport from Shands Hospital; you are encouraged to give advance notice of when you may need the shuttle in the morning. (I noticed that this shuttle service does not appear to be advertised on the hotel's website.) The hotel is located within very easy walking distance to a great local pizza place (right across the street), a Chipotle, and a number of other local eating establishments. I didn't check out the hotel's fitness room, but I did jog near the property and felt safe (and Gainesville is pretty flat, so it was easy jogging around the hotel and campus).

Cons: As other reviewers have noted, the hotel feels old and the walls of my room were thin - I could hear my next-door-neighbor's conversation word for word and I could also hear their television. Fortunately this was in the mid-evening, but by bedtime I didn't notice any noise.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duke_girl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer your feedback on the hotel. This surely helps new customers with making a decision to book a room as well as the hotel to assist with making every stay a positive experience. I will follow up with getting the shuttle service information on our website. Thank you for mentioning that. I see you mentioned the hotel feels old, I want to let you know each room has brand new carpet and we are completing 4 more floors of corridor carpet. We have new desk and lounge chairs coming as well as new curtain panels and valance. We are pleased that you would stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was really impressed by this hotel, much to my surprise. The staff was great, the shuttle from tha airport and to my appointment was very nice, the room was comfortable and spotless, and it was conveniently located. Had great Thai noodles just down the street. I would definitely return.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Vermontwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff, convenience shuttle service, clean room and location. On behalf of the staff we agree that the Thai Noodles are great. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff was great. They will answer an question, get you a menu from the resturant of your choice. They are really great people. They are working hard to keep up a really old facility. The room was cleaned every day. the lobby was sparkling.

I got locked out of my room becaues of a older door lock.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I believe the word Closed in your title is supposed to be Close? We appreciate your positive comments to our staff. Thank you. We apologize for your door lock concern and will address immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a very nice experience at this hotel - very convenient to historic downtown and there is a free shuttle service from the hotel, so i was able to not only have a nice dinner with a cocktail and glass of wine, I did not have to worry abour driving or parking. The staff was very friendly, and gave great advice on local restaurants and places for entertainment. Would recommend this particularly for folks traveling on business.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gafellowtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and wonderful comments. I will be sure to share with our staff. We are pleased that you had a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gainesville and the Holiday Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights here. Visited with
family from out of town and wanted a hotel close
to Shands Hospital with good restaurants close by.
One family member needed a room close to
an elevator. Our rooms were very nice and
comfortable. The staff was great. Beef O Brady's
is located next to the lobby. Pool is pretty but not
heated. This is a nice hotel for anybody wanting
to be close to the hospital or University of Florida.
(Shuttle to hospital if needed.) If you stay here,
you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sah38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to list your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The thing about the Holiday Inn in Gainesville is that the staff are so friendly and always trying to make your stay better. I felt like they were really sincere. We had a few little problems like the hair dryer was broken, but they took care of it immediately. They saw us coming and right away started making cookies for our kids. They just really seemed to care.

Now sure, the place is a little older, but it is well maintained. The carpets were clean. No bad smell. The pool looked really nice, but it was too cold to use while we were there. You could probably stay a little cheaper out on Archer Rd. and we all know the Hilton over by the museums is nicer, but the Holiday Inn has heart and it really is a great location. Only down side is that awful Beef O'Brady's that serves as the hotel restaurant. Go to Noodles and Bagles for breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrogSqueezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

WOW! Great Review! Thank you. I am so glad our Team efforts are showing. I apologize for Beef O' Brady's I will let their Management and Owners know. We look forward to welcoming you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
2.4 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#29 of 47 in Gainesville
1,437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $144 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel sits in the heart of Gainesville, allowing easy access to downtown Gainesville, Gainesville Regional Airport and sits directly across the street from The University of Florida and its athletic facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing