We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The staff was great but the hotel is closed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The staff was great but the hotel is closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff was great. They will answer an question, get you a menu from the resturant of your choice. They are really great people. They are working hard to keep up a really old facility. The room was cleaned every day. the lobby was sparkling.

I got locked out of my room becaues of a older door lock.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I believe the word Closed in your title is supposed to be Close? We appreciate your positive comments to our staff. Thank you. We apologize for your door lock concern and will address immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    59
    57
    32
    23
See reviews for
86
19
28
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a very nice experience at this hotel - very convenient to historic downtown and there is a free shuttle service from the hotel, so i was able to not only have a nice dinner with a cocktail and glass of wine, I did not have to worry abour driving or parking. The staff was very friendly, and gave great advice on local restaurants and places for entertainment. Would recommend this particularly for folks traveling on business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gafellowtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and wonderful comments. I will be sure to share with our staff. We are pleased that you had a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gainesville and the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights here. Visited with
family from out of town and wanted a hotel close
to Shands Hospital with good restaurants close by.
One family member needed a room close to
an elevator. Our rooms were very nice and
comfortable. The staff was great. Beef O Brady's
is located next to the lobby. Pool is pretty but not
heated. This is a nice hotel for anybody wanting
to be close to the hospital or University of Florida.
(Shuttle to hospital if needed.) If you stay here,
you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sah38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to list your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The thing about the Holiday Inn in Gainesville is that the staff are so friendly and always trying to make your stay better. I felt like they were really sincere. We had a few little problems like the hair dryer was broken, but they took care of it immediately. They saw us coming and right away started making cookies for our kids. They just really seemed to care.

Now sure, the place is a little older, but it is well maintained. The carpets were clean. No bad smell. The pool looked really nice, but it was too cold to use while we were there. You could probably stay a little cheaper out on Archer Rd. and we all know the Hilton over by the museums is nicer, but the Holiday Inn has heart and it really is a great location. Only down side is that awful Beef O'Brady's that serves as the hotel restaurant. Go to Noodles and Bagles for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogSqueezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
WOW! Great Review! Thank you. I am so glad our Team efforts are showing. I apologize for Beef O' Brady's I will let their Management and Owners know. We look forward to welcoming you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff was great. The hotel provided transportation to and from dinner and was very courteous and helpful. The location is great - close to the University and the airport. The big strike is that it's an old hotel. Wile it looks like it has had some recent work done, it still has older looking decor, small bathrooms (very small), low drop ceilings in the bathroom, cracked wall plaster, stains on the furniture, and an old musty smell in the room. They are doing pretty good with an old building, but there's only so much you can do. Wifi was a bit week and there aren't enough convenient electric outlets. The property was, at best, average.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. Location and Staff is definitely a strong strength for the property. Appreciate your recognition of our staff! We are working on continued renovations for the upcoming year. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homeless
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Holiday Inn has some great features and very professional and courteous staff. I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last couple of years and I don’t stay anywhere else when I go to Gainesville. Great location right next to UF and you can walk to a lot of places or they have shuttle service. There is guard to watch your car at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on the Hotel. We are pleased with your comments and are glad that we continue to showcase our Service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel with my parents multiple times. We've also patronized other hotels in the area, and this is the one we keep going back to. It's the only hotel in Gainesville that you can walk to campus from, which is AWESOME, especially on gameday! (Even though if you don't want to walk, the complimentary shuttle will take you anywhere you need to go, on campus and off!) The other best thing about this hotel is the staff. Top notch, always super helpful! I know the hotel is housed in an older building, but the employees know that and are always trying to work around any issues that they become aware of. Plus, they just recently replaced the carpets- one step at a time!

Room Tip: Let the front desk staff know of your preferences, and if the hotel isn't full, they've alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agator89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Awesome! We appreciate your positive feedback for the Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center. Yes, your tip was right on. If we know your preferences ahead of time we will do everything we can to accommodate your requests to the best of our ability. Service is our primary goal next to cleanliness. Again thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
2.4 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
0.6 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#26 of 43 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#17 of 43 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Property: Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Address: 1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing