We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Gainesville University
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Nsb FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2008

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. We almost just lost our money for the night and paid twice as much to stay some place else. The photos on the web sight are from very far away so it looks ok. This place is very very old. We slept in our clothes and didn't bring our stuff in. It was very scarry not just the hotel but the people hanging around the hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Liked — nothing to like about it
  • Disliked — the whole place was just gross
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christangel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    47
    54
    80
See reviews for
81
37
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2007

Dirty, nasty motel. Arrived late at night and unfamiliar with the area So I didn't know what I was getting into, relied on the DAys Inn name. Room had electrical hazard as A/C unit leaked profusely and it kept tripping the circuit breaker. Very noisy. Desk clerk very rude and hard to understand. Made numerous complaints to only get stared at with a smirk as if he did not understand English. Long hairs all over the room. Sheets did not fit the beds. They claimed that they did not have any other room at the rate they gave us available (we paid for three days in advance when we arrived, we were niave). Spoke to locals at a restuarant and they said the Police are always there, that they have a lot of problems with the people that run the hotel, bad business practices.PLEASE STAY AWAY!!!! I do not care how desperate you are!!!!! Complaining to corporate Days Inn is useless, they believe the word of the staff, however if the stayed at a motel like theirs they would be the first to complain!

  • Liked — There wasn't any
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogLoverOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Nice exterior. FILTHY room! The room smelled rank, the bedspreads were worn and had tears in them, something liquid and brown was up on the wall and had dried while dripping down the wall. The stem of the desk lamp was filthy with black grime as was the lightswitch plate by the door. I've never seen or smelled another hotel room this bad. Then there was the infestation of ENORMOUS cockroaches on the walls, under the bed, in the dressing area.... Do NOT check into this hotel!! We beat feet out of there fast. I only regret I didn't have my camera. CLEAN should be a basic service any lodger can expect! What is a hotel FOR if not fit to sleep in?? Oh, and when we returned to the front desk to say we wouldn't be staying because of the roaches and filth, the young man at Reception said, "I'm not personally responsible for cleaning the rooms." Huh??!!!

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — The Cockroaches, the torn bedspreads, the stains on the wall, the SMELL, the FILTH on the lamp and lightswitch...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boats&Planes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2006

I have stayed in some flea bag dives before, and this motel is right up there with them. Only you expect more with the name "Days Inn'" on the sign and the price you pay.

We got this place sight unseen on Travelocity for two nights. I guess we were pretty lucky considering it was Fall graduation weekend in Gainesville, but yet there had to be someplace better to stay than the Days Inn.

The online pictures must have been taken twenty years ago. The property is aging very badly. No renovations or upkeep apparent. In fact, many rooms appear to be abandoned and ramshackle. Location is dodgy in old, bad part of town. What appears to be a sewage canal runs by the front entrance. A homeless looking guy was hanging out in the lobby and on the stairs. When we checked in, hallways were NOT LIT, even though it was dark.

Staff was worthless. Room smelled and was dirty. The kids' socks got black quickly after walking on the dirty carpet. We were awoken at 3 AM by rambunctious neighbors. Some power outlets weren't working. Mattress was sunken in the middle.

Only plus was relatively close location to campus, although traffic in Gainesville was very bad.

It was an embarrasssment to have my mother-in-law and young daughter along. This was supposed to be a graduation celebration. We only celebrated getting out of that place. Our only consolation was that there were even worse looking motels nearby.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS. This motel is only good for a furtive frat/sorority rendevous or kegger.

  • Liked — Close to UF campus; free wireless internet
  • Disliked — Virtually everything
  • Tips/Secrets — The secret is to avoid this place like the plague
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 54bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Just got back from a stay at the Days Inn Gainsville University. We booked THREE rooms for family members. We were embarresed and all I wanted to do was leave. Musty smell, did not get roomed cleaned until I requested. Would not stay there again. Toliet seat broke. Days Inn should be the one that is Embarresed.

  • Liked — The staff were nice and tried to help.
  • Disliked — The fact that they did not clean the room and it was a dump
  • Tips/Secrets — Investigate and read reviews before booking I wish I did.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank steelhorse67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2006

The hotel is terrible. Stay away from here. The room had bugs and fleas. I got switch to another room but it smelled bad and again, had bugs. I would never stay here again. This is not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed here on our way to Disneyworld...it was not a pleasant experience! It was 96 degrees that day in Florida and very humid. Apparently, it is the policy of Days Inn to turn off the a/c (window unit) when room is vacant and not turn it on again until room is occupied. We arrived at 10pm and came into a very hot room. It took 3 hours to cool off. We called the front desk and they offered to move us to a different room, however, we would have the same problem in another room as all the a/c units were turned off. Room was very basic (think Motel 6), not a great neighborhood. Not happy with our experience here. Do your research...there are nicer hotels in Gainesville. Don't make the same mistake I did!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#28 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#27 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#24 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#25 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gainesville University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gainesville University

Property: Days Inn Gainesville University
Address: 1901 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-1530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Gainesville University 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to VA Hospital, Santa Fe Community College and Natural History MuseumFind value in northern Florida at Days Inn Gainesville University hotel. Conveniently located between Tallahassee and Tampa off Interstate 75, our Gainesville, Florida, hotel near the University of Florida puts you within minutes of abundant outdoor activity and popular attractions like Gainesville Raceway. For added convenience, request a microwave and refrigerator when you book a room at our pet-friendly Gainesville, Florida, hotel. Feel ready to go with free continental breakfast and catch up on the news with a free issue of USA Today. Catch some rays on the patio and swim in our inviting outdoor pool. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to chat or email from your room or our spacious lobby. Meeting space is available and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult.Find value in northern Florida at Days Inn Gainesville University hotel. Conveniently located between Tallahassee and Tampa off Interstate 75, our Gainesville, Florida, hotel near the University of Florida puts you within minutes of abundant outdoor activity and popular attractions like Gainesville Raceway. For added convenience, request a microwave and refrigerator when you book a room at our pet-friendly Gainesville, Florida, hotel. Feel ready to go with free continental breakfast and catch up on the news with a free issue of USA Today. Catch some rays on the patio and swim in our inviting outdoor pool. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to chat or email from your room or our spacious lobby. Meeting space is available and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSExplore beautiful rivers and lakes, cool natural springs and unspoiled wilderness in this exquisite sub-tropical region near our Gainesville, Florida, hotel. With the University of Florida just steps away, you can easily catch a Gators game or explore the Florida Museum of Natural History. Go deep into a miniature rainforest at Devils Millhopper State Geological Site or bike, hike and fish at Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park. Get in a dose of retail therapy at nearby Oaks Mall, where you can spend hours shopping at more than 160 specialty stores. Whether you want to lose yourself in tranquil natural beauty at 62-acre Kanapaha Botanical Gardens or feel the thrill of live drag car racing at Gainesville Raceway, there is plenty of exciting activity near our hotel in Gainesville, Florida.DINING OPTIONSFor great Pad Thai and savory curry flavors, Bahn Thai spices up a full range of beef, poultry, seafood and vegetarian dishes. If you are craving south-of-the-border fare, head to La Tienda or for innovative Latin fusion dishes, try Emiliano’s Café. Subway, Steak ‘N Shake and Domino’s Pizza are nearby.BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIESMeeting space is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Gainesville University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing