We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked out---horrible, disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Gainesville
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walked out---horrible, disgusting”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I've never before left a hotel after checking in. This horrible excuse for a place to stay was by far the worst I have EVER stepped foot into. The website pix are very misleading; this place is so miniscule. The receptionist was quite rude. After a long car journey, my 2 pre-teens were in desperate need of a restroom. This motel does not even have a restroom in the "lobby". My girls were dancing around, in obvious need, and even after I asked for the restroom, and was told they were only in the rooms, the employee was as slow as a snail and still unfriendly. There is NO elevator that I could see; we had to carry our luggage up the flight of stairs to our room. The hallway smelled horrible--musty, and the room smelled even worse! Like air-freshener-covered nastiness. My daughters and I could barely breathe. We turned on the a/c and went out for a bite to eat. Upon returning about 2 hours later, the room was cold, but the awful smell still made breathing difficult. I decided it was best for my kids to find a cleaner hotel and pay the extra money for cleanliness and comfort. There were stains on the walls, and the room just felt slimy. Although we were only there for about 3 hours (2 hours of which were out for dinner), I was still charged the full night's fee! Never again will I forego cleanliness to save a few bucks.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoftballMomofThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
She made a reservation on line for two nights arriving on 6/21/09. The Guest had a pet with her and she was told that she will not be able to take the pet in the room because she did not make the hotel aware of the pet she will be bringing with her and nor did she comment on the pet on her reservation booked online under comments. If she was to take the pet in Room XXX, she will have to pay a $75 cleaning fee that is a sign also posted online. If she wanted a pet room, she would have to move into Room XXX which is a room 3 doors down. The guest utilized the room and then hours later wanted to check out without a valid reason, but the fact she has an issue with our pet policy. We have designated wood floor rooms that accommodate guests with pets. This avoids the room absorbing pet odors and gives every client a nice fresh smelling room when they check in . She was not willing to understand why we were so particular about pets and why we have policies in place. We also did not have a pet room to change her into. Due to the fact she utilized the room and we were not able to rent the room again that evening because she did not cancel in time, she will have to pay for this room.

Regarding to her complaints, we have submitted a guest who has been at our hotel for 9 nights. They are in the same room as this guest who submitted this review and checked in July 1st and have no complains about room odor. Furthermore, I went to the room to check out the stains on the wall, and there were none found. The guest has been happy because he is still staying in the room.

We are also submitting a guest survey that is randomly sent to our guests to learn about ways we can improve our hotel. As you will see, The guest rates us a 10 and they stayed in the same room as this guest. She had became a repeat guests and has decided to use our hotel over and over because of our guest service. She said that rooms were great. The second and first floor have brand new bedding in the rooms. The entire hotel, including the hallways have new paint and new carpeting. They lobby has just been renovated and over a $200, 000 has been placed in remodeling. The hotel pictures online, do not justify the current appearance of the hotel. The hotel looks brand new compared to the hotel rooms you will find online. We will submit those pictures to you also.

If you see she has wrote another review for Homewood Suites and how she talks about she travels with a 52 pound pet. I am also faxing you the review she posted on trip advisor about our hotel and how she left. If you notice right under her review, there is another review of our hotel where another mom has given us an excellent rating and complimented how clean and friendly we were.

This mom was also given an option to change rooms and she declined. Our front clerk offered to take her bags up to the room and she also declined to that. She was on the second floor which is actually the first floor because our hotel has a first floor that is at sublevel (half in basement). Therefore there were a total of 7 steps.

The clerk did everything in their power to please her, but she was looking for a 5 star hotel where a bellhop and full amenities are available. OUr hotel is not an economy hotel that offers clean, updated, remodeled rooms at a valued price with a Super Start breakfast. We offer afternoon cookies and Great Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    190
    151
    74
    60
See reviews for
231
121
64
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2009

The gentleman that checked us in was nice. The room was clean, beds are smaller than I thought they would be for the 2 double bed rooms. If you are traveling with 4 people in the room I suggest to bring an air mattress for your child (my kids prefer air mattress's they think they are fun) if you like room on the bed. The beds seemed to be clean. Showers were clean and everything was clean and replenished. You can smell smoke in the hallway in the non-smoking area but not in the room. You can open the room window if you want to, that was nice since the weather was very nice outside. Make sure you get to breakfast early enough to get the extras that go with it such as syrup or if you want a bagel you have to make sure you get there way before it is over (early 9am) Good coffee. The lady at the front desk acted like she was annoyed that she was asked if she had more syrup for the waffles (which were pretty good by the way). and she didn't want to replenish the food and condiments when they ran out. We couldn't go in the pool since it was cold, but it looked clean, small but clean. Overall the hotel is nice and it is good for the price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrose4196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2009

My father was having surgery and we got a booklet of several of the area hotels that offer hospital rates. We didn't think we would be there very long, but unfortunately it turned into 2 weeks. Not only did they not raise my rates over the weekend - they actually lowered them because of the length of my stay. The hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays and they really seemed to care about all their guests. The had a great breakfast, a guest laundry, and a computer in the lobby. It was very quiet & clean. The staff was friendly.

  • Liked — the staff made us feel like we were welcome & was very clean
  • Disliked — would have liked a kitchenette
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjenclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Check in time at the hotel is 2 pm. We got there at 3:30 and was told our room was not ready yet. She said it would be about 20 minutes and she would call me when it was ready. I asked the girl at the front desk to please hurry because we had two small dogs with us who were ready to get out of the car, and we also had someplace to be. I waited 30 minutes and called the front desk to find out about the room. No one answered so we walked up to the room to see if it was ready. There was two people cleaning the room. I asked them when they were in the hallway if the room was almost ready, and they ignored me. I said excuse me and they ignored me again. I told my husband I guess they don't speak English. The woman then said " two minutes", so she knew what I was saying. When the rude people were finished we went in the room and were not very happy. Maybe we got a bad room like someone else mentioned but it was small and it stunk. I didn't even want to sit on the beds because everything felt dirty. We got cleaned up and headed out. About an hour later the front desk called to tell me the room was ready. Are you serious?!? I told her we were already in there. We went to the concert we were in town for then decided to check out that night and just drive back home. We have never done that before. We're pretty easy going people. But I would never stay here again. The only positive thing I can say about this place was the two people at the front desk were pretty polite.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tina03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga8torfan
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2008

I was familar with Gainesville because I went to Univ. of FL. I've stayed at the Super 8 Motel off Archer Road before, and I recently stayed there during a family reunion in July. The hotel really did a good job with their renovations. The place looked really good. The staff is friendly too. I will stay there again when I am in Gainesville.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank ga8torfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

This was a very nice place to stay in Gainesville. We went to Shands Medical Center and stayed there for 3 nights. Place was newly renovated, and staff is very friendly. If you are visiting Gainesville, this would be a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sakgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2007

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Super 8 Motel in Gainesville. We stoped by the hotel on our way to Miami. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice, and the rooms were pretty good as well. It is a much better value than the other hotels on the street. I would recommend the Super 8 Gainesville to someone looking for an affordable hotel while in Gainesville, FL.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dolfan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#13 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#24 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#27 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gainesville

Property: Super 8 Gainesville
Address: 4202 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Motel Gainesville is perfectly situated just minutes from downtown Gainesville. We are located off of I-75 ( Exit 384 /Archer Road Exit) nearby the University of Florida and Shands Hospital. Other Gainesville area attractions, businesses and points of interest near our motel include: Butterfly Rain Forest, Numerous Natural Springs, University of Florida, the VA hospital, Veterinary Hospital, Bear Archery Museum (1 mile away), Nationwide Insurance, Florida Museum of Natural History (3 miles away), Kanapaha Botanical Gardens (4 miles away), and Gainesville Raceway (12 miles away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Gainesville
Gainesville Super 8
Gainesville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing