We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Things Come In Small Packages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Gainesville
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a small property very conveniently located in Gainesville. We just stayed for one night to visit my son who attends the University. We arrived early and were told that check in was not until 2pm. We were offered the option of waiting in the lobby (which is very small and not really inviting) or come back later. We opted to come back later.

At 2 pm we arrived back at the property, the woman at the front desk asked the maintenance man to check and see if our room was ready. They were running late because they were short a housekeeper. Lo and behold we were told it would be about another 1/2 hour until we could check in - however, that estimate turned out to be incorrect and we only had to wait about ten minutes.

We were pleasantly suprised by the room. It was clean and very cool. The A/C unit was great. We had a small fridge and microwave. We were on the second floor (no elevator), but only had one bag each since it was just an overnight stay.

I have to say that it was quiet and we slept soundly. The only dirt we found in the room was long red hair on the wall of the bathtub. Everything else was fine.

Breakfast is the usual "free" breakfast with waffles, etc. Not an attractive eating area right in the lobby, but serviceable.

We will keep this place on our short list when we go back to Gainesville. You can tell that the staff really cares about what they do. It was hospitalilty at it's best.

Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor if you can't use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvermamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

We greatly appreciate that you enjoyed your stay as well as our hospitality. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 691 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had a non-smoking room, but there are many smoking rooms across the hall. So there is a pungent smell throughout the hallway AND in the non-smoking room. Overall, room fairly clean but outdated. CRT TV. Towels in bathroom were stained and dingy... very nasty. My room had a fridge and microwave, which was nice. Continental breakfast was adequate but barebones: coffee, juice, choice of 2 cereals, choice of 2 breads, pre-packaged cinnamon buns, waffles, and yogurt. The -price charged to me was $5 more than my non-refundable reservation made directly on super 8 website... no excuse for that. Wifi was spotty. No elevator, and they put us on 3rd floor. Ok for me, but for many it would be a challenge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pharish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

We're sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. In the future, be sure to ask our front desk staff if they could move you to a room on a level without smoking rooms, and they would be more than happy to do so. We are currently in the process of updating specific items in our hotel, such as the TVs. Feel free to come stay with us again. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Super 8 Gainesville
This hotel is situated among other mid level hotels (Hampton Inn, Stay Bridge Suites among others). This was just a quick stop on the way to Orlando for us on March 23, 2014. The parking lot, lobby and pool area appeared nice as we arrived. There was one sketchy looking fellow lurking around the entrance which made us wait a few minutes before we felt safe enough to enter the lobby. When we walked in, the first thing I noticed was the strong smell of smoke. We were assigned a no smoking room on the third floor. There is no elevator at this hotel so be prepared to carry all your luggage upstairs or request a first floor room. There are interior hallways, which always makes me feel a little safer. On the walk to our room we noticed that the smoke smell never went away. Our room looked clean. There was a large dorm refrigerator and new looking microwave and a safe in the corner by the window. The other furnishings look old and could stand to be replaced. There is a definite shortage of outlets in this room, so bring a power strip! One of the bed spreads had cigarette burns on it. There were no instructions on how to get connected to their wifi, and I was just too tired to call the desk to find out. Wifi instructions in the room would really be nice. Our room constantly smelled of smoke. After I walked out of the bathroom the smell just about knocked me down. I'm sure we probably smelled like smoke when we left there. The constant smell of smoke was very annoying and disappointing. As we walked down the hall I noticed that smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms were all mixed together up and down the hall, which probably accounted for the strong smell of smoke.
The continental breakfast was pretty good. They had a waffle station, some fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, muffins, etc.
The Super 8 Gainesville was convenient, clean, inexpensive and had a decent breakfast, but I doubt we would book it again due to the overwhelming smoke odor throughout the whole building.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Next time, (if you didn't before) talk to our front desk staff about your problem with the smoke smell, and they should be more than happy to move you to a floor far away from the smoking rooms. We greatly appreciate your feedback about the WIFI, we will make sure to clear up the confusion in the future. Thank you for your feedback. Feel free to come and stay with us again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel was good for the price but had a lot of overwhelming smells. The whole 3rd floor smelled of onions until we got into our room, which had been doused in cinnimon air freshener. My husband had bad lung problem and had me open the window and we had to leave for a few hours just so he wouldn't get sick.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veteran1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

We are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the smell in your room. Next time, be sure to notify the front desk, and they will be happy to move you to a room that is more suitable for you. Thank you for your feedback though. Please come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

There was no attendant to check us in so we had to wait. We reserved our room in advanced for the bottom floor. We the attendant finally showed up he tried to give us a room on the second floor. One of the first things you notice when you walk in is the smell. This motel smells of cigarettes, animal, musty and I don't know how else to describe it. The beds were so hard that we both would wake up with back aches. The televisions are outdated. The continental breakfast was average but a wait for anyone that wanted to make waffles. I will not revisit this hotel since there are other hotels in Gainesville that are nicer and competitive in value.

Room Tip: If you don't mind driving an extra 10 minutes, the Paramount Plaza Hotel is worth the extra time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maximusnreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

We are dissapointed to hear your bad review. We are apologetic for any inconveniences that you had during your stay. Our staff will be informed that any future mishaps will not be tolerated. Please come and see us again. We will do everything in our power to accommodate you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel is pretty standard for a Super 8, but the service is fantastic. We checked out at the appointed time (11 am) in the middle of a rainstorm and were offered an extra hour in our room to wait it out. There is no covered spot to load your luggage, so this was very helpful in keeping our belongings dry. That sort of personal service really stands out for me, as I am in hotels about 100 nights a year and have never had that offered. Will stay here again because of it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sportsroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

We are pleased to hear your positive review. We make sure that we do everything in our power to accommodate our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 47 in Gainesville
583 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#26 of 47 in Gainesville
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#32 of 47 in Gainesville
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#30 of 47 in Gainesville
145 reviews
1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gainesville

Address: 4202 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: $60 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Motel Gainesville is perfectly situated just minutes from downtown Gainesville. We are located off of I-75 ( Exit 384 /Archer Road Exit) nearby the University of Florida and Shands Hospital. Other Gainesville area attractions, businesses and points of interest near our motel include: Butterfly Rain Forest, Numerous Natural Springs, University of Florida, the VA hospital, Veterinary Hospital, Bear Archery Museum (1 mile away), Nationwide Insurance, Florida Museum of Natural History (3 miles away), Kanapaha Botanical Gardens (4 miles away), and Gainesville Raceway (12 miles away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Gainesville
Gainesville Super 8
Gainesville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing