We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy at the Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Gainesville
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is your standard Super 8....relatively good value, clean and ...well...standard. It has a good location to some great steak houses down the road.
However, if you are a light sleeper do NOT get rooms at the back of the motel as it's facing the
I -75 and its off-ramp. There is constant truck and traffic noise all night long. Even with earplugs this was the most unpleasant night I have had seven years of staying at Super 8s all over the USA.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

We are sorry you didn't full enjoy your stay with us. We do everything we can to accomodate all our guests. Next time please call us directly with your requests and we will do our best to make your stay much more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 698 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank frohn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Niranjan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just have to wonder why you put smoking and non smoking rooms across from one another? Why do you automatically add a fee without disclosing it for a in room safe? Overall location is good and clean enough other than the smoke smell in the halls

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

We are glad to see that overall your stay was enjoyable. All hotel charges are noted on the registration card that is signed at check in. We do our best to accomodate each guests needs and requests. We hope to see you next time you visit Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good Super 8, absolutely nothing fancy, but it is a good value even if a bit hard to find.

This motel is clean, smells good, the rooms are reasonably well maintained. The breakfast was very good, including hot waffles. The staff is very friendly. The pool is an outside one and even though it is filled in the winter and the pump was running, it is obviously not used this time of year, Internet service is strong.

Most of the time when people write reviews for motel or hotel, they only do it when they have a bad experience. I am writing reviews of every motel I stay in to give as unbiased of a review that I can.

The motel reviewed here is a low-priced budget, and it is unrealistic to expect it to be on-par with higher end motels, so comparing it to a higher end 2 and 3 star chain hotels is not fair... I am comparing it against its peers.

Stayed December 2012 traveled as a couple

Room Tip: Ask for first floor, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennethRMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

We are happy to see you liked our hotel. Our staff does the best they can at making each guests stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay in Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Everything was very nice and the stay was uneventful. Front desk personnel pleasant, outside and interior nice and room had no issues. Easy to get to from the highway and in a fairly convenient location.

No regrets here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

We are so happy to see you enjoyed our hotel. We strive to accomodate each guests needs as best we can. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 47 in Gainesville
587 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#30 of 47 in Gainesville
145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#25 of 47 in Gainesville
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#32 of 47 in Gainesville
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gainesville

Address: 4202 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: $64 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Motel Gainesville is perfectly situated just minutes from downtown Gainesville. We are located off of I-75 ( Exit 384 /Archer Road Exit) nearby the University of Florida and Shands Hospital. Other Gainesville area attractions, businesses and points of interest near our motel include: Butterfly Rain Forest, Numerous Natural Springs, University of Florida, the VA hospital, Veterinary Hospital, Bear Archery Museum (1 mile away), Nationwide Insurance, Florida Museum of Natural History (3 miles away), Kanapaha Botanical Gardens (4 miles away), and Gainesville Raceway (12 miles away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Gainesville
Gainesville Super Eight
Gainesville Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing