We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I smell smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Gainesville
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I smell smoke”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I know it was only a super 8 so what can I expect......right ? The hotel is located just off the highway (very convenient) and is close to a Miriad of restaurants. You can find ANYTHING you could want to eat and be back at your hotel in ten minutes. The lobby is tiny and the front desk was basically in the breakfast area. The woman at the desk was very nice but needs a vacation desperately. She seemed to ALWAYS be there. I got my room on the third floor and carried my things up the 3 flights to my room (no elevator). The first thing I noticed, because I had no choice was the overwhelming stench of stale cigarette smoke. The hotel is layed out with smoking and non smoking rooms next to each other (why would you do that ? The room was clean, but there was a problem the toilet did not work. Back down three flights. I told the front desk that I was going to need a new room. As it turned out the handyman was right there and went up and fixed the toilet. The pool looked clean and well maintained. My biggest pet peave is no wake up call or even worse......leaving a wake up call and NEVER GETTING IT !!! The last day I was there I left a 6:30 am wake up call and fortunately woke on my own at 6:00 am because the call never came.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Im glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I will speak with the staff in regards to your concerns. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    192
    154
    75
    61
See reviews for
235
122
65
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Clean-clean- clean. Those were the first words my wife said upon entering our room. That makes my stay enjoyable. Sure you can hear the elephant upstairs and the ice machine outside the door but for a quick one night stay the price & place was right.Friendly staff & good coffee in the AM.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Manager at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time please book your reservation through the hotel directly so we can be sure to accomodate any requests you have. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here for the night. Staff was courteous. NO ELEVATOR!!!! Had to climb 3 flights of stairs with luggage! The room's a/c had not been turned on; so room was very stuffy and hot. Room had odor. 15 year old son said that the TV was "19th century" and needed to be updated. Hotel was ok for the money and an ok place to stay for the night. Very convenient to I75.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st floor unless you can climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Its always nice to hear that you were welcomed pleasantly and your enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to get feedback from our guest. See you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The staff, room, and breakfast were all fine. But there were some noisy kids (female athletes) who ran and screamed in the 3rd floor hall for over two hours Friday night, and again Saturday night. They had no supervision (no adult chaperones), and no staff intervened. I did not complain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I am sorry that you experienced that from another guests. We try our best to get the guests to be respectful of others but sometimes it can be challenging. We will work on trying a better process to work with disorderly guests to ensure you do not experience that on your next stay. Thanks for the feedback, and come back and see us to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 44 in Gainesville
560 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#26 of 44 in Gainesville
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
1.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
4.1 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#24 of 44 in Gainesville
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gainesville

Property: Super 8 Gainesville
Address: 4202 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Motel Gainesville is perfectly situated just minutes from downtown Gainesville. We are located off of I-75 ( Exit 384 /Archer Road Exit) nearby the University of Florida and Shands Hospital. Other Gainesville area attractions, businesses and points of interest near our motel include: Butterfly Rain Forest, Numerous Natural Springs, University of Florida, the VA hospital, Veterinary Hospital, Bear Archery Museum (1 mile away), Nationwide Insurance, Florida Museum of Natural History (3 miles away), Kanapaha Botanical Gardens (4 miles away), and Gainesville Raceway (12 miles away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Gainesville
Gainesville Super 8
Gainesville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing