We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Gainesville
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Lake City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

hardly any channels on TV; the "superstart" breakfast only consisted of cold cereal, bagels by toaster, and do it yourself waffle maker--only hot item was the waffle. yes, there was one computer available in lobby for all customers

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Thank You for letting us know about your hotel stay. We understand you were unhappy with the breakfast. I assure you that we are working on a better plan for the breakfast. The price of the room during that time were high due to a special event. Please call me in advance and I hope we can work out a rate that would work for you. Please ask for Tejal and let me see what I can do. Hope that your next stay is better and you enjoy your stay. I would love to talk to you about our future changes..please call anytime. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    184
    148
    72
    57
See reviews for
226
115
62
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cocoa, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

This motel was extremely clean and the service we received was exceptional. This motel goes above and beyond to make you feel at home. Also, the pool was very nice. We will make reservations here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We work very hard in trying to make our guests happy. Your review helps us know what we are doing right. Come back and see us. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was my first stay in Gainesville after many years and once I stepped into the hotel I could see it was the right hotel at the right price to stay with. After driving from Northern GA I needed a good nights sleep and that is exactly what I got.

The room was clean, quiet and had a much needed nights rest. I will return to this Super 8 the next time in Gainesville.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkbait07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
So happy to hear that you recommend us to others. My team works very hard to make our guest stay pleasant. Its always nice to hear that someone had a good stay! Thanks for letting us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed for one night, on our way from Louisiana to Orlando - a stop along the way to rest before a long drive. We had a very open mind, considering what we paid for the room, but maybe our expectations were too high after reading so many great reviews...

The pros:
The breakfast was really quite nice. There was a do-it-yourself waffle iron, with a machine that dispensed batter, and a timer to let you know when the waffle was done.

The cons:
The phone didn't work, so the man at the front desk replaced it with another one, which didn't work. No big deal, we had our cell phones, but couldn't place a wake-up call as a back-up plan. The smell of mold in the room was very strong. There was a silverfish in the shower. The AC was hard to regulate, and we froze all night, so didn't really sleep well.

If you're looking for an inexpensive room, this is what you'll get. I would suggest spending a little more money if you'd like a better night's sleep and a nicer environment.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewOrleansSusan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. We thank you for your response and have diligently worked on the issues you have notified us about.

This is what we have done to resolve the issues:
We called Middletown Pest Control/Massey's to treat the silverfish.
We have ordered new in room phones to resolve the problems. The employees have been coached about resolving guest issues with follow up to make sure the problem is resolved.
Regarding the musty odor, we have treated the rooms with a special enzyme solution that dimisheshes the source of the odor, rather than just a cover up.

We take pride in our service and product. We at Super 8, were disappointed to know that you were less than satisfied with your stay. Please contact us directly for an atonement option on your next stay with your previous confirmation number from your November 2010 stay.

We hope you give us a second chance and we can show you the improvements we have made.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

This is the absolute worse place to stay in Gaineville. 1) Unfortunately we had a 1 floor unit. Upon entering our room we were comfronted with a nasty MOLD smell which was attempted to be covered up by anemonia. Absolutely toxic. The hotel and every hotel around the property was booked so we were stuck in this room for the weekend - thank goodness we did not spend any time here except to sleep. 2) When our group checked out and we got our bills they were all different. The rate online was significantly higher than the rates of the individuals that called the hotel directly. IF YOU STAY HERE ALL THE HOTEL DIRECTLY FOR THE CHEAPEST RATE!!! Super 8 corporate will not adjust your bill to ge the lowest rate. For this reason I will never stay at a Wyndam Hotel Property ever again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8gainesville, Owner at Super 8 Gainesville, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
I am sorry that you had such a negative experience. Thank you for notifying us about the issues you had in the room. We have taken immediate action to research to fix the problems that we may have. We take customer service very seriously and take pride in knowing we offer a good product.

I see how you could have been fustrated about your rate issues. At the time of your booking, you agreed to a certain room type at a set rate that could not be changed. Other rooms booked, does not reflect your rate unless you had a group booking at a contracted price. All rates are based on room type and availability. We hope you were happy with the rate that you agreed upon when you booked your reservation and the room type you chose.

Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We travel to Gainesville regularly but this was our first time at the Super 8. We found the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the grounds well maintained. The AC was great and was the type that didn't cycle on and off so no waking up thoughout the night. Rooms were equipped with Microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, iron and ironing board. Not a luxury hotel but a great value for the price and one that we'll come back to. PS Despite other complaints about the breakfast, we found it hit the spot and for the money saved we can buy our own fruit!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChispaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We went to Gainesville for the purpose of finding an apartment for my graduate student son to live in, so this was our "home away from home" for a while. Everything was very clean in our room, and we never smelled any smoke or heard noises from other rooms. The air system was new-ish and was the kind that stayed on constantly (rather than come on, turn off, come on, turn off), so we had uninterrupted sleep. It also cooled the room VERY quickly, which was a relief!

Most of the staff we interacted with was very friendly and helpful, both before our stay and during our stay. There was one young guy who was a real jerk when we checked in late at night who could NOT take his eyes off the lobby TV long enough to present himself as a person with a brain, but otherwise we were pleased with the staff.

Water pressure with the showers was great.

Loved the fact that we had a micro and refrig in our room.

One thing we didn't complain about that maybe we should have: one night, 2 large trucks parked sideways in the parking lot, under the lights. This caused US to park in the dark, and our car was completely full of my son's stuff for him to move to Gainesville. Management was probably not aware of it, as the lobby has NO view into the parking lots at all.

Breakfast was disappointing (but not unexpected) for me, as I cannot eat wheat. I had to completely provide for myself there--no fruit, no orange juice.

This motel was situated right off I-75, and was immediately across from tons of shopping, restaurants, groceries, etc. It was a perfect location for us. We will stay here when we go to visit our son!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GayeofPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
1.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#12 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#26 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Gainesville - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gainesville

Property: Super 8 Gainesville
Address: 4202 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Motel Gainesville is perfectly situated just minutes from downtown Gainesville. We are located off of I-75 ( Exit 384 /Archer Road Exit) nearby the University of Florida and Shands Hospital. Other Gainesville area attractions, businesses and points of interest near our motel include: Butterfly Rain Forest, Numerous Natural Springs, University of Florida, the VA hospital, Veterinary Hospital, Bear Archery Museum (1 mile away), Nationwide Insurance, Florida Museum of Natural History (3 miles away), Kanapaha Botanical Gardens (4 miles away), and Gainesville Raceway (12 miles away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Gainesville
Gainesville Super 8
Gainesville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing