We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - by TripAdvisor reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Gainesville
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed - by TripAdvisor reviews!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I won't make this terribly long, but I had to report on my stay here back on 11/27/2013. I was looking for a relatively cheap hotel in Gainesville as a stopover on a drive from Atlanta to Miami. La Quinta has been a pretty good chain hotel for me and the reviews on this hotel looked pretty good so I booked it. But alas, our stay did not bear out those decent reviews. My first inkling was when I pulled in and they told me how to drive around to get to the room. I asked if I could just go through the lobby. Nope - outside access.

Ok, I've stayed at a La Quinta with outside access before and it wasn't SO bad. But when I walked into the room (209) I was immediately hit with a powerful odor of mold. I'm pretty convinced it was from the carpet which badly needs replacing. That smell was just awful. To their credit, OTHER than that, the room was quite clean - none of the "bugs, hair in the bathroom" complaints. The housekeepers obviously did the best with what they had to work with.

Next problem - well, you've probably heard about the proverbial paper-thin walls. I don't think the problem was with the walls here though - it was with the window/door. On a couple occasions during the night and early morning people would walk by talking. Not loud, just at normal level. It sounded like they were right beside my bed! I swear I could have whispered back to them and they'd have heard me!

I don't THINK I'm being hypersensitive, but it was just weird how clearly they were heard! Of course they woke me and my wife.

In my opinion, this hotel was not only NOT better than any Super 8 - type motel, it was worse for more $. It has not only damaged my opinion of La Quinta, but really it's damaged my opinion of the reviews here. I never thought this was some 4 star hotel, but really it's far below any La Quinta I've ever stayed at.

However, to be fair this was one person's experience in one room. In a room without that moldy smell, and perhaps where there simply weren't any people talking just outside my room, I'd not have had nearly the negative opinion that this one night caused. Still, my reviews are just that - MY experience, and I won't be staying here again. There's far too many alternatives to risk it again.

Room Tip: I would assume up higher would help with the sound issue. But all I can really say is - don't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BlueDragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    213
    117
    72
    62
See reviews for
290
131
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

After a rough start, given a top floor room did it.
Clean, nice staff, good place for pets.
There is a small pond/grassy area, across the street where you can walk your best friend.
Good size swimming pool, bring your suit.

Location is great, close to 175, hidden behind a road across from the Main Oak Mall and Perkins. A challenge to walk due to traffic but possible.

There's a fancy chinese restaurant across the street, many more down the main drag, very close.

Just know that during Univ of Florida Game day, it will get jammed nearby. However, you have options to go around, keep your GPS handy and you will be ok.

Room Tip: Choose top floor, refrig is extra$10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I liked this motel.We were smokers, and place was clean and nice,but being on top floor is a pain.Kept getting lost.Beds were clean and comfortable,nice TV.Bathroom was clean.Clerks were friendly.Parking had good access.Nice pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grevisangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

After reading the reviews, I was a little hesitant on what to expect from La Quinta. This hotel went above my expectations.
First, the staff is exceptional - they were amazing with the information they gave us, to the welcome we received at 1.30am, to the extra towels that were left in a bag at our door - thank you!
Second, the bed - we had a King beg in room 239 - it was very very comfortable - slept amazing.
Yes, the hotel rooms can use a little update - but I am not staying at the Ritz either. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was amazing.
This hotel is pet friendly, so that is a plus to pet owners. There was a slight smell when we walked into the room - but this smell is something I found all over Gainesville - I don't know how to explain it. But the smell went away when we turned on the AC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushkanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've stayed here before and it must have been OK, because nothing negative comes to mind...

However...what service I received from the lady who answered the phone...Jennifer sold me on the property when we were on the phone and a guest came to the desk and asked me to hold...How professional was that?

I mean who among us have been at the desk to check in/out and the phone rings and we end up ignored for the next 10 minutes? Here actual guests get priority over phone calls...

Even though 1 exit north of Archer, the VA rate was less than the Red Roof, and I get Delta Miles as well!

I.m really looking forward to meeting Jennifer and her crew and after a traumatic VA visit having a relaxing evening at the LaQuinta...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
431 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 44 in Gainesville
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
3.0 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Gainesville

Property: La Quinta Inn Gainesville
Address: 920 NW 69th Ter, Gainesville, FL 32605-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Gainesville hotel is near the University of Florida, North Florida Regional Medical Center, Shands Hospital and the Oaks Mall. Our Gainesville hotel is next to Red Lobster with easy access from I-75 (exit 387). Our La Quinta Inn is just minutes from the O'Connell Center and the Phillips Center for Performing Arts at the University of Florida, and close to all major attractions. From our Gainesville hotel, visit the Butterfly Rainforest at the Museum of Natural History, the Harn Museum of Art, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens. You will enjoy the spacious and comfortable rooms at the La Quinta Inn Gainesville, equipped with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Breath easy by staying in one of our non-smoking king rooms. Enjoy a Free Bright Side Breakfast? prepared every morning in the lobby by our friendly hotel staff. For the business traveler, our hotel offers high-speed Internet access. Watch a college game at the University of Florida or have an evening of entertainment at the Hippodrome State Theatre, the Gainesville Community Play House or Coconut Comedy Club. Discover Payne's Prairie State Preserve or spend the day on the water at Ginnie Springs. Golf nearby Ironwood and Meadowbrook courses. We are surrounded by great shopping opportunities at Oaks Mall and plenty of restaurants for every taste. Relax after a day of working hard or playing hard in our heated swimming pool sits in a private courtyard surrounded by a sprawling sundeck. Blow off steam, as our guest, in a local fitness center. Unwind with your favorite movie on our Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD and premium cable channels. Easy-access plug-and-play TV feature makes it simple to connect your electronics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing