We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Place to Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Gainesville
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK Place to Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is an older La Quinta that served our purpose -- a place to stay for a night while on a road trip. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was OK, but not as many selections as other La Quintas, and no USA Today.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPCRBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    178
    101
    63
    51
See reviews for
243
109
42
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the location. I helped my son move into an apt nearby and this was the perfect location. I usually stay at the Comfort Inn on 13th Street. However, I had stayed at La Quintat before so I didn't mind staying here again. The price was right (about $70) and there were rooms available. If you plan to visit someone at UF on a busy weekend then you will want to book your hotel 2-3 months in advance. The breakfast was good the next day but the hotel was full so there weren't a lot of places to sit. Be prepared to grab what you want and then go back to your room. I did not like that I was on the 4th floor and on the opposide side of the only elevator in the building I was staying. I plan on staying at this hotel again and have made reservations to do so for Family Weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the elevator which is on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

How can you start with a total wreck. Let's just say housekeeping needs to be improved. Maybe the staff is overworked or understaffed. Lots of mold in the bathroom along with numerous hairs of different sizes and colors. Unidentified material on the rug in the corners of the room. Undersized sheets with balled up mattress pad partially under the sheet and hanging over the side. Now the small stuff, tv goes out completely if the weather is bad anywhere in Gainesville. The WiFi needs to be rebooted almost every half hour, luckily you can do the from your room and good luck finding a seat at breakfast. I have stayed at a few La Quinta's with nice rooms but this one needs to change their name.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlyBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

melbourne,fl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were just up in Gainesville to help move our college daughter into her apartment. We have not stayed at a LaQuinta inn before and certainly do not plan to in the future after this stay. After getting to our room, we actually questioned even spending the night there, but it was after 11pm. and we just had no other choice. The room was very old and dirty looking. Sheets on the beds were stained, and we were just hoping that they had indeed been cleaned and changed. Shower tiles were stained, moldy and cracked. The carpet was dirty. Bathroom towels were as thin as a cheap washcloth. The bathroom door did not shut. The door inside the room did not lock and the hotel has exterior facing corridors. On the only positive note, at least the bed was comfortable, and when we woke up we could leave! While in Gainesville, I would definitely book only a Hilton brand or B&B in the future, as we have never had a problem with these. Should this option not be available, we would not make the trip! I absolutely do not recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think I am safe in assuming there are no good rooms at this place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ga2rgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Gainesville

Property: La Quinta Inn Gainesville
Address: 920 NW 69th Ter, Gainesville, FL 32605-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Gainesville hotel is near the University of Florida, North Florida Regional Medical Center, Shands Hospital and the Oaks Mall. Our Gainesville hotel is next to Red Lobster with easy access from I-75 (exit 387). Our La Quinta Inn is just minutes from the O'Connell Center and the Phillips Center for Performing Arts at the University of Florida, and close to all major attractions. From our Gainesville hotel, visit the Butterfly Rainforest at the Museum of Natural History, the Harn Museum of Art, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens. You will enjoy the spacious and comfortable rooms at the La Quinta Inn Gainesville, equipped with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Breath easy by staying in one of our non-smoking king rooms. Enjoy a Free Bright Side Breakfast? prepared every morning in the lobby by our friendly hotel staff. For the business traveler, our hotel offers high-speed Internet access. Watch a college game at the University of Florida or have an evening of entertainment at the Hippodrome State Theatre, the Gainesville Community Play House or Coconut Comedy Club. Discover Payne's Prairie State Preserve or spend the day on the water at Ginnie Springs. Golf nearby Ironwood and Meadowbrook courses. We are surrounded by great shopping opportunities at Oaks Mall and plenty of restaurants for every taste. Relax after a day of working hard or playing hard in our heated swimming pool sits in a private courtyard surrounded by a sprawling sundeck. Blow off steam, as our guest, in a local fitness center. Unwind with your favorite movie on our Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD and premium cable channels. Easy-access plug-and-play TV feature makes it simple to connect your electronics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing