We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit with Josh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Gainesville
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
A La Quinta traveler
Tampa
1
Reviewed September 2, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 668 reviews

A La Quinta traveler
1
Reviewed September 1, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

How can you start with a total wreck. Let's just say housekeeping needs to be improved. Maybe the staff is overworked or understaffed. Lots of mold in the bathroom along with numerous hairs of different sizes and colors. Unidentified material on the rug in the corners of the room. Undersized sheets with balled up mattress pad partially under the sheet and hanging over the side. Now the small stuff, tv goes out completely if the weather is bad anywhere in Gainesville. The WiFi needs to be rebooted almost every half hour, luckily you can do the from your room and good luck finding a seat at breakfast. I have stayed at a few La Quinta's with nice rooms but this one needs to change their name.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarlyBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were just up in Gainesville to help move our college daughter into her apartment. We have not stayed at a LaQuinta inn before and certainly do not plan to in the future after this stay. After getting to our room, we actually questioned even spending the night there, but it was after 11pm. and we just had no other choice. The room was very old and dirty looking. Sheets on the beds were stained, and we were just hoping that they had indeed been cleaned and changed. Shower tiles were stained, moldy and cracked. The carpet was dirty. Bathroom towels were as thin as a cheap washcloth. The bathroom door did not shut. The door inside the room did not lock and the hotel has exterior facing corridors. On the only positive note, at least the bed was comfortable, and when we woke up we could leave! While in Gainesville, I would definitely book only a Hilton brand or B&B in the future, as we have never had a problem with these. Should this option not be available, we would not make the trip! I absolutely do not recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think I am safe in assuming there are no good rooms at this place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ga2rgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was in Gainesville for a relative's graduation from UF. I chose this hotel because of some good reviews on Trip Advisor. I don't know where they stayed, but this motel does not deserve a high rating in any category.

When I arrived they said I did not have a room because I was scheduled to arrive a day earlier, and the front desk lady informed me that they were sold out. Yes, originally I was booked for the day before but I had called 4 days prior and changed the dates. Luckily I still had the call on my phone so could show them the day and time of the call. They found me a room.

I get to the room and the stench was so bad I could not stay there. It was a moldy/musty smell. I called the desk and they did move me.

Room 2: Holes in the sheets, stains in the bath tub, and no internet. I bypassed the front desk because they sounded upset with me for changing rooms. So I called the tech # on the card on the desk. I did get connected finally.

I am on day 3 of my stay and am glad to leave this place. High-speed internet? No way. It is so slow that I could not get my work done because it took too long for pages to load. The place is very worn (globs of caulk on the tub, shower curtain smells moldy, etc.). Noisy--you can hear everything in rooms next to you.

Service: terrible. Slow and sometimes did not respond at all. Family I was traveling with had asked for a "Do not disturb" sign to put in their door as they had a dog. The front desk said they would come to the room and put it in. When we returned hours later--no sign.

I will never stay at this La Quinta again and may even avoid all La Quintas if this is what I get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Let me start by saying I was redeeming a Free Night, plus staying an additional night at LQ, after being a repeat guest at various LQ locations over time. I had earned a free night - finally. I drove almost 9 hours to get to Gainesville, after several stops for rest areas and food. Upon arrival, and a warm greeting, I was placed in a room by the elevator! I told the lady, Jennifer, I could not stay by the elevator as I am a VERY light sleeper. She agreed that would not be the ideal location due to the noise level, and instead placed me in a room at the back of the hotel! WOW - thank you LQ for treating repeat guests this way. Now I will definitely consider my loyalty to your hotel chain / brand.

Arriving in the room, we were greeted with such a stench, we literally had to step out for several minutes. I knew beforehand that this location is pet-friendly, but they DO NOT do a great job with housekeeping. The carpet was stained, dirty and strewn with pet hair. I did not call the front desk because I was already told that I had two options - room in the back or room by the elevator! I had asked at check-in for a room on the top floor. I figured that any other room would smell the same since this LQ does not have specific rooms for guests with pets, but they place them all over the hotel. We had to go out and purchase a Pet Odor Neutralizer and Odor Absorbing Gel to combat the stench. The freezer was frozen over and caked with ice, and we had to clean the fridge and microwave since they appeared to not have been cleaned since the last guest.

The bath area was not clean - probably well stained. Ice container cover was so dirty, we decided against using ice from the hotel for three days! I left a note for housekeeping begging them to vacuum the carpet thoroughly, as I cannot live with pet hair in my face. If you are a pet owner / lover, this might be your ideal hotel. If you love pets but not enough to live with them in your house, this is NOT the hotel for you to stay in Gainesville.

Pool was clear and inviting, but the tables are dirty and falling apart. There are lots of chairs around the deck area. The furniture in room 247 was so OLD, the base of the drawer unit was totally falling apart. Toilet was dirty - stained. It appears no effort was made to clean the room prior to our checking in.

Breakfast area is clean and was kept stocked. Meal is minimal - two types of cereal, bread, bagels, orange, banana, and fruit juices. Usual coffee and tea available. Cold boiled eggs. Cream cheese, butter, peanut butter and jelly. Waffles.

Location is ideal for shopping and dining. Ideal also for a visit to UF for the college tour. Really close to I-75.

If you do not have to do LQ in Gainesville, go elsewhere. There are tons of other hotels around, hopefully cleaner and better smelling, that you may patronize. I think they take it for granted that they are ideally located to UF and the I-75, so guest comfort and hotel upkeep are of minimal or no concern.

At check-out, the lady at the reception asked about my stay, but did not appear interested or concerned as I mentioned the flaws.

Older type motel, lots of paint peeling from wall, stains on walls and curtains.

Room Tip: Rooms are all used by travelers with pets. Stay away if you cannot live with pets, pet hair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momofson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 47 in Gainesville
569 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
847 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Gainesville

Address: 920 NW 69th Ter, Gainesville, FL 32605-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: $79 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Gainesville hotel is near the University of Florida, North Florida Regional Medical Center, Shands Hospital and the Oaks Mall. Our Gainesville hotel is next to Red Lobster with easy access from I-75 (exit 387). Our La Quinta Inn is just minutes from the O'Connell Center and the Phillips Center for Performing Arts at the University of Florida, and close to all major attractions. From our Gainesville hotel, visit the Butterfly Rainforest at the Museum of Natural History, the Harn Museum of Art, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens. You will enjoy the spacious and comfortable rooms at the La Quinta Inn Gainesville, equipped with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Breath easy by staying in one of our non-smoking king rooms. Enjoy a Free Bright Side Breakfast? prepared every morning in the lobby by our friendly hotel staff. For the business traveler, our hotel offers high-speed Internet access. Watch a college game at the University of Florida or have an evening of entertainment at the Hippodrome State Theatre, the Gainesville Community Play House or Coconut Comedy Club. Discover Payne's Prairie State Preserve or spend the day on the water at Ginnie Springs. Golf nearby Ironwood and Meadowbrook courses. We are surrounded by great shopping opportunities at Oaks Mall and plenty of restaurants for every taste. Relax after a day of working hard or playing hard in our heated swimming pool sits in a private courtyard surrounded by a sprawling sundeck. Blow off steam, as our guest, in a local fitness center. Unwind with your favorite movie on our Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD and premium cable channels. Easy-access plug-and-play TV feature makes it simple to connect your electronics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing