We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Gainesville
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stopped here on our way to southwest Florida. The motel is dog friendly which suited our needs for this trip. When my husband went in to check in, he (and another guest also trying to check in) could not,find anyone to check them in. They looked around for about five minutes and the representative finally appeared. There was evidently only one person available and she had to assist a guest to their room. The room was clean, but ...... The decor was old and tired. The bathroom looked old and definitely in need of redoing. The headset of our house phone had a loose connection. We had a need to call the front desk twice and neither call could we be heard. We did report this to the person on duty but nothing was done to rectify the situation. We asked for a room away from the freeway; we were given a room very close to the freeway. Room was noisy. Average at best.

Room Tip: Requesting didn't help us, so ...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alabamabuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    178
    101
    63
    51
See reviews for
243
108
42
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Front desk representative was nice and prompt at getting us checked in. We had room 107, which is the bottom floor, closest room to the door for the lobby for breakfast. I should have thought about the location of the room and asked for another before moving our stuff in, but hindsight is 20-20. The room was clean and spacious, with a King sized bed, an armchair, and table with two chairs. Everything was fine until breakfast started. Starting around 6:30-7am we were awoken by a loud thumping noise, sounding like it was coming from above us. We thought it was either the room upstairs opening their door and letting it slam shut, or that a kid was bouncing a ball. It kept happening often enough that I decided it wasn't either of those things, because who would be opening and shutting their door that often (it was literally every 5 seconds or so). This continued (and we lay awake without sleep) until we got up for breakfast around 8:30. When we opened the door to the lobby we realized when it shut behind us, what we had been hearing this whole time. The door slammed every time someone had come in and out of the door for breakfast. You would think they would put a dampener or something on it to prevent it from slamming so hard (the doors to the room have them on them, so they don't slam, so why can't this one? Especially when it's in use so much...) When you're trying to sleep and every five or ten seconds something slams hard enough to make the picture on the wall vibrate, you end up wanting to kill the next person who goes out the door. This needs to be fixed asap. I paid the same price as others who got a good night's sleep, further from the door. Also, all of the patrons walking by our window chatting en route to breakfast was also annoying.

Other than the lack of sleep from other patrons and slamming doors, the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was included, though a little dull (only dry cereal or waffles were offered, no eggs or anything besides sweet stuff). I'd stay here again if I knew my room was going to be on the third floor at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 107 if you want to sleep. The lobby door next to the room slams shut every time someone g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illusoryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arrived somewhat late after long day of travel. Front desk representative was prompt and friendly, getting us quickly to our room which was clean and well appointed. Pet policy superior. Will stay again...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For the $59.95 online rate I got, it was hard to beat for that price. I stayed there twice on the way and back to Miami from New Orleans. Both times, the experience was almost identical. Front desk staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Room was very adequate for our needs. Motel is dog friendly and worked well for us with our two medium sized dogs. Flat screen tv was a nice feature at this price level as was an included breakfast. Convenience to I-75 was very good. I don't think there's a better hotel deal for that rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

On our drive south we stayed here overnight for a good rest.
The room was comfortable and quiet, but it seemed that the cleaning crew could do better in the corners and crevices. While not really bad it was noticeable if one looked.

The breakfast was what we expected.

When checking in we requested a lower floor so we could take things out of the car, and were told the only room (with the coupon book rates) were on the third floor. We thought it strange as we walked by two floors of darkened rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

6 weeks before we were to visit Gainesville we made our reservation online and called the hotel to guarantee the in-room fridge my wife needs for her meds. We got to the hotel at 2:30PM to check-in and immediately asked for a new room because ours was infested with sugar ants. When we got the new room, it did not have a fridge and while the hotel staff apologized, they made no effort to correct their mistake. They did offer the use of their office fridge, but my wife and I will have to be the shuttle service from one end of the hotel to the other, a block away.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the pool....ants
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwheaton1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Gainesville

Property: La Quinta Inn Gainesville
Address: 920 NW 69th Ter, Gainesville, FL 32605-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Gainesville hotel is near the University of Florida, North Florida Regional Medical Center, Shands Hospital and the Oaks Mall. Our Gainesville hotel is next to Red Lobster with easy access from I-75 (exit 387). Our La Quinta Inn is just minutes from the O'Connell Center and the Phillips Center for Performing Arts at the University of Florida, and close to all major attractions. From our Gainesville hotel, visit the Butterfly Rainforest at the Museum of Natural History, the Harn Museum of Art, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens. You will enjoy the spacious and comfortable rooms at the La Quinta Inn Gainesville, equipped with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Breath easy by staying in one of our non-smoking king rooms. Enjoy a Free Bright Side Breakfast? prepared every morning in the lobby by our friendly hotel staff. For the business traveler, our hotel offers high-speed Internet access. Watch a college game at the University of Florida or have an evening of entertainment at the Hippodrome State Theatre, the Gainesville Community Play House or Coconut Comedy Club. Discover Payne's Prairie State Preserve or spend the day on the water at Ginnie Springs. Golf nearby Ironwood and Meadowbrook courses. We are surrounded by great shopping opportunities at Oaks Mall and plenty of restaurants for every taste. Relax after a day of working hard or playing hard in our heated swimming pool sits in a private courtyard surrounded by a sprawling sundeck. Blow off steam, as our guest, in a local fitness center. Unwind with your favorite movie on our Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD and premium cable channels. Easy-access plug-and-play TV feature makes it simple to connect your electronics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing