We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another disappointment in Gainesville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Gainesville
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed November 26, 2011

strong smell of urine, bathroom is dirty, service is poor, staff unfriendly, no shuttle service, definitely not a value for money. This is the 2nd hotel we stayed at during our trip to Florida.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 670 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

I was a guest at the Gainesville and the Panama City La Quinta Hotels during 8 stays for 2-3 days each time. The decision to stay at La Quinta was not my choice. I will not stay at La Quinta again. During my last stay at the Gainesville La Quinta, I experienced:

Pros
Pleasant staff; efficient cleaning crew

Cons
an outside door that would not stay shut.
a phoneline that was inoperative
screaming teenagers outside my door
a dated and worn physical plant (23 years old)
a front desk clerk who was gone for 5 minutes leaving the front desk completely unmanned. This happened both in Panama City and in Gainesville.

Room Tip: Computer didn't work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hotelfriend46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stopped here on our way to the Keys for a rest after stopping in Atlanta for a ball game. It was ok, nothing special but good for a one night stop.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpalm2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is what we come to expect from LQ. Pet friendly, clean and good value for a stop over on our road trip.Typical free breakfast. Comfortable beds for a good night sleep. Friendly staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onintthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is an older hotel but very clean staff is great and helpful, I am an Elite member of laQuinta and I keep returnng to LaQuinta because the hotels are always clean, this is not the best one I stayed at but it was not bad at all the only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the ice machine was not working, all in all not bad for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljsflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

May problem there was. No shades on the Windows because it would interrupt the A/C air flow. Only a white practically transparent curtain. So you are practically on the public eye while you sleep or else… Average continental breakfast. Excellent attention and courtesy from the staff. Very clean and didn’t smell. Good location. I would stay there again I they take care of the shades.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This will never be a five star..., but then it does not proclaim itself as such. Good,clean room...a little dated but perfectly acceptable and a good value. My two tiny dogs and wife seemed to like the accommodations, staff was friendly and breakfast was good for a budget property. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DUTCHANDFREE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 47 in Gainesville
572 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
853 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Gainesville

Address: 920 NW 69th Ter, Gainesville, FL 32605-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: $81 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Gainesville hotel is near the University of Florida, North Florida Regional Medical Center, Shands Hospital and the Oaks Mall. Our Gainesville hotel is next to Red Lobster with easy access from I-75 (exit 387). Our La Quinta Inn is just minutes from the O'Connell Center and the Phillips Center for Performing Arts at the University of Florida, and close to all major attractions. From our Gainesville hotel, visit the Butterfly Rainforest at the Museum of Natural History, the Harn Museum of Art, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens. You will enjoy the spacious and comfortable rooms at the La Quinta Inn Gainesville, equipped with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Breath easy by staying in one of our non-smoking king rooms. Enjoy a Free Bright Side Breakfast? prepared every morning in the lobby by our friendly hotel staff. For the business traveler, our hotel offers high-speed Internet access. Watch a college game at the University of Florida or have an evening of entertainment at the Hippodrome State Theatre, the Gainesville Community Play House or Coconut Comedy Club. Discover Payne's Prairie State Preserve or spend the day on the water at Ginnie Springs. Golf nearby Ironwood and Meadowbrook courses. We are surrounded by great shopping opportunities at Oaks Mall and plenty of restaurants for every taste. Relax after a day of working hard or playing hard in our heated swimming pool sits in a private courtyard surrounded by a sprawling sundeck. Blow off steam, as our guest, in a local fitness center. Unwind with your favorite movie on our Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD and premium cable channels. Easy-access plug-and-play TV feature makes it simple to connect your electronics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing