We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The room was small and clean. It is a little difficult to get there off the highway and once there, nothing within walking distance. The lobby is in front of you when you arrive into the driveway, it is not intuitive or very well marked. They do have a decent vending machine if you are hungry...
The only feature which could be a problem for some people is that this is an outside corridor hotel, but if the objective is to have a nice room, good bed and save money, this is it.
My reasoning for 4 stars is that it is a good value for what I received.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahoru w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
The team at the Baymont Inn & Suites would like to thank you for your wonderful comments! We have been working hard to ensure that our service and rooms are exceptional. Comments such as yours are rewarding. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Thank you, Ryan Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    299
    259
    131
    101
See reviews for
446
164
85
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Here's my experience...

Me (calling 2 weeks before arrival): "Hi, I just booked reservations online for two rooms for two nights. Can you make them connecting?"

Them: "Sorry, we don't have connecting rooms."

Me: "Okay, can you make sure that they're side-by-side since we're travelling with children?"

Them: "Sure, no problem."

Fast forward to the day of our arrival....

Me (calling 5 hours before we arrive at hotel): "Hi, I have reservations for 2 rooms for 2 nights. I'm traveling with children. I called two weeks ago to make sure that the rooms were side by side. Can you make sure we get that?"

Them: "Sure, we'll take care of that for you."

At our arrival at their front desk....

Me: "Hi, we have reservations for two rooms for two nights."

Them: "Sure, here's rooms -- Room one is 238 -- Room two is 306."

Me: "I called twice to make sure that the rooms were side-by-side."

Them (looking on their reservation system): "I have no record of that and our hotel is filled up. There's nothing I can do."

As a result, my wife had to sleep in one room on the 2nd floor with 2 of our kids and I had to sleep in another with our other kid on the third floor. Despite my irritated complains there was zero effort to fix the problem -- no offer to move our room for the second night -- no offer for a discount -- nothing.

To make matters worse, the hotel is dumpy and **MOIST**. Clearly, they had an HVAC problem. There are noisy dehumidifiers in all the rooms (read all the other reviews). And, the room smells and feels exactly how you'd expect a hotel with dehumidifying problem in extremely moist North Central Florida.

And, don't bother counting the free breakfast as a perk. It was positively awful -- pretty much the worst free breakfast I have ever seen at a hotel.

Wyndam should be embarrassed by this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely do not trust this hotel to get you two rooms side-by-side. Despite asking twice, they f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We apologize that you were not happy with your recent stay at the Baymont Inn & Suites. We do appreciate your comments and we do take them very seriously. Our team is very focused on providing a clean quality room with great service. It is disappointing when we do not meet the guest expectations. We will share your comments with the team and focus on improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONITA SPRINGS
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed when visiting our UF student. We have stayed here several times, but first time with dog. Animal room is about the same as a regular room, except it has tile flooring which made the room much brighter and cleaner. My dog did not like the stay, but he was not used to it (during the actual game, we left him with our son's roommate, so he had a better time than being left in a room he did not know). He did like walking around the hotel.

No place can beat the price and convenience. We will definitely return next time we need to go to Gainesville (sans the dog).

Room Tip: First time we had a room facing the interstate. We did not hear the noise and it was sunnier (nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonitaFLFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
The team at the Baymont Inn & Suites would like to thank you for your wonderful comments! We have been working hard to ensure that our service and rooms are exceptional. Comments such as yours are rewarding. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Thank you, Ryan Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Floorida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Two nights in November 2013. Clean room. Clean bathroom. Helpful staff. Nice location. We took them up on a 10% discount at the local Italian eatery which was very good. The breakfast was typical but the scrabled eggs were hard so skip those.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
The staff of the Baymont was so happy to know we met your expectations during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our beautiful area. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate.

Thank you,

Ryan Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I visited the Baymont Inn & Suites in Gainesville, FL. from N.Y for family emergency medical reasons ,it was affordable and close to the Hospital . Everyone was very nice. I felt comfortable and the room was clean. I had to spend an extended amount of time at this hotel and it became "my home away from home". Everyone there was polite, professional and friendly. I would go back,again for that reason. "Hopefully" for better circumstances next time. One person in particular stood out to me, on your staff , that was extremely helpful and pleasant and went out of his way more than once to make my stay at your hotel feel like a second home at the time of our medical emergency. His name is Marquise Eubanks. Much appreciation.

Room Tip: Room over looking the pool .( best view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
The team at the Baymont Inn & Suites would like to thank you for your wonderful comments! We have been working hard to ensure that our service and rooms are exceptional. Comments such as yours are rewarding.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Ryan Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 44 in Gainesville
562 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
431 reviews
4.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Gainesville Northwest
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
3.4 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
Address: 6901 NW 4th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32607-1663 (Formerly Fairfield Inn, Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Fairfield Inn by Marriott Gainesville Fl is under renovation from September 19, 2008 through November 30, 2008. The hotel's interior and exterior will be painted and brightened. Details of the reinvestment include the following: 32" LCD Televisions, Micro-fridge units (Executive Level Rooms, Energy-saving Heating and Air Conditioning Units). Exterior improvements include: ADA Hydro lift in pool area, Upgraded landscaping, and Fresh paint. Public space and building interior upgrades include: Auto Sliding Entrance Doors, Upgraded fitness equipment, Fresh paint. Additionally, eco-friendly materials and energy saving appliances will be heavily utilized during the property improvement. Recently enrolled in Florida's Green Lodging Program the Fairfield Inn promptly implemented a re-use and recycle program. The hotel will remain open during the improvements and guests will still experience the service and hospitality they have come to expect from Fairfield Inn by Marriott. The renovations are expected to be completed by November 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott, Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Fairfield Inn Gainesville
Fairfield Gainesville
Gainesville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing