We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We chose this motel because it was located about 6 hours into our trip to southern Florida. It was clean, well lit at night and quiet. The breakfast bar was well stocked and everything appeared to be fresh. The stopover allowed us to continue the second half of our trip refreshed and well rested. In the past I have made the 9 hour trip without an overnight stay. I found that by stopping 6 hours into the trip and spending the night made for a much better drive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear William B,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review on our hotel. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you during your trip to South Florida. Our breakfast staff works hard to keep the buffet going and well stocked so our guests are not wainting to eat breakfast. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and had a good nights sleep. I hope in the future during your travels, you think of us first.
Once again, thank you for your visit!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 696 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting in the area. Room met all expectations, i.e. clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a little better than typical complimentary fare since it included some hot foods...Biscuits, gravy, pre-prepared omelets, sausage, waffle maker, along with the standard cereals, juices, coffee, bagels, muffins. Best part of our stay was the front desk staff who were very helpful in teaming up to figure the best route for us to take for going to a specific place the other side of Gainesville we were needing to get to. Excellent support. Worked like a charm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sling-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Sling-0,

Thank you for the great review! It's always great to hear what our guests have to say about us.
I am happy we were able to accommodate you while in town and especially happy that the front desk staff was able to help you with directions! We are always willing to help a guest in need!
I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast. The breakfast staff work very hard to make our guests a hot and healthy first meal.
I hope you think of us first the next time you're in town!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A good experience after a bad one a couple of years before. Hotel clean and modern. Reservations handled well. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast bar had good selection well prepared. If in the area, I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Dale P,

I'm sorry you had a bad experience a couple years ago, but I'm glad we were able to make up for it!
Thank you for the recognition, we try to be as friendly and accommodating as possible!

I hope you always choose us during your trips through Gainesville!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I travel throughout the State of Florida for work. I stayed here in mid-March for work, and it was one of the most ‘blah’ hotel experiences – and as an earlier review puts it “nothing spectacular.” If you need a place to stay for a night or two, this hotel is clean, comfy and quite. If you’re going to be in the Gainesville area for a couple days or more, you might consider trying a different hotel.

As a disclaimer, I provided average (3 out of 5) ratings for everything about this hotel except for sleep quality, which I rated as “Very Good” (4 out of 5). I provided average ratings (for service, value, cleanliness, locations, and rooms) because there was nothing that stood out. Sleep quality would have been better if I knew I was waking up to a good breakfast, but breakfast quality / experience was below average.

Room Tip: I had a room on the front - second floor, and I always ask to be placed away from the elevator. No c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Dan G,

I appreciate you taking time to write your thoughts about my hotel. Knowing our weaknesses helps us to improve. I understand that you stayed with us during March, at which time we were still undergoing our renovations. I hope that was the reason for the mediocre ratings. I do believe we have improved since we finished the complete remodel in July. I will still take your criticism into consideration see how we can better ourselves, there is always room for improvement.
I'm curious to know why you rated the location average? We are right off of I-75, next to all the major restaurants in Gainesville and only 3 miles from the center of University and Shands Hospital.

I hope that you visit our property again, now that the renovations are complete. I do believe that you'll agree that we have improved since your last visit!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was one of the best hotel stays that I have ever experienced, the bed was great, the staff was great, everything was great. We arrived late and the person at the counter offered us the managers special rate, which was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Theodore N Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Theodore N Z,

Thank you for choosing us while in Gainesville, and thank you for writing a great review. It's always great to hear what our guests have to say! I am glad that you enjoyed our property and rate it as "one of the best..."

I hope you think of us first next time you are in town!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The front desk will always greet you with a smile, the cookies are warm around 6:30. tThis site is convienient to a great number of places to dine. Great access from I-75! Publx, Target, all that your shopping needs require.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Danny M,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Of course we will always greet you with a smile. We love having our guests as much as our guests love Hampton Inns! Speaking of places to dine, next time you are in town ask the front desk what sort of discounts you get for staying with us! There is something for everyone!

Can't wait for your next visit!

Safe Travels!

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our way to Orlando. Would definately return if in the area. The hotel is modern and very clean, well located to shopping and restaurants. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ddavislaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Ddavislaw

Thank you for staying with us on your way to Orlando. I'm glad you enjoyed our property. The staff works very hard keeping everything clean and in place. Next time you stay with us, be sure to ask the front desk about restaurants that offer discounts for staying with us!

Once again, thank you for choosing us!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#12 of 47 in Gainesville
470 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#9 of 47 in Gainesville
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gainesville

Address: 4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $120 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-75 and Archer Road, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is your comfortable home in Gainesville, Florida. Relax in your clean, comfortable guest room at this centrally located hotel in Gainesville. Enjoy easy access to the University of Florida, or enjoy our natural wonders. Alachua County features several fresh water springs for scuba diving, tubing or snorkeling. Visit the Devils Millhopper for a walk on the wild side, or stop by Lake Alice for an alligator encounter. Whether you are here for business or for pleasure, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is the smart choice for a comfort, convenience and service at a great rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing