We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Nights Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Well out of the traffic flow but still close to I-75 this hotel is a great place to stay. The Lobby is not as open and large as many Hampton Inns but the rooms are up to their usual standard. The breakfast nook is cozy but the eating area allows you to relax while eating. There is ample parking but the doors are all located at the Lobby. There are a number of 1st floor rooms that open to outdoors, which is different from most Hampton Inns. This is a no smoking facility and there is only one sitting bench outside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Carl L,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit. I appreciate you taking the time to rate us, as it allows us to see our strengths and weaknesses.

I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and our new Perfect Mix Lobby, as we just finished with our renovations only weeks ago.

I understand your concern about only having the one bench outside, some of the benches were recently damaged. We are currently working to get new ones to place around the property. We do still offer smoking rooms if you are interested during your next visit.

Once again, thank you for your comments and concerns!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 680 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The property was clean. the breakfast bar was well stocked and had a good variety. Love those cookies at night. My only suggestion is to ask how the air conditioning works so that you don't have to get up multiple times at night to turn it back on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Elena R,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit. I am glad you especially enjoyed our breakfast, our staff works very hard in that department. I understand your love of the cookies in the evening, they are a delicious treat!
I understand you had a problem with the air conditioner cutting out at night. The thermostat on the wall needs to be set on "auto" and "cool" so it will maintain the temperature you set the unit. I thank you for bringing this to our attention, I will have maintentance do their monthly checks early this month to assure there is not a defect.
I hope you think of us first the next time you are in town!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as I attended a class with the University. The class was held at the Hilton but they had no rooms. I did not realize that the Hampton Inn was part of the Hilton so was happy to hear that my Hilton Honors would be honored. This turned out to be an excellent hotel and I felt better staying there where it was quiet instead of the noisey college hotel, the Hilton. Great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Ann M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you now know that Hampton is apart of Hilton Honors.
I hope your next visit to Gainesville you will think of us first!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I like the location, and the staff here was very professional and accommodating. Room was great and room service was excellent all four days. Good restaurant selection nearby. I'll be back, thanks Hampton.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogFan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear DogFan11,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for commenting on our property.
The staff strives to be as courteous and professional as possible.
You're right, we have a lot of restaurant choices nearby - be sure to take advantage of the discount you receive at many of the restaurants near us. Next time you're in town just ask the front desk and they'll be happy to point you in the right direction.
Once again, thank you for your comments!

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel more than a dozen times over the last 2 1/2 years. We have never been disappointed. We are a very well traveled family with discriminating taste and have stayed in many different hotels and we can truly say that this Hampton inn in Gainesville is the consistently the cleanest and friendliest of all places that we have ever stayed. We have a UF student daughter and a son ready to start at UF soon. We look forward to our stays in Gainesville and affectionately call this place our home away from home. We find it amazing that most of the staff, from the front desk, to the breakfast ladies and maintenance staff, either know us by name or at least by face. And we know their names as well. This place has terrific management and staff. They make this place first rate. They are all so friendly and caring.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice clean quite place to stay.I would recomend this place to anybody.I always stay here when traveling to our building in the area for business.Rooms are always clean and staff are always friendly and helful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel room was clean. Notes were left to say the sheets and duvet were washed for every guest. Staff was pleasant.
Shower water was not hot. Others complained also. Half of the water was coming out of the tub faucet and not the shower head. The tub faucet was pulling away from the wall. Had to stand in 2 inches of water while showering. Breakfast was not good. Eggs and bacon were terrible.
Lots of other hotels in the area; would try one of them next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoMom_of_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonFL32608, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear ChicagoMom_of_boys,

Thank you for your kind remarks about my staff, we try to accomodate all of our guests.
I understand you had a couple issues with the hotel such as plumbing and breakfast selection. I have staff looking into these issues now. We do encourage all of our guests to bring these problems to our attention so we can fix it as soon as possible. I realize you have many hotel options in Gainesville, but I invite you to stay with us once more so we can redeem our Hampton name
Thank you for your concerns and taking time to review our property, you certainly have allowed us the opportunity to improve.

Safe Travels,

Ryan Tate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Gainesville
Courtyard Gainesville
#19 of 47 in Gainesville
183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gainesville

Address: 4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $120 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-75 and Archer Road, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is your comfortable home in Gainesville, Florida. Relax in your clean, comfortable guest room at this centrally located hotel in Gainesville. Enjoy easy access to the University of Florida, or enjoy our natural wonders. Alachua County features several fresh water springs for scuba diving, tubing or snorkeling. Visit the Devils Millhopper for a walk on the wild side, or stop by Lake Alice for an alligator encounter. Whether you are here for business or for pleasure, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is the smart choice for a comfort, convenience and service at a great rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing