We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Okeechobee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Was okay”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed one night. The lobby was a construction zone, being remodeled and nothing but concrete floors, stud walls and the lobby desk BUT we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful lady. If it wouldn't have been pouring down rain we probably would have checked with one of the other hotels nearby. The room seemed a little dated but maybe that's what this Hampton is working on, remodeling. We met a painter coming down the elevator and he said he was painting all the rooms on the 3rd floor. They still had an excellent breakfast room. It was set up on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaNative13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    159
    48
    12
    25
See reviews for
244
133
30
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife, myself and mother-in-law stayed one night here last week.
I was taking a shower and reached for the bathmat that was on the side of the tub. Next thing I know I was horizontal in the tub. The bottom of the tub was slick as ice. My wife and mother-in-law put towels down when they took their shower. Thank goodness I had no serious injuries but I did ache for a few days.
When we checked out I mentioned the incident to the person at the front desk. She got a funny look on her face and said that I was the second person in the last few days to report this. We can't understand what is happening, Hilton made us spray every tub with an anti slip solution.
I think they put it on upside down !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddycty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to UF. The room was ABSOLUTELY terrific! It was spotless and the bed was so comfortable I slept like a rock. Hotel is located off Archer road near dozens of restaurants. The breakfast had a nice assortment of hot and cold items. Free wireless worked great.. This hotel gives a nice rate if you have a student at UF so CHECK IT OUT! About a 10 minute drive to the center of campus.

Room Tip: If you have a UF student mention it to the staff for a great rate. It beat the AAA rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorRPH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel several times and have always been very pleased. It's in an excellent location - easy to get in and out. The rooms are very nice and are what we expect from a Hampton - our favorite chain hotel. They are spacious, clean, quiet, and have all the amenities. The staff is extra-friendly and always do everything we ask them to. We'll stay here whenever we go to Gainesville to visit our family. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bojean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is easy to get in/out, staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurants. Breakfast is same as other Hampton Inns. The room was clean and quiet. Typical Hampton Inn except staff here were more friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor on the back for a view of Florida nature. We saw armadilla outside the fenced a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Italylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel is OK but seems old and in need of a makeover, all the usual Hampton features. I have stayed here a few times as there a plenty of restaurants to walk too. However I was put in the back facing out this time and it was noisier than the side facing the road - trash truck at 4.30am! I will stay here again but ask for a front or right hand side room. Breakfast has a good variety.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed here two nights and made the mistake of getting one of the few outdoor entry rooms. The conveniet thing is it was on the first floor so I could go right from my car into my room. Inside was a typical Hampton Inn room except that the room had a dehumidifier in it which was extremely loud when it ran. The only plus side is that the dehumidifier drown out the noise from outside so once you got use to it the outdoors sounds were drowned out.

Check in was simple and easy as always. Breakfast was plentiful and very good.

The other biggest disappointment was the room preparation when I got it. There were dried bits of "something" on the bathrooms walls I had to clean off when I got in. It tooks only a couple of seconds, but that was a first for me at a Hampton Inn.

It is conveniently located closer to busy Archer St. which is not necessarily bad because it's easy to find some place to eat.

I would stay here again, but not get the outdoor access room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlando_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gainesville

Property: Hampton Inn Gainesville
Address: 4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-75 and Archer Road, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is your comfortable home in Gainesville, Florida. Relax in your clean, comfortable guest room at this centrally located hotel in Gainesville. Enjoy easy access to the University of Florida, or enjoy our natural wonders. Alachua County features several fresh water springs for scuba diving, tubing or snorkeling. Visit the Devils Millhopper for a walk on the wild side, or stop by Lake Alice for an alligator encounter. Whether you are here for business or for pleasure, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is the smart choice for a comfort, convenience and service at a great rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing