We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disrespectful staff that doesn't care about it's guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Plant City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disrespectful staff that doesn't care about it's guests”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I live about 2.5 hours south of Gainesville, Fl. We were having a family get together and a LARGE number of us booked rooms about 2 weeks in advanced. We of course called to check to make sure there were baby bed ( since most of us have little ones ) and also to make sure they could accommodate a large group ( making sure there were no special events in the area and ect ).
We have 17 month old twins and also one on the way... basically we have a ton of stuff when we travel. Upon checking in, when we asked for the baby beds... we were told " we don't have any". Of course we were stunned and told the front desk worker " that we requested beds as well as many of our group. The clerk ( if thats what you call it ) said " well, you can either go to a different hotel or go buy some somewhere".
Yes, thats really what we were told.
If my entire family ( about 30 of us ) had not been staying here, I would have left... but what was I going to do, you know?
We check in and yes, the rooms were nice. Beds were kind of hard ( for my liking ). Shower head leaked to the point where it wet the entire floor and the a/c in the room worked fine, however the rest of the hotel was rather warm.
We called the manager about the baby beds and the rudeness of the employee. She said " oh, yes, she called me to tell me you might be calling". Really? So, the front desk clerk KNEW she was rude and warned you!? Classy.
We never got baby beds nor were we even offered a discount.. even though we had to go purchase our own beds at target. REALLY.
Upon checkout... we were asked "how was our stay". Granted, by this time it was a different worker. We told her and the said, "wow, that SUCKS".
We left a comment card, however I doubt it made to anyone who would give two cents or do anything about it.
I think the only satisfaction this Hampton Inn cares about is getting paid for doing nothing right.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afdcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    159
    48
    12
    25
See reviews for
244
134
30
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at this Hampton Inn to visit family in Gainesville. We weren't impressed by this hotel. It was in a good location (close to the University of Florida and I-75), we stayed during a weekend when there were a lot of college teams visitng UF for different sports. When we checked in, the lobby was loud (at 10PM at night) with lots of college students prepping for the weekend. There were also lots of roaming around at 2 or 3 AM. I have a feeling this happens a lot during the year. When there are lots of events happening at UF and the hotels book up, the price for this and other hotels also get really expensive, so it wasn't great value either. The room was a 2 Queen bed room with a 32" flat screen TV. The hotel overall looked older and in needed of a refurbishment. The breakfast rooms fills up really fast as well. With 5 family members, it was hard to find seats unless you were one of the last people eating.

Room Tip: Try to stay when there aren't many UF events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthteller4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Very quiet, very clean, very friendly staff. Glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beans40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALDOSTA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Looks lke this place was recently-renovated. The amenities that go with the rooms appear to be brand-spanking-new. And even though the hotel is just off I-75, it's tucked away back into the woods enough that you are not bothered by trucker horns or other forms of highway noise.

The staff was friendly, and breakfast was the usual Hamtpon Inn spread. Only negative that I'd report would be there are no guest/coin-operated laundry machines. You'll have to get that done another stop along the way.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FECTEAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor County Down
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

First ever stay in a Hampton Inn and did not really know what to expect. First class rooms with quality bed and free wi-fi which worked like a dream. Small but ok gym which was not well used. Breakfast was fine although surprised at the cardboard plates and plastic cutlery. The absence of a bar and restaurant I understand goes with the brand. Location is excellent for restaurants in vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangotangocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My family stayed here on June 17, 2010. We chose this because it was close to the interstate and had a pool for the kids. Nice, clean and cheap! Yummy warm cookies at 7pm. Great breakfast as well! Only complaint- door from pool was difficult to open. Needs to be fixed! Would stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amosAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The hotel itself is wonderful and the staff is friendly and the breakfast soooo good.. But the hard lesson learned on Friday night was that the hotel has exterior accessible rooms. My need is as a result of surgery. But I also pick Hilton brands for their interior corridors and that spells safety for me.
But I did not know room was an exterior room till I got there. That was not in the WEB descripton. Unfortunately I arrived after cancellation time and the clerk had one other room available a king for $10 more. She was unable to adjust the rate to my original one.. I just wanted a place to sleep. She said they would be closing in those rooms next year. But it could have been any hotel or motel...so I suggest if you need the accessible room find out where it is in the hotel before you book.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 450oldcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#6 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gainesville

Property: Hampton Inn Gainesville
Address: 4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-75 and Archer Road, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is your comfortable home in Gainesville, Florida. Relax in your clean, comfortable guest room at this centrally located hotel in Gainesville. Enjoy easy access to the University of Florida, or enjoy our natural wonders. Alachua County features several fresh water springs for scuba diving, tubing or snorkeling. Visit the Devils Millhopper for a walk on the wild side, or stop by Lake Alice for an alligator encounter. Whether you are here for business or for pleasure, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is the smart choice for a comfort, convenience and service at a great rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing