We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Gainesville
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very solid Marriott courtyard. Very much what you would expect form a typical courtyard with some nice trip around the edges. Very solid breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. It is a nice hotel and in a very convenient location. There is also some decent roads to run on around the hotel which is important to me.

Room Tip: Get a suite. It is worth it in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to speak so kindly about our hotel! My team and I strive to give each guest the best possible experience everyday! We would love to have you join us again at our Courtyard should your travels bring you back to Gainesville. I can even recommend some other running trails in the area that showcase some of North Central Florida's natural beauty.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    61
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
53
32
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel's lobby is beautiful, I was excited when I saw how chic it was....but the rest of the hotel looks like a typical CBM. Nothing special, but that's OK. The service, however, is what drives my review. My key cards failed three times, very annoying when you have to keep going to the lobby to get a new card to get back into your room. There was no fridge in my room despite the fact that they advertised there would be. Once I asked for one, they hmmmed and hawed, but eventually brought one up....and plugged it in at the foot of the bed. I moved it myself to a more appropriate spot. My reservation requested a feather-free room, which is listed as crucial due to a severe allergy, yet I had to ask for them to remove the feathers from the room after check-in, and had to vacate the room for a couple of hours due to breathing difficulties caused by the presence of the feather pillows - why request this in advance if they aren't going to pay attention? My keycard holder stated I would be treated specially as an "elite member", but I certainly didn't feel special! I travel to Gainesville on business several times each year, as do several others in my company. I will not return to this hotel and will recommend others I work with also avoid this it. There is enough competition in the area to find better service.

Room Tip: make sure it actually has what is advertised
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebungay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'd like to thank you for your honest comments about our hotel.
I take all feedback, both positive and negative, as an opportunity to grow my team and our business. Your comments are duly noted and I ensure you that I will take specific steps to coach my team regarding the missed steps of service that you experienced. I know that was not the type of experience you have come to expect from a Courtyard by Marriott and I own full responsibility.

Please know that your loyalty to Marriott is very much appreciated and respected. I would like to invite you back to our property so that we may offer you an experience that is more aligned with the service you have the right to expect. Again, I thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great staff, Clean room -comfy beds; in a great location to restaurants and campus. We have stayed here before and will definitely return. They also take pets. The complimentary breakfast is great and plenty of food!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starbucks83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Though I appreciate your response and would enjoy taking credit for your enjoyable stay, I believe you may be reviewing our sister Marriott, the Residence Inn. They offer the amenities you described, but unfortunately we do not have the same offerings. However, should your travels bring you back to Gainesville we would be happy to introduce you to the Courtyard where its "a new stay!"

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This property is right off I-75 in Gainesville. It's close to the university. Room was very nice, clean, and quiet. Super-friendly staff. Located near an abundance of places to eat. I'd certainly stay again in the future. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifindsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. My team and I greatly appreciate your kind words regarding our property's amenities and location. Please feel free to join us again when your travels bring you back to Gainesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
511 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was in town for business and I chose this hotel on its competitive cost and on its central location. Other factors include the three miles drive to the city center where the testing center is located. Also, there is a huge shopping center next to it and also across from the hotel. The lobby was recently remodeled and my room was spotless and up-to-date. For amenities, they do have a bar and kitchen, outdoor pool and work-out room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrEdnWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I'm very pleased that you found our location and amenities convenient and useful during your trip. We appreciate that you have a choice when travelling, and we are thankful that you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
778 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

In town to visit our son and booked a room at the Courtyard. I found the staff to be very friendly. It appears that the lobby has been updated. They offer free coffee and tea in the lobby. Nice extra touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiller560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our team! We definitely strive everyday to ensure that we provide the best possible experience to our guests. My staff loves what they do and I'm so glad to hear that it shows to our guests! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Like most other Courtyard's, this location has great service, clean rooms, and decent prices. I would stay here for every game but single day accommodations are rarely available during football weekends. They have a ridiculous two night minimum during those weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloD209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay!
I appreciate your compliments regarding our property and our staff. Football weekends can definitely be hectic for them, but I'm glad we were able to meet your expectations.
Although we have a two night minimum on special event weekends, please know that if your travels do bring you to Gainesville again in the future that we would be happy to have you stay with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gainesville

Property: Courtyard Gainesville
Address: 3700 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville FL hotel near Archer Road & I-75 is home to the University of Florida and Gator football. Nearby you'll find more than just the University; check out the Florida Museum of Natural History, Harn Museum, the Santa Fe Community Zoo, the Oaks Mall, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens which are just a quick drive from the hotel. Guests traveling to our University of Florida hotel will enjoy the free high speed Internet access, WiFi, a 24-hour business center, large in-room workstation and access to meeting space at our Gainesville FL hotel. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe and grab a quick snack from The Market when on the run. We are dedicated to making sure you can maintain your health on the road, so take advantage of our 24-hour fitness center and unwind at the end of the day by enjoying the outdoor pool and spa. We hope to see you soon at the Courtyard Gainesville FL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Marriott
Gainesville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing