We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Gainesville
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
444 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was in town for business and I chose this hotel on its competitive cost and on its central location. Other factors include the three miles drive to the city center where the testing center is located. Also, there is a huge shopping center next to it and also across from the hotel. The lobby was recently remodeled and my room was spotless and up-to-date. For amenities, they do have a bar and kitchen, outdoor pool and work-out room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrEdnWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I'm very pleased that you found our location and amenities convenient and useful during your trip. We appreciate that you have a choice when travelling, and we are thankful that you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    57
    35
    13
    4
See reviews for
47
31
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
700 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

In town to visit our son and booked a room at the Courtyard. I found the staff to be very friendly. It appears that the lobby has been updated. They offer free coffee and tea in the lobby. Nice extra touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiller560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our team! We definitely strive everyday to ensure that we provide the best possible experience to our guests. My staff loves what they do and I'm so glad to hear that it shows to our guests! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Like most other Courtyard's, this location has great service, clean rooms, and decent prices. I would stay here for every game but single day accommodations are rarely available during football weekends. They have a ridiculous two night minimum during those weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloD209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay!
I appreciate your compliments regarding our property and our staff. Football weekends can definitely be hectic for them, but I'm glad we were able to meet your expectations.
Although we have a two night minimum on special event weekends, please know that if your travels do bring you to Gainesville again in the future that we would be happy to have you stay with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for a athletic event at Gainesville. The lobby is redone, ( I can tell this hotel is a redo of another chain.. Just couldn't put my finger on which one?!) but our room seemed old and tired . I actually laughed out loud when I saw the cheesy whirlpool tub! The bed uncomfortable and saggy...and the linens...yuk! The only bright spot is that the front desk folks were very nice as were the housekeeping staff. 150.00 a night with taxes? No

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflowergal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I'd like to thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay.
We are currently in a state of transition from the original Courtyard concept that we have held since we opened the hotel in 1995. Our new concept is called "Courtyard Refreshing Business," and will feature additional changes to our guest rooms that will appear more cohesive with our recently rennovated lobby and Bistro area. Unfortunately, these transitions do take some time. I apologize that you weren;t as pleased with the guest rooms as our lobby area. I am confident that once our transition is complete you will be pleased with the changes. Again, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This property is already showing it's age and in need of renovation. I have stayed at this property a few times over the past few years as I live between Atlanta and Miami Beach. Over the years, it has gotten worse. Tonight, the internet was unusable - speed test showed below dial up speed and I could not connect to my work email or use Skype. So, I called down and got a 1980's type of reply - "I can give you an 800 number so you can call and see what is the problem." In 2012, there is nothing more annoying to me than when a hotel has this response - I am not interested in doing their tech support for them. I checked out and went down the street to the Residence Inn where the internet speed was very high quality and fast. Free internet is not free if it is unusable. Overall, this is a bad Courtyard and obviously a low quality franchise property. I cannot recommend it to anyone who expects a clean, modern facility given other options available close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your time with us. I apologize that your experince was less than you expected from a Courtyard hotel.
I have taken steps with my staff to ensure that a more suitable response and working knowledge of our technical features is now in practice. Though I cannot determine what the issue may have been on the particular day of your stay, I can agree that the staff response to your issue was not the best choice.
We are working dilligently to enhance our guests experience every day. This includes continuous upgrades to our property, both physical, staff and technical. These improvements, of course, do not occur without some time and growing pains. I apologize that you were unable to enjoy your stay with us, but appreciate your loyalty to Marriott by staying with a sister-property. If you return to Gainesville in the future, I would enjoy the opportunity to regain your business. Thank you again for your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been to GInesvilke god games and have stayed at many hotels but never this one til now. I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the rooms are standard but clean, and Marriott is always pretty reluable. But this one wax a little special. They have a very nice quite large made to order restaurant! I wouldn't say it's great for dinner,but for breakfast, yes, and especially post-game munchies. They had wings, hummus, flatbread pizza, Sammie's, beer, bottled and glasses if wine, and even Starbucks .. Great staff too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcmcmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Our new Bistro Restaurant is definitely an exciting feature of our hotel. We have enjoyed many guest compliments on its offerings and accessibility, specifically after a great Gator Football victory! We alter our menu on a seasonal basis, so hopefully the next time you travel to Gainesville you can experience a refreshed and exciting menu. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gainesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Tha staff was very accommodating at this Courtyard. It was the weekend of a huge football game even though we were only there for a campus tour. The entire hotel from staff to guests were buzzing in anticipation of the upcoming game. We thoroughly enjoyed the idea of being a part of this next year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpavlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your kind words and are very pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere! Our staff is dedicated to making every guest feel welcomed, whether they root for the Gators or the opposing team. Thank you for letting us know we are doing a good job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gainesville

Property: Courtyard Gainesville
Address: 3700 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2383
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville FL hotel near Archer Road & I-75 is home to the University of Florida and Gator football. Nearby you'll find more than just the University; check out the Florida Museum of Natural History, Harn Museum, the Santa Fe Community Zoo, the Oaks Mall, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens which are just a quick drive from the hotel. Guests traveling to our University of Florida hotel will enjoy the free high speed Internet access, WiFi, a 24-hour business center, large in-room workstation and access to meeting space at our Gainesville FL hotel. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe and grab a quick snack from The Market when on the run. We are dedicated to making sure you can maintain your health on the road, so take advantage of our 24-hour fitness center and unwind at the end of the day by enjoying the outdoor pool and spa. We hope to see you soon at the Courtyard Gainesville FL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Marriott
Gainesville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing