We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for large room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Gainesville
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good price for large room”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, end of March. Was able to get a good deal through Priceline ($ 65). Nice, big rooms, friendly and efficient service at front desk. They were still renovating the main restaurant but since we only stayed 1 night that was no problem. Many restaurants closeby. In the morning breakfast was served in some convention room. We were lucky to get there early, the buffet was more than we expected for the price of $ 9, including fresh wafles and eggs! Within half hour the entire room was packed but we were on our way then. All in all a nice stay with friendly service. Wifi was good everywhere. They also had free computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments!

I am very glad that your enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Our renovation process is now completed and we have a wonderful and vibrant new lobby concept including The Bistro restaurant which is now open for Breakfast and Dinner!

I hope that on your next trip to Gainesville you will consider our property again for your stay. I thank you again for your review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    65
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
57
34
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

I am a little disappointed that when I booked, it did not state that the entire 1st floor would be under construction, or that the elevator would not be working. I am even more disappointed that the fee was full price 154, with no restaurant, noise, the parking lot littered with construction material and vehicles. On the bright side the staff was nice. . . I will be staying at th Hilton down the street next time.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Don-in-Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced as a result of our renovation. I can completely understand your frustration and appreciate your comments.

We have successfully completed our lobby and restaurant renovation and would love to have the opportunity to showcase its benefits and services to you on your next trip to Gainesville. Though we failed to meet your expectations on this trip, I can assure you that my staff and I are dedicated to providing you with a "new stay" at our Courtyard when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Know that this property is currently under a major renovation with all the noise, dust and inconvenience that goes with it. My colleague and I were told it would be this way until "at least mid-March". When we inquired about some sort of reduction in our rate or some other consideration we were told flatly NO.

Additionally the overall condition of the rooms is a bit tired and worn. The door on my room does not even latch unless repeatedly slammed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPeterCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Please accept my apology for the poor experience you encountered at our hotel during the renovation process. Admittedly we failed to properly inform guests at the time of booking about our condition. I am sure it was not what you expected, though the lobby area and new Bistro are up and running and a completely new experience compared to our former lobby.

I would like to personally invite you and your collegues back to our property to see the wonderful new features this renovation has provided. I am sure you will find them to your liking and much improved from your last visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Courtyard earlier this week to attend to some personal business. We were greeted by Kayla upon checking in, and she was extremely pleasant and very helpful. The lobby, eating areas, and the room was spotless. We checked out the next day and were attended to once again by Kayla. After checking out and leaving, we found that we needed to find a place to use a fax machine, so we decided to go back to the Courtyard and see if they could help us out. As luck would have it, Kayla was still there, and she took care of all our needs with a great attitude and a friendly manner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CommishPalmCoast_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardGainesville, Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Greetings from Gainesville! Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback about your stay! We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team, and more specifically Kayla, was there to take care of your every need! We can't wait to see you back at the hotel next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had to book this hotel at the last minute. Being that Gainesville is a college town I really wasn't sure what I was getting myself into. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The Asst. GM was working the desk and she was as nice as could be. She checked me right in. My room was not fancy, pretty basic but nice and clean. Everyone I encountered during my stay was extremely nice.
The only reason I didn't rate this a 5 star was the bed was a little uncomfortable. I have a family of 4 and the bed my son and I slept in caved into the middle. Wish I could have slept better. But I dealt with it because the room was clean. Also the breakfast was very expensive and was not worth the price. My advice is to eat somewhere else and you will be fine.
Don't check into this hotel if you are looking for an upscale ritzy hotel because you will be dissapointed. But if you want something clean where everyone treats you good this is the place in Gainesville! If I ever need to return to Gainesville I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srodriguez1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsstGMA, Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Not Fancy But Clean, We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott in Gainesville. We strive ourselves on great customer service, and I noticed you said you were pleasantly surprised. We are actually going to have our lobby remodeled starting in January which will help spruce the lobby up, and make it feel a little bit more upscale. The new lobby should be done in mid March so please come back by if you are ever in Gainesville.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Good thing I bring my Bose noise reduction headset with me on trips our I would not have gotten any sleep. The walls of this Courtyard are so thin I could hear every word the guest on either side were saying. Very disappointed given this is a Courtyard.

The property is very old and Marriott should level it and build a new one.

When I am working in Gainesville I will never stay at this Courtyard again. There is a Fairfield Inn by Marriott just up the road which is a much better build property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTabone, General Manager at Courtyard Gainesville, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback on our hotel. We are very sorry for your disappointing stay you had in July. Starting in January our lobby renovation which will be completed in March will give us a whole new look and feel. We will have a new lobby with our New Bistro concept breakfast, home theater, GoBoard and media pods.

Hopefully you will try us out again for your future travels.

Best Regards,
Steve Cotton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Easy access to I-75 and to Archer Road the main road to the University of Florida. Check in was very smooth and the receptionist (very friendly)already had our reservation printed out, and had a welcome bag with water and maps ready for us.

The room was a two-doubles (family of 4) and easily fit the roll-a-way that we asked for. The room was equipped with free WiFi, a college fridge and a microwave. The beds were very comfortable and there were enough pillows for everyone. The pool is out door; not huge but a nice chill out, cool down spot. But once kids come in it does get loud.
Lots of eating places within a mile of the hotel; a Publix and their liquor store are across the street; everything from Arby’s and other fast foods to decent family restaurants and Bentos (see my review). They have snacks, wine and beer for sale (I drove over to Publix). We did not make it up to check out the breakfast.

We enjoyed it as a family. We would definitely would come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gainesville

Property: Courtyard Gainesville
Address: 3700 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Gainesville FL hotel near Archer Road & I-75 is home to the University of Florida and Gator football. Nearby you'll find more than just the University; check out the Florida Museum of Natural History, Harn Museum, the Santa Fe Community Zoo, the Oaks Mall, and the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens which are just a quick drive from the hotel. Guests traveling to our University of Florida hotel will enjoy the free high speed Internet access, WiFi, a 24-hour business center, large in-room workstation and access to meeting space at our Gainesville FL hotel. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe and grab a quick snack from The Market when on the run. We are dedicated to making sure you can maintain your health on the road, so take advantage of our 24-hour fitness center and unwind at the end of the day by enjoying the outdoor pool and spa. We hope to see you soon at the Courtyard Gainesville FL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Marriott
Gainesville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing