We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel itself was good, what you'd expect for the price point. the hidden gem, however, can be found in the on-site restaurant where I recieved the greatest service and dinner. Chef Shaun personally came out and took my order, as I am very picky with special allergy requests. Shaun personalized my meal and truly went the extra mile to take care of the guest. Service and attention provided far exceeded expectations in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenondine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We apperciate your kind words. The Paramount Plaza is undergoing many changes, from Managment to renovations. Shaun is an exceptional employee and we will make sure he is rewarded for your mention of him in your review. The Lakeside Grill is freshly remodled with great new specials and all new memu. We hope that if you are back in the area you will visit again.

Thank you
Robert Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

My office hosted a seminar at this wonderful hotel! Tracy Ryan did an amazing job. From the very first phone call we knew she was going to take care of all our needs. She far exceeded our expectations, she took care of every single detail. And the banquet food! My employees are still talking about how delicious everything was! We will definitely be back next year! Thank you Tracy

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagMag12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

MagMag I would like to say thank you for writing such a rave review of your most recent visit to the Paramount Plaza. Tracy Ryan is awesome at her job, the Paramount Plaza is lucky to have her. We can't wait to see you next year ! Again, thank you for the review.

Thank you
Robert Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We typically stay in Gainesville after driving 8 hours coming South. We had often stayed at the Gateway Grand, but thought we would look to see what Trip Advisor said about some other motels. After reading the reviews for Paramount Plaza...we drove the extra mile or two and were very happy with this hotel. The property has an amazing location and is going through a renovation. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms with new beds, new carpets, flat screen TV,microwave and refrigerator and new air conditioner, etc. We had a good nights sleep.

The people at check in were very responsive and there is a Wow factor once you get in the lobby.

We ate supper at their dining room and were very impressed with the food. I had a grilled fish sandwich with fries and my wife had a Reuben sandwich with onion rings. Great onion rings. More than enough so we had a doggy bag. Service was great...a nice college boy was the server.

We had breakfast there, too. They have quite an impressive breakfast buffet. I ordered from the menu...biscuits and gravy (which came from the buffet) and my wife had grits and scrambled eggs. The grits were way too salty.

I really do recommend this hotel for your next stay in Gainesville. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the renovated rooms...they do offer the older rooms for less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogPuntaGorda_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for chosing to stay at the Paramount Plaza, we take great pride in offering 100% guest satisfaction. It are guest comments like yours that make our job rewarding. We will make sure to share your comments with all our departments. We hope that when your back in the area again you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank you
Robert Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food at the banquet I attended was great! I met Tracy Ryan the manager and was very impressed. i would recomend this conference center to everyone. The banquet room was very large and looked new. Very impressed with the service from the moment I entered the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out onto the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnA556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

The Paramount Plaza would like to thank you for writing such a nice review. We are a full service convention center hotel set on 7 archers of land with a wonder view of Bivens Lake. Tracy Ryan our Director of Catering is truly amazing when it comes to meetings, banquets and her specialty Weddings. We will make sure that she is aware of your mention in the review. Again, thank you so much for writing such a great review.

Thank you
Robert Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I were in town for Easter weekend and she got us a great deal on this hotel. I think it would have been a bargain even at full price. The front counter staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, not overly fancy but pleasant. I like a firm bed and this one was incredible - I had a great night's sleep! We also had a balcony which overlooked the courtyard and lake and spent quite a bit of time relaxing out there, watching the birds and other critters scampering around (a better show than anything on TV!) A couple of other folks were on their balcony holding a loud conversation which echoed throughout the courtyard, but once they went inside it was very peaceful.

The restaurant has a wonderful buffet breakfast at a reasonable price. Since we were in a hurry we opted for the "continental" breakfast (cereal, fruit, toast and pastries plus coffee/tea/juice) which is about half the price, and was really delicious.

I wish we had been able to stay a bit longer, but next time we visit Gainesville we won't be looking at any hotel except the Paramount!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJKorvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We are making a lot of changes here and we care glad to know that you will be giving us another try. Renovations should be complete sometime mid 2013. Our balconys are such a nice addtions to all our guest rooms for sure. Our Lakeside Grill offers a full-service experiance for all our guest in the hotel and also for those just passing by. Again, thank you for such a great review and we cant wait to see you on your next visit.

Thank you
Robert Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Paramount numerous times. The recent upgrades and remodeling are beautiful. The Paramount is in an excellent location w quick access to UF games and Paynes Praire Park. The staff bartenders, wait staff, mgmy, front desk are all pleasant and make you feel at home. Will stay here again! :O)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyLee1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you Johnny for your recent review. It are reviews like yours that make us shine. Your right when you say that we are renovating. We are doing a complete remodel of our guest rooms that will offert new bedding, case goods, furniture, lighting and carpet. We will make sure that every staff member is aware of your comments. Please if your back in the area again call us at 352-377-4000 to book your reservatons to get the best savings.

Thank you
Robert Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The rooms were extremely clean..the staff was amazing... the food was great and the price was even better :0) Mitchell Jozsa was outstanding staff member that went above and beyond to make sure we were happy.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylLumsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Cheryl what a great review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We have made great changes in our rooms. We are changing our bedding, case goods, furniture, and carpet just to mention a few. Our Lakeside Restaurant and Bar have just recently gotten a face lift also. Mitchell is one our shining stars who will go above and beyond to make sure our guest are taken care of. We will make sure he is aware of your comments and rewarded for offering great customer service.

Thank you
Robert Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 47 in Gainesville
569 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Gainesville

Address: 2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608-3015 (Formerly Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#14 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $87 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Garden Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Arm Lake Nature Preserve, the hotel is Gainesville's only lakefront hotel, offering a taste of Florida the way it used to be. The Wyndham Garden Hotel & Conference Center offers full-service Gainesville hotel lodging at surprisingly affordable rates. The Wyndham Garden is ideally located only minutes from Gainesville's most important and popular attractions and venues, such as the University of Florida, the Butterfly Rain forest, Paynes Prairie State Park, the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, and Shands Teaching Hospital at The University of Florida. The hotel is a short drive North of historic Micanopy and antique shopping, and just a few miles from downtown Gainesville. Each of our 197 large NON-SMOKING, comfortable guest rooms and suites are designed to meet your Gainesville accommodation needs. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In-room guest amenities include coffee makers, wireless Internet access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. The Wyndham Garden offers free shuttle services from 7:30 a.M. To 5:30 p.M. Daily upon scheduling at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Plaza Hotel Gainesville
Paramount Plaza Hotel And Suites
Paramount Gainesville
Gainesville Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing